We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to trip in China” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.98 Beilishi Road, Xicheng Distrct, Beijing 100037, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #156 of 5,168 hotels in Beijing
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great start to trip in China”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here mid September 2013. With Holiday Inns you know what to expect, and this was certainly it. Clean hotel with comfortable beds,good sized rooms, safe and clean bathrooms (ours had a bath - was certainly useful after a day of trekking the Great Wall). The breakfast was amazing - a selection of English, continental, American, Chinese breakfasts were provided - fruit, yogurts, breads, pastries, juices, coffees, teas, milk, noodles, rice, vegetables, curried eggs, dim sum, boiled eggs, poached eggs, beans, toasts, sausages, bacon, hash browns, pancakes, french toast, maple syrup - amazing! If you stay at this hotel, make sure you include breakfast! Hotel was also in a great location, on the same block (2 minute walk) to the nearest underground which is really easy to use. Lots of small shops and local/western restaurants nearby too. Staff also polite, helpful and friendly which of course usually makes or breaks a hotel. Great all round hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    152
    59
    7
    4
See reviews for
26
38
13
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hotel is a short 5 min walk from Fuchengmen station on Line 2 (Blue Line). Exit A turn right to end of block then left, hotel is on your left past shops.
Staff are most helpful at all times, willing to help out with any questions, all are excellent!
We had a room with twin beds which I think are a little bigger than the average uk single bed.
Room was spotless with good aircon, free wifi as we are platinum members, tea and coffee making facilities, jug kettle if you need boiling water for anything else. TV had Hbo film channel, national geographic also in English.
Bathroom had a bath with loads of super hot water, had a little black around the silicon of bath but all was clean and sparkling so have no complaints.
Within the hotel there is a nice little gym to use, coffee shop, restaurant , tea shop - for buying tea, massage parlour, hair salon.
It is easy peasy to use trains on subway nearby to reach other parts of Beijing, 2 cny for each journey , cheap as chips!!!!!
All in all a very good stay, would def stay again if in area
Thank you to all the staff that made our stay a great one!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking your precious time to share your stay experience during your stay in our hotel.
We are pleased to know that our hotel help in making your stay enjoyable. Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our quality even further as we hope to exceed over and beyond our guest expectations . Thank you.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel is very clean and the staff are very helpful. Is is very conveniently placed within walking distance of a metro station. However, the taxi driver found it difficult to find the hotel. It is not an easy hotel to find. The carpet in the lobby and the room is a little shabby and needs revamping. The booking agent 'Hotels.com' booked us in one bed for a couple and a 17 year old child. The hotel was good enough to provide a folding bed for my daughter in the sitting room which she was not very happy about. I would stay at the hotel again as the staff are very friendly and it is very clean. What is missing is a swimming pool : If there was one, no one told us about it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, lovely hotel, great big rooms with all the amenities your need for your stay. fab choice at breakfast and very helpful staff. Right next to a large department store as well as a more local market and lots of fast food and restaurants nearby. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour of China and we liked it a lot. The room was a good size, very comfy bed, nice bathroom with bath (which we like), quiet AC. The decor is standard holiday inn so you could be anywhere in the world but it was comfortable. We requested a non-smoking room and didn't notice any smoke smell.

The hotel is next to Funcheumen metro station but to find the entrance turn left out the hotel (on the main road which you get to via an access road) turn the next corner again left (major road junction) and the station entrance is tucked away on the left - not that easy to spot to be honest even though you are on top of it.

The station is in the same building as a shopping centre and in the basement is a large supermarket - again not easy to spot from outside. You can access either via an escalator from the shoes dept or from a side door inside the metro station (on left at bottom of stairs before you get to the ticket machines). This was a great find as there were lots of beers and large bottled water at good prices (4.5RMB for 4l of water). If like us you are on some all day trips with lunch, then you can get a DIY room meal from here, salads, even hot take away local dishes, very cheaply.

Breakfasts in the hotel were the best on our trip - good quality and variety of dishes, well presented and plentiful. Really sets you up for the day.

The metro system in Beijing is great - everything in english as well as chinese. The tickets are 2RMB anywhere and the touch screen machines have an 'english' option you touch and it guides you through the process. We went up to the olympic park in about 25 mins (one change) and spent a day there - even had a swim in the olympic pool (you must take a swim hat) for 50RMB each. You can also go in the birds nest stadium - again tickets are about 50RMB. Tip - on the metro, look for the name of the station at the end of the line for your direction of travel, as all the signs are for 'trains to....' which is the last station. This is the same in most cities in the world - except London which uses northbound, southbound etc.

If travelling by air in China, it's worth taking a drinks bottle (empty through security) as both hot and cold purified drinking water is available free from every set of loos, both public side and air side - no need to buy bottled if you have a container. The hot water is for the chinese who all carry green tea flasks about with them and expect the hot water in public places.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Staff were very helpful, went out of their way for us and spoke very good English. We were given a free room upgrade to a suite which was a very large room, complimentary fruit and sweets on arrival, free bottled water each day and also free wifi for the duration of our stay. The subway station is just around the corner but we didn't try it opting for taxis instead and a half hour journey cost around 50yuan which is pretty cheap. There is a 6 floor market round the corner which was good for a few souvenirs and also a food supermarket under a department store where we bought soft drinks and take out sushi for dinner a couple of times - yum! My husband had a half hour head neck and shoulder massage which he enjoyed also very reasonable at 128yuan. Breakfast in the hotel was buffet style with a wide selection and very good. Bed in the room very comfortable, complimentary slippers, range of toiletries even included razor, comb, toothbrush and toothpaste. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I suppose I should have guessed as it's called "Downtown"!

Our room was small by comparison to others we'd had in China and the hotel was generally more expensive - probably as a result of being in the capital.

The restaurant was good and the lounge bar attractive.

The laundry service was very efficient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share your valuable feedback with us.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guest's to indulge in the best they deserve.
Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing

Address: No.98 Beilishi Road, Xicheng Distrct, Beijing 100037, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#179 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing Hotel Beijing
Holiday Inn Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.