We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely warmth for the cold winter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hutongren Courtyard Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hutongren Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hutongren Courtyard Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.71 Xiaoju'er Hutong, Nanluoguxiang, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
private room from ¥391
Ranked #171 of 5,123 hotels in Beijing
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Homely warmth for the cold winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

It was a really pleasant stay for my friend and I. The floor heater was awesome and made our stay full of homely warmth in the harsh and cold weather. The bed was very comfy. Very quaint and contemporary decor, with a very cute house dog Blackie. Breakfast was good too. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutongren, Manager at Hutongren Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hi, thanks for your reviews and recommendation very much. It's our pleasure to bring you a homey feeling in our hotel. We hope we can do more and better in the future. Hope to see you next time.~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    42
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
23
39
41
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beersel, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

With our kids of 6 and 9 years old, we stayed in the Hutongren Courtyard in August 2012 during 5 nights. At arrival, we were warmly welcomed by Seven and her colleagues, who also gave us plenty of tips to see/to visit. The hotel is well located in the heart of the Hutong (first time it might be difficult to find it..), cosy, calm and clean, incl free wireless internet connection. The tea is great and we enjoyed there "the real holiday feeling". We recommend this hotel warmly for all families & couples visiting the lovely city of Beijing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutongren, Manager at Hutongren Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hi, thanks for your review and appreciation. We hope we can do better and more for our guests. Looking forward to meet you again~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalmar, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

For our 3 week trip to China and North Korea we picked this hotel out of Lonely Planet for our first couple of nights stay in Beijing and we fell absolutely in love with the little place. Sure it is not super cheap but worth every penny.
Location is great in the middle of busy hutong area with lots of shops, bars and restaurants just around the corner but still it is tucked away in pretty silent little back alley. Only small minus on location is that is quite far away from any Metro station. As it is a small boutiqe hotel it might not have all the amenities that you could get from a big hotel in same price class but on the other hand the nice girls who work there make up for any other little flaws.
We stayed there 3+2 nights as there was no question about going back to the same place when we got back to Beijing at the end of our trip. It actually has a bit of a hostel feeling, or even a bit like staying at someones home. On my birthday i was even served an extra bowl of noodles with my breakfast because according to Chinese tradition you should eat long noodles on your birthday for a long life. Need i say that neither i or my travel buddy had mentioned my birthday, they had simply picked that up from my passport and wished me a happy birthday. That and the welcome tea that they offer upon arrival is just small things that make you feel very welcome and at home.
Rooms were very neat and clean, and the hotel had a very new and fresh feeling to it. The under floor heating kept the room real warm even with sub zero temperatures outside and the beds were probably the best and definitely the softest we had slept in during our 3 week trip around China.
Not sure if this applies even during more busy season but for breakfast they would tend to our requests and even serve us the breakfast in the afternoon as we were quite jet lagged when first arriving.
Also make sure to check try their nice selection of teas which are also sold as souvenirs in their little tea shop. Good for gifts to bring back home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutongren, Manager at Hutongren Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi, thanks for your long reviews very much. It's our pleasure to let you and your friends get a homey feeling in our hotel. Hope you really had a great memory about beijing and really hope to see you next time. Best regards.~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I will start out by saying that this place is very difficult to find. If you go from the airport it is useless to give them the actual hotel address because the hotel is located in an alley off of an alley- a cab can take you to the end of the first alley but you will have to walk the last 1/2 block yourself. Actually assume cab drivers won't know how to get anywhere except the absolute most famous tourist sites. other than that- be prepared and bring directions in Chinese.
When you get to the alley, walk straight down and look to your left- the second alley off of that alley is xiao ju-er and is the one you want. The hotel is at the end- past a little fondue restaurant that is quite good. I am posting photos of what this alley looks like for reference.

So the location is a bit annoying to find the first time but it is such an amazing location that it is worth it. There is so much going on right outside the doors of the hotel- great food, shops, bars, etc. Fantastic way to experience the city in a more intimate way!

The tea is quite nice and the women who work there speak very good english and are very helpful. The whole place is a very peaceful contrast to what is outside it's doors, with a fun, lively nightlife. The one big downside is the internet. They claim to have internet access but it is slow to the point of nonexistence. I was not once able to download a webpage while connected. I ended up having to use cell data to access the web. Just plan ahead and buy international data plan for your phone or get a simcard and data when you arrive in china.

