We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great convenience for Beijing airport stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Beijing Sanyuan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Beijing Sanyuan to your Saves list
Novotel Beijing Sanyuan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tower 18, No. 5 Shuguang Xili, Chaoyang District | Subway SanyuanQiao Station Exit D, Beijing 100028, China (China International Exhibition Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #328 of 5,422 Hotels in Beijing
San Ramon, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great convenience for Beijing airport stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is right next to the first stop on the airport express train (Sanyuanqaio) - 15-20 mins trip. 25 yuan (US$4) and you're at their doorstep, so don't have to worry about whether and when a shuttle bus is going to show up, or how to deal with non-English speaking cab drivers . It's also on Metro Line 10 so very easy to get to anywhere in the city. Good prices and expected Novotel ambience, though finish quality probably a bit less than Western Novotels. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony M, General Manager at Novotel Beijing Sanyuan, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kindly recommendation, we are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay at Novotel Beijing Sanyuan Hotel.
If you have any inquiry or need any assistance in future, do not hesitate to contact us through h6280-sl4@accor.com. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    245
    115
    37
    19
See reviews for
33
39
72
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This Novotel charges around one time higher than iBis which can't be justified for me. Novotel lobby is more fancy, but is not with good quality material.

Novotel is closer to the Airport Express station entrance than iBis, but again not by a lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony M, General Manager at Novotel Beijing Sanyuan, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to leave your comment. We are sorry that our service did not reach your expectation.
Could you please provide us more details about your dissatisfaction via email h6280-sl4@accor.com? Please be assured that our initiative is to deliver our optimum service and hope to welcome you next time in an exceptional way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is hotel is located very close to the station of Airport railway (which is the first stop from the Beijing airport) and the station of subway the 10th line. So, you can easily transfer from the airport railway to the subway 10th line. Also, you can walk to the business area (亮馬橋) in ChaoYang distrcit in only 5 minutes. Inside the hotel, cute panda is waiting for you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony M, Executive Assistant Manager at Novotel Beijing Sanyuan, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope your next stay at Novotel Beijing Sanyuan will be as pleasant as the previous one. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I've stayed at the Novotel Sanyuan and the Ibis Sanyuan next door quite a few times since they opened. And at many other Beijing hotels over the years. I really like this Novotel, for a few reasons.

Firstly it is located next to the Airport Express station, which gets you from the airport non stop for 25RMB. This avoids waiting and hassles with taxi drivers (except after about 11pm, when the train closes for the night). The rooms are comfortable and up to contemporary Novotel standards. I've not had any maintenance issues, but poor maintenance is a problem for many PRC hotels under 5 star quality. The internet is good and fast. But it is wired ADSL, not wifi and you still find this in many hotels in my experience. I get round this by using my own Apple Airport Express, or D-Link DIR505, which can easily provide you with a private wifi network in your room, so you can use multiple devices like smart phones on wifi. The hotel reception will also lend you a D-Link router for your visit, which is simple to set up in your room. There is wifi in the restaurant and bar at the ground level.

Prices for rooms vary, but can be very cheap if you get the 50% off deals on the Accor website. Usually it's reasonable compared to other Beijing hotels and the Ibis is usually half the price of the Novotel.

I have always found the beds in this hotel very hard, but usually the reception will provide a pillow top for the bed, which makes it softer. The TV has a few English channels, including news channels. There is a good desk with a comfy chair, powerpoints and a reading light, if you need to work in your room.

The hotel location is great, next to Subway Line 4, which easily takes you to most places you might want to go to, direct, or with one change of line. Get a swipe card at the station, or buy individual tickets for 2RMB. The card also works on buses. Over the years I have given up on taxis in Beijing because of the appalling traffic.

A big new mall was opened two minutes walk from the hotel, about a year ago. Good choice of restaurants, including a food court for Chinese food. A supermarket too. Just behind is the old Phoenix outdoor mall with other restaurants and bars.

The food offerings at this hotel have never been very good, including breakfast which is overpriced for what it is. But if you have time to stop off elsewhere, there are a few places for reasonable coffee, including Costas in the mall next door. At night there are many places to go to in the two malls, with all sorts of restaurants, from KFC, to South East Asian to spicy South West Chinese regional food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiana M, Mission E-Commerce Manager at Novotel Beijing Sanyuan, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Beijing Sanyuan.
Regarding the issues of maintenance, sleep quality and food, I have informed all the related departments. Please rest assured that we will follow up these issues and improve constantly service quality . Look forward to serving you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Visited in May 2013 and thought that this hotel was pretty good, hence the return.. Booked for July and August at the begining and end of our tour of China.

Checkin was horrendous only one staff on duty.. Had to wait for a long time. Breakfast was a shambles. The breakfast setup was reorganised in the months that we had been away... and it is much worse. There were a lack of plates where there should be plates. The two coffee machines made awful coffee and took forever.... went at 8am on the first day and the manager said that there was a rush of customers which meant that there was a lack of clean tables, plates, mugs milk etc.... Next day went at 9.30am and the chef said that the noodles with soup were not available as it was closing time??? When should I go??

Noticed on my visit in August that 3 of the 5 front office staff had no name badges. Key card envelopes were missing. The breakfast was still a shambles.

The gym shower room was a mess and the cubicles had run out of shower gel! Did not see any staff here over the 4 days I was in the hotel.

Shame as my first visit was good.

Understand that the General Manager here is also in charge of the standards in Asia Pacific.....My advice would be for him to please look after your own hotel before looking at others!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiana M, Executive Assistant Manager at Novotel Beijing Sanyuan, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at Novotel Beijing Sanyuan.

I would like to express my sincerest apologies for your unexpected experience during your stay. I was disturbed by our failure to meet the high standards we strive to maintain. Please rest assured that we will implement appropriate measures to drive back our standards as before. .

Please contact me directly (h6280-gm1@accor.com) for your next stay and hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you .

Sincerely,

Anthony Meng

Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Beijing Sanyuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Beijing Sanyuan

Address: Tower 18, No. 5 Shuguang Xili, Chaoyang District | Subway SanyuanQiao Station Exit D, Beijing 100028, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > China International Exhibition Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#148 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#220 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Beijing Sanyuan 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Beijing Sanyuan is located in the heart of the city, only 15 minutes from airport. The airport Express Train and Metro Line 10 are right in front of the hotel, it is easy to connect you everywhere in Beijing. The hotel is only few minutes from the Embassies district, Lufthansa shopping mall, silk market, and 3 Exhibition centers. The 306 rooms provide comfortable accommodations to Business & Leisure guests, offering complimentary internet access ensuring permanent connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Beijing Sanyuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Beijing
Beijing Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Beijing Sanyuan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.