We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again for sure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.98 Beilishi Road, Xicheng Distrct, Beijing 100037, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #142 of 5,463 Hotels in Beijing
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Would stay again for sure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Clean, modern, bed VERY comfortable, 2 bottles water complimentary every day, nice tolietries provided daily, GREAT buffet breakfast with omelete bar, great donunts and pastries, wirelss (for a fee) in the room, good location, staff very accommodating.

All in all a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    164
    61
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
42
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed as part of our taste of China tour. We found it to be a very comfortable hotel and the staff were very friendly. The rooms were quite small but adequate and very clean. Beds were very comfortable. We also had tea and coffee making which was replemished every day. There were also two bottles of water every day in the bathroom. In fact there was everything in the room to make for a very comfortable stay.
The breakfast was very good. We also ate here in the evenings and found it excellent and very friendly attentive staff. All in all a very good hotel and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for three nights as part of the virgin tour. When we were checked in we were allocated a room on the smoking floor, which was very basic, smelled and almost no outside view. When we did request a change staff were very helpful and accommodating. We were given a room on a non-smoking floor, which was much nicer. Breakfast contained variety and was very good. No wireless Internet access in the room, but good access in the lobby. Good shopping area nearby along with restaurants.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanbornville, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great location: Close to downtown, close to the metro. Several convenient places to grab a quick bite.

Hotel itself was fine: The room was clean, good amenities, nothing that stood out. The TV had a couple of English channels, but again, nothing exciting. There was a lovely courtyard cafe. A bit over priced, but pretty and quiet.

Service was only fair. I get free internet service with my corporate rate. I had to remind them at least 3 times and it still ended up on my bill when I checked out. English skills for the front desk staff was pretty good, but not for concierge or doorman (which made getting a cab tough),

Beijing can be hard overall: given the location, rate and convenience, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

For a business guest with all day meetings looking for somewhere at a reasonable price to stay in the Central District of Beijing then this is quite adequate accommodation. While the room is small (around 20m2 with a very tight 3 point bathroom) it is clean, tidy and well serviced. The staff are friendly and helpful with good English. For a business visit this was entirely adequate and the range of choice for breakfast was wide and nicely presented.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed here as part of a Virgin Holidays tour. After coming from the splendid Marriott in Puxi Shanghai, and then fairly poor Castle Hotel in SuZhou, the Holiday Inn was a pleasant return to normality. It hasn't quite got the style and overall quality of the Marriott in Shanghai, but it was probably my favourite hotel on the trip. Favourite, mainly because after the very long and busy days out and around Beijing, everything just felt right when I returned. The bedrooms are smaller than the Marriott but everything was as you would expect. Modern, very clean and business-like. The view out of the window wasn't much but that didn't bother me. The bed was very comfortable.

The breakfast buffet was very good, lots of choice and I can't think of anything to complain about. Outside the hotel, I was able to wander around at night and all felt safe. To be honest, I didn't wander that far as I wasn't really sure where to go.

I got my shirts dry-cleaned at the hotel (it was sort of mid-way in the trip) and next day service was as expected. Staff were always pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a very clean and comfortable hotel in Beijing. Staffs were very friendly. In particular, a supervisor, Jason Wong, handled my transport to the airport professionally. It was a heavy raining day and no taxi was able to stop by. He personally went out to the main street to get a taxi. After an hour, no taxi was able to stop by and he escorted me with my luggage to the nearby subway. It was all pleasant experience given this incident. An exceptionally professional and humble supervisor like him is very rare and thus I highly recommend this hotel.

Dr. Pan from USA

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing

Address: No.98 Beilishi Road, Xicheng Distrct, Beijing 100037, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#141 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing Hotel Beijing
Holiday Inn Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.