We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hutongren Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hutongren Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
Hutongren Courtyard Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.71 Xiaoju'er Hutong, Nanluoguxiang, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Average consumption¥200
Ranked #153 of 5,424 Hotels in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 183 Reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Highly recommended!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Great stay! Definitely recommend to all my acquaintances who are traveling to Beijing. The best is their LOCATION! Easy access to the vibrant streets and markets all around. And that’s the most important thing for us. The so called noise was not that bad actually, for it was expected in such a city center location, and we also thought it’s part of their local culture… The food was good, the tea was good, and the staff were friendly… couldn’t expect more from a boutique hotel like this, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutongren, Manager at Hutongren Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hello 669summerc
Thank you for your highly recommend!We are very happy that you enjoyed your staying here!
Welcome to come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    46
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
26
42
42
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel is cute and conveniently located. But, don't stay in the single room on the first floor! The website noted that the other single room (discounted) would encounter noises at night, so I decided to pay more for a good night of sleep. They did not mention that the other room was worse! The noises (load music from the nearby alley) did not stop until 3 am (Sat)! Also, the single room and bathroom were extremely small. not worth the money.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutongren, Manager at Hutongren Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for your Feedback information We are solving this problem now.
Trying to change a sound insulation window.


We feel very sorry with our sincere apologise for your bad experience.

If you could let us know your bad feeling at that time we are willing to change any room to you for free

In order to appologize to you we would like to upgrade you a better room as you like and offer you
free breakfast if you encounter the same thing the next time.

Really sorry about that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Hutongren is smacked right at Nanluoguxiang, a popular street with lots of food & shopping.. they open till late at night so you can't really go hungry here. The small alley that Hutongren sits on is directly opposite the shop Denim Head. If you come in from the North end (bei kou) of Nanluoguxiang, Denim Head will be on your right & the alley to Hutongren on your left. It's only like 100m from the start of the north end of Nanluoguxiang to the Hutongren alley. If you hit Starbucks, you have gone too far.

We booked on their official website. When you check-in, they get a cash deposit from you... and you pay the balance when you check-out. They only accept cash. We stayed in Hidden Time, a double room that shares no walls with other rooms & further away from the entrance. It's quiet. But the room has bad wifi reception because the walls are made of steel. But 3 steps out of the room to the courtyard, you get proper wifi signals. There are no toilet doors, just a shower curtain that you can use to partition with the toilet or the shower. Hot water is limited so you got to shower fast & furious so that there's enough to last. The beds are really comfortable & rooms are made daily. The whole place is nicely renovated and it's a great peaceful escape from the busy Nanluoguxiang.

The reception closes at 11pm so that it gets quiet for the rooms. If you need help, you can look for the auntie that sleeps in the room that has its door open.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutongren, Manager at Hutongren Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hi,
Thank you very much for your kind review.
Sorry about the hot water problem that happened when you stayed here. We 're really sorry about that and the fix man is trying to fix it.
About the payment. Because the reservations made on our official website has got a big discount so we only accept cash. We have shown that on the reservation page and also in the email. Acturally you can also pay by card but that charges 5% more( that's also the lowest price o(∩_∩)o )

Thanks again.


Seven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Hutongren was the perfect choice of accommodation for our first trip to Beijing. Right in the centre of a bustling traditional Hutong district is surrounded by small contemporary boutiques, vibrant market stalls and delicious street food, cafes, bars and restaurants. The metro station is only a 10 minute walk away.

We arrived very late in the evening when the night staff was on, she was lovely but as she didn't speak English she just led us to our room where there was freshly brewed tea, Chinese sweets and a note from the management welcoming us, giving us the wi-fi password and letting us know they would be at reception the next morning for check-in. The next day we found the staff very welcoming and professional and they all spoke English very well (a plus as all we had mastered was 'ni hao').

We had a room to the right of reception which ran along the wall onto the laneway behind the hotel. Because many people live in this area there was some street noise from our room, but mostly just people starting their day and heading to work at around 6am - we couldn't hear any noise from the busy thoroughfare that the hotel is just off. I'm a light sleeper so this woke me, my boyfriend isn't and he slept through so I'm sure if you chose a room more central in the hotel you wouldn't have a problem with this.

