We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hutongren Courtyard Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hutongren Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hutongren Courtyard Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.71 Xiaoju'er Hutong, Nanluoguxiang, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
private room from ¥391
Ranked #161 of 5,414 Hotels in Beijing
Thirroul, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Hutongren is located just off a fantastic shopping 'hutong' full of interesting shops and food stalls (octopus balls are delicious!). It's also within walking distance to Bei Hai park and the Forbidden City. There was a subway station not too far away and it was easy to get to Temple of Heaven, Tienanmen Square and the Wafujing night market. Also only a short walk to Doufuchi Hutong which has loads of restaurants.

The bathroom did smell and we had to keep the door closed at night. We found out that this is a common problem that's almost everywhere in China.

The staff were really helpful and helped us with directions to places, made dinner reservations and organised a trip to the Great Wall for us. Their breakfasts were delicious (especially the omelet and the yoghurt with honey). We spent one rainy day in the shared courtyard of the hotel having lots of cups of tea. The milk tea was really yummy and the cloud tea was interesting. Blackie, their dog, was very friendly and cute.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutongren, Manager at Hutongren Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi, thanks for your review very much. I'm glad that you had a good time in our hotel. The problem about bathrooms' bad smell has been solved. Hope to see you again. Much obliged again~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    43
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
24
39
42
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

While the place is beautiful, they have some serious plumbing issues. I also killed a large creepy crawly on my bedroom floor.

The girls at the front desk are lovely, and do the best they can despite the unfortunate situation they have to work with!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I think the first 10 seconds of finding the lane that brought me to this hotel explains everything: serendipity.

I travel quite frequently to Asian countries such as china for work, but this time i wanted to stay in a different kind of hotel in Beijing to experience local culture and a more laid-back setting. Let me say that Hutongren did not disappoint. From the moment i stepped in and Blackie (hotel dog) barked and later pounced at me welcomingly, i felt really at home. The front yard is serene and beautiful and the girl at the front desk (i think it was seven) had a really wonderful and genuine smile on her face as she welcomed me. The welcome tea and small snacks she prepared for me were excellent, and with Blackie accompanying me whilst i was sipping the tea and relaxing in the front yard, it was a really comforting experience after the long flight and tiring trip from the airport.

Room i stayed in was Hidden time, which is just off the backyard.
The room is quite nicely decorated- simple but adequate. the beds are very comfy, towels very good, interior very clean and well-maintained. I like the touch of nature (small plants) they place all around the hotel and in the rooms as well. They provide 2 bottles (1 per person i expect) of drinking water daily, which is a nice touch. There is also a fully-functioning heater/air-conditioner in the room, and a ventilator to prevent dampness and suck away any bad odor from the room.
the bathroom in hidden time has a bit of an 'open concept' with no proper door separating the 'bedroom' and toilet, just a small partition and shower curtain for the shower but it wasn't a problem for me as i was staying alone. No weird odor or sewage smell experienced, unlike what others have reported during their stay. The terrace is small but lovely, and i expect it should be amazing to dine upstairs during spring/summer but during my stair it felt a bit chilly so i only went up a bit to take photos.

Now to explain why my rating is a 4 instead of a 5 out of 5-
Despite having many positives, i found some areas that could have potentially wowed me but instead left me slightly disappointed.

Firstly, no handwash. This is a minor point, but even hostels provide handwash or soap, which makes washing sanitary. Also, soap/handwash is hardly costly, so i'm not sure why it isn't provided. It irked me slightly every time i had to turn around to the shower to use the shower foam as handwash when i needed to wash my hands.

Second, though the staff were in general helpful and cheerful towards me,during my stay i hadn't even once experienced the kind of warmth or action others have written about in which the staff went out of the way to make my stay a better one. Others have written that they were welcomed with tea and fruits upon returning to the hotel after sightseeing, recommendations for places to visit etc. Of all these services/actions i had experienced none.
To further illustrate an example- one evening as i was heading out after i completed work, i asked of the girls at the reception (not sure who it was, short haired girl with spectacles) if she knew of a church in Wangfujing and how to go there. She simply replied, 'erm, i'm not very sure', and then resumed text-messaging. I didn't want to be a bother so i just told her i would find it myself but I couldn't help feeling slightly disappointed. Even if she hadn't knew where it was i would have expected she would help to ask around or search online since she had her laptop with her internet browser on and also her mobile on. I didn't see why she couldn't have at least tried to find out where it was.