The hotel offers to book trips for you also. I went on the great wall trip without the added shopping, mostly because it left at 7:30am instead of 6am. This trip was reasonably priced and really great- it included the drive to a really impressive section of the wall and an english speaking guide to tell you about your options (you can tobaggen down the hill to get off the wall- highly recommended!) but she leaves you alone for the few hours on the wall and it also includes lunch at a little restaurant in the nearby village. I also did the peking acrobats show and though it was again reasonably priced, i essentially was chauffeured to the location, the driver purchased my ticket, gave me instructions to meet him back at the prearranged spot at the end of the show and sent me on my way. Nice way to have some structure but also enough independence that you don't feel like someone is babysitting you.

I would highly recommend this place. A former student joined me in the area (she is native Beijingren) because she lives further out in Beijing and she actually made plans to stay there with a friend so they could have a fun weekend of hanging out in that neighborhood- so I can honestly say that even locals like it!

Room Tip: I chose the smallest room because I don't spend much time in my room when I travel. It was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutongren, Manager at Hutongren Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi, thanks for your long and significant review very much! I'm very glad that you had a good time in Beijng and in our hotel. Your review and advices will be so helpful for us and for other readers. And we will try to make the wifi more better. Much obliged again! ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Hi, my name is Jacob and in June of 2012 I spent a few days at Hutongren Courtyard Hotel in Beijing. I was very happy with my stay there. The location was fantastic, among Beijing hutongs, very close to eating, drinking and shopping establishments. The hotel is small, very clean and tidy. The staff are very nice, helpful and friendly and speak very good English. They also make great breakfast each morning. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Love the place. Location is perfect for walking around to some of the most famous Hu Tongs and attractions at the heart of Beijing. Lots of small things to like within the newly renovated hotel. Neat and clean throughout. Staffs were very helpful and got out of their ways to help, making the stay even more delightful. The Roof terrace was my favorite place to stay, can be a hide-away during the Summer and early Fall. Kids need to be careful up there though. The beds were simple but very comfortable and supportive, making it a great relaxing experience lying on it after a full days out. Best for couples and singles looking for a place to stay for leisure and sightseeing at the heart of Beijing. On the small side for family with kids but cozy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirroul, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Hutongren is located just off a fantastic shopping 'hutong' full of interesting shops and food stalls (octopus balls are delicious!). It's also within walking distance to Bei Hai park and the Forbidden City. There was a subway station not too far away and it was easy to get to Temple of Heaven, Tienanmen Square and the Wafujing night market. Also only a short walk to Doufuchi Hutong which has loads of restaurants.

The bathroom did smell and we had to keep the door closed at night. We found out that this is a common problem that's almost everywhere in China.

The staff were really helpful and helped us with directions to places, made dinner reservations and organised a trip to the Great Wall for us. Their breakfasts were delicious (especially the omelet and the yoghurt with honey). We spent one rainy day in the shared courtyard of the hotel having lots of cups of tea. The milk tea was really yummy and the cloud tea was interesting. Blackie, their dog, was very friendly and cute.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutongren, Manager at Hutongren Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi, thanks for your review very much. I'm glad that you had a good time in our hotel. The problem about bathrooms' bad smell has been solved. Hope to see you again. Much obliged again~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hutongren Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutongren Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.71 Xiaoju'er Hutong, Nanluoguxiang, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 5,123 hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hutongren Courtyard Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a very small, easily-overlooked side alley north of storied Xiao Ju’er Hutong, this charming little tea-theme hotel offers a quiet, well-lit retreat from the bustle of the middle of everything. A handful of rooms-double from RMB 600 and single from RMB 480 – surround a stone-floored atrium filled with plants, natural light, books in various languages, wi-fi and a small bar. All rooms are equipped with super comfortable King Koil Mattresses, traditional furniture, air conditioners and under-ground heating. You will be warmly welcomed by the lovely staff and little Blackie. The unique Chinese Tea experience (free Tea classes are given everyday by reservation in advance), relative peace and quiet you’ll find here after a long day is worth it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hutongren Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hutongren Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.