We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Four Star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.98 Beilishi Road, Xicheng Distrct, Beijing 100037, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #156 of 5,168 hotels in Beijing
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good Four Star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour of China and we liked it a lot. The room was a good size, very comfy bed, nice bathroom with bath (which we like), quiet AC. The decor is standard holiday inn so you could be anywhere in the world but it was comfortable. We requested a non-smoking room and didn't notice any smoke smell.

The hotel is next to Funcheumen metro station but to find the entrance turn left out the hotel (on the main road which you get to via an access road) turn the next corner again left (major road junction) and the station entrance is tucked away on the left - not that easy to spot to be honest even though you are on top of it.

The station is in the same building as a shopping centre and in the basement is a large supermarket - again not easy to spot from outside. You can access either via an escalator from the shoes dept or from a side door inside the metro station (on left at bottom of stairs before you get to the ticket machines). This was a great find as there were lots of beers and large bottled water at good prices (4.5RMB for 4l of water). If like us you are on some all day trips with lunch, then you can get a DIY room meal from here, salads, even hot take away local dishes, very cheaply.

Breakfasts in the hotel were the best on our trip - good quality and variety of dishes, well presented and plentiful. Really sets you up for the day.

The metro system in Beijing is great - everything in english as well as chinese. The tickets are 2RMB anywhere and the touch screen machines have an 'english' option you touch and it guides you through the process. We went up to the olympic park in about 25 mins (one change) and spent a day there - even had a swim in the olympic pool (you must take a swim hat) for 50RMB each. You can also go in the birds nest stadium - again tickets are about 50RMB. Tip - on the metro, look for the name of the station at the end of the line for your direction of travel, as all the signs are for 'trains to....' which is the last station. This is the same in most cities in the world - except London which uses northbound, southbound etc.

If travelling by air in China, it's worth taking a drinks bottle (empty through security) as both hot and cold purified drinking water is available free from every set of loos, both public side and air side - no need to buy bottled if you have a container. The hot water is for the chinese who all carry green tea flasks about with them and expect the hot water in public places.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    152
    59
    7
    4
See reviews for
26
38
13
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Staff were very helpful, went out of their way for us and spoke very good English. We were given a free room upgrade to a suite which was a very large room, complimentary fruit and sweets on arrival, free bottled water each day and also free wifi for the duration of our stay. The subway station is just around the corner but we didn't try it opting for taxis instead and a half hour journey cost around 50yuan which is pretty cheap. There is a 6 floor market round the corner which was good for a few souvenirs and also a food supermarket under a department store where we bought soft drinks and take out sushi for dinner a couple of times - yum! My husband had a half hour head neck and shoulder massage which he enjoyed also very reasonable at 128yuan. Breakfast in the hotel was buffet style with a wide selection and very good. Bed in the room very comfortable, complimentary slippers, range of toiletries even included razor, comb, toothbrush and toothpaste. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I suppose I should have guessed as it's called "Downtown"!

Our room was small by comparison to others we'd had in China and the hotel was generally more expensive - probably as a result of being in the capital.

The restaurant was good and the lounge bar attractive.

The laundry service was very efficient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share your valuable feedback with us.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guest's to indulge in the best they deserve.
Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I recommend this place - a typical Holiday Inn, in China, or for that matter the world. Though I will say that the place is well run, well maintained and the staff is extra friendly and make an extra effort to help (Language barriers aside). Although I was upgraded to executive rom as a priority club member, the general sense I get from the hotel is that most areas have been updated and relatively new. The best thing I like about this hotel is its proximity to the Subway - a mere 4-5 minutes walk, which is really a blessing for those with large family carrying luggage and daily shopping hauls. The Next to the hotel is a Shopping Arcade which I would rank equal or higher to Silk Market or HongQiao due to much better prices -- though serious bargaining is still needed. The place is also surrounded by western fast food restaurants, which helps when mood calls for something known and tried. There is an ATM within the hotel, automatic currency exchange machine, hair saloon and more. Again - location cannot be beat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel is exactly what is says on the tin. I stayed there for 8 days on a business trip.

It is rather unassuming from the outside (and beware as can be difficult to spot), but once inside it is nice enough.

It is probably not my best choice if I was a tourist in Beijing, although it is close to a subway station, so that is a plus as it is only a few minutes walk. There are also some shops and restaurants nearby, although they are mostly frequented by locals, so it depends how comfortable you are doing that sort of thing.

Rooms are standard (or maybe I was just in a very standard room). Bed is very comfortable and you get all the expected amenities such as TV, iron and basic toiletries. I really struggled with the size of the wardrobe, the safe was in the way, so I could only manage to hang about 3 items up before I ran out of room, not ideal on an 8 day business trip as I wanted to hang things up straight away to stop them getting creased. This is not a unique problem to my room, my colleague, who was in a different room on a different floor, suffered from the same issue.

Food is nice enough, and the staff is friendly.

Beware they are still charging for wifi though, in this day and age! And it is rather slow.

I would recommend this hotel for business travellers, but I would advise the management to sort the Internet out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank your for sharing your valuable comment with us.
Guest comments like yours are paramount for allowing us to focus our attention where guest's feel it is necessary. We hope to have an opportunity so serve you again in the near future.

sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Recently stayed 4 nights at the Holiday Inn Beijing Downtown and the experience was noteworthy. I stay a minimum of 70 nights a year worldwide (mainly in IHG properties) but this particular hotel was one of the best I've stayed at in the past 5 years in terms of cleanliness, service, food quality and overall hospitality. As a Platinum Member I was upgraded to a better room and the Executive Lounge was a welcome getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city (thanks "Cinderella" for the extra special care). REALLY enjoyed my stay there and will return next time I'm in Beijing.

Room Tip: Get a room facing towards the restaurant for a better WiFi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice hotel, particularly for business travellers. Staff were polite and helpful. My Husband main complaint was that there was too much western food and not enough chinese on the menu, but that will work in the it's favour for some travellers.

A nice department store and grocery is only about 5 minutes walk away and several resturants nearby.

The rooms themselves were standard Holiday Inn fayre, but clean and comfortable and reasonable size.

All in all a good example of a chain hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing

Address: No.98 Beilishi Road, Xicheng Distrct, Beijing 100037, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#178 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing Hotel Beijing
Holiday Inn Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.