We found this to be a welcoming, cozy and beautifully furnished with simple, clean design. Being the perfect location we would definitely stay again next time we are in Beijing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutongren, Manager at Hutongren Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hi Kite,
We're very happy to know that you had a good stay here.
Hutongren is quite a small hotel so some rooms are along the laneway, and the neighbours are all native people, so there're some noise when they get up in the morning. Sorry about that.
Thanks for your nice words, and we're looking forward to hosting you next time.


Seven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is the 2nd time for me to visit Hutngren.I had a 6-day trip in Beijing and I stayed in this hotel. Have to say that I really love their bed pad with silk bedclothes. It's really comfortable. The girls told me the bed pad was the same with Westin. And their wooden furniture and natural design also made me relaxed. I really had a great stay there. P.s. The staff are all very helpful and friendly. Thanks very much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutongren, Manager at Hutongren Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Orrerio,
We're soooooo happy to see you again here, and your little lovely princess.
Thank you for giving us this review and nice words.
We really enjoy staying with you.


Seven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

As a solo female traveller, this was a great place to stay due its location right in the thick of things. Everything is literally at your doorstep when you stay here. However, due to this proximity it can be noisy until after 11pm, when everything really quietens down. It's off the main road in an alley so cars can't travel to the door - so if you have a lot of luggage and it's peak hour with lots of people around, just note you'll have to carry everything from the road. it's not far at all, but just something to note.

The rooms are on the small side so this is definitely not a place to hang out in your room all day. The communal areas are lovely with great wifi. However, there is no wifi in the rooms. My only complaint was having to pay 200RMB to the hotel for booking me a very early morning taxi to the airport, when a taxi costs around 80RMB. As I didn't want to hail my own taxi in the dark very early in the morning with luggage, I had no choice but to pay the extra money but never really understood why I had to pay so much, particularly when a regular taxi arrived to pick me up.

Overall, a great place to stay with lovely, friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutongren, Manager at Hutongren Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hi Shmonie,
Thanks for your review.
Sorry because we are located in the ceter of the city and Nanluoguxiang is a busy shopping street. All the tourists coming to Beijing will come here so it's really crowded, so no cars can coming into this street during the daytime, but it's acturally about 100meters from the main street, not vey far.
About the taxi to the airport, Sorry about that. We can only book from the agency and that is really expensive. If you just take a taxi at the street it is around 80-100yuan. But your flight is very early in the morning, so when we told you about the price for booking the taxi, you said yes. That's why the taxi driver could coming to the hotel to pick you up at the time that you required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed in the Mountain Echo Room which is the rooftop room. Beautiful and simplistic design and the rooftop is stunning and leafy. It is a shame about the noise coming from the overly touristy street below, although i did stay during mid-autumn festival which meant the street below was extremely packed.

Great staff, great communication beforehand, great aircon although the room was very very tiny eg. if you are a couple it is too small because your 2 suitcases on the floor will mean that there is actually no more floor space

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutongren, Manager at Hutongren Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hi Cassandra,
Thank you for the sharing of your real feeling. We are happy to har that you like the terrace and our stuffs!
Sorry for the noise. this problem is almost inevitable because of the location. I think we‘d like to change a The soundproof window.
Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hutongren Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutongren Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.71 Xiaoju'er Hutong, Nanluoguxiang, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 5,424 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hutongren Courtyard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a very small, easily-overlooked side alley north of storied Xiao Ju’er Hutong, this charming little tea-theme hotel offers a quiet, well-lit retreat from the bustle of the middle of everything. A handful of rooms-double from RMB 600 and single from RMB 480 – surround a stone-floored atrium filled with plants, natural light, books in various languages, wi-fi and a small bar. All rooms are equipped with super comfortable King Koil Mattresses, traditional furniture, air conditioners and under-ground heating. You will be warmly welcomed by the lovely staff and little Blackie. The unique Chinese Tea experience (free Tea classes are given everyday by reservation in advance), relative peace and quiet you’ll find here after a long day is worth it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hutongren Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hutongren Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.