third- the location. Many have written about how wonderful the location of the hotel is, being right in the middle of nanluogu lane, yet far enough for things to be peaceful and to get proper rest. it's also within walking distance to Houhai area and the bell tower, which are beautiful and worth a visit. However, this hotel is a good 15 minutes to Andingmen station, which can be a long a painful walk after a whole day of work/sightseeing. This makes getting to anywhere else in Beijing pretty inconvenient, particularly if you plan to take the subway to get around in Beijing, which is what most choose to do (it's so cheap it's great, 2RM anywhere).
If you're only planning to explore the Houhai and bell tower area, then this is an excellent option and should be considered an advantage, not a disadvantage.

last- the price. I was travelling for work so the price didn't quite bother me as much since this is considered moderate compared to mid-range or pricier business hotels, but amenities-wise though respectable, they failed to impress (no handwash! and body foam/shampoo is a large bottle which had probably been the same bottle used as the previous traveller staying in the same room). Also for the price i was expecting a better spread for breakfast, or at least a hearty meal. I ordered the cong you mian (noodles done chinese style) which other reviewers had raved about and was slightly disappointed by the taste (nothing amazing) and how stingy it felt (very little sauce, a few cucumbers, noodles, served on a western style plate). The saving grace of breakfast was the tea, which was excellent.

On the whole i am happy with my stay here, and have already and also would recommend this to others. That being said however, personally i might consider other options in Beijing the next time i come as i would want to be in a hotel that's located closer to the subway for easy access to all the sights instead of just limiting myself to a few...

Room Tip: if you want a room with good wifi, choose the single room (sky heart) or rooms near the front yard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

As an Beijing grown-up, I took my vacation back to Beijing with my family. I stayed in Hutongren following my friend's recommendation, and it turned out to be an excellent experience. The place is hidden in a secret sub-hutong of Nanluoguxiang, which presents the best of Beijing hutong life but, to be honest, is getting a bit too crowded with the fast growing commercial. While this small hotel, 100m from main hutong of Nanluoguxiang, makes a real retreat and family-like place to stay, where it reminds me the peaceful hutong-life memory of my childhood, including the family-taste Beijing noodle provided in the hotel cafe. Good place to live Beijing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our first stop on a months tour of china so we didn't know what to expect. As it turned out this was the smallest space and the most expensive! The room was minuscule and quite chilly, but the shower was powerful and hot and even came with toiletries and lush towels. There was a funky drain smell as others mentioned but was fully enclosed unit so it didnt bother us. The staff were exceptionally helpful but the location in our mind is key, we were in the hub of everything. Internet was so poor we had to visit the apple shop to book forward accommodation! The food was very nice if a little pricey, we loved the pancakes, the French toast, the homemade yoghurt, the fried breakfasts, but best of all we loved the noodles! We had their tea a few times but it really was expensive and added 200y to our bill! It has had a full renovation and shows off quirky smart design. We enjoyed the roof terrace and even hung up an item or two of clothes to dry. It's a really cool place and Blackie the dog is worth a cuddle!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I always think that taste good is very important for me.This hotel provide great chinese tea &nice chinese noodle.
The chinese noodle , the official statement called "Noodles with soy bean paste",is great.
The chinese tea,form Yunnan Province,taste good,especially "the white moon".
Recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

we stayed at the hutongren courtyard hotel for 4 nights and had a great experience. the location off of the charming nan luo gu alley really makes this hotel fantastic as do the helpful girls who worked the front desk. we had a double room that was basic, but comfortable with modern fittings. it had a small window with a platform bed. there was no closet or table space and the bathroom was separated by a curtain instead of a proper door. as others have said, make sure you check out the terrace with the great view of the hutong roofs. be warned that the bathrooms do have a strong funky smell.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hutongren Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutongren Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.71 Xiaoju'er Hutong, Nanluoguxiang, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 5,414 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hutongren Courtyard Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a very small, easily-overlooked side alley north of storied Xiao Ju’er Hutong, this charming little tea-theme hotel offers a quiet, well-lit retreat from the bustle of the middle of everything. A handful of rooms-double from RMB 600 and single from RMB 480 – surround a stone-floored atrium filled with plants, natural light, books in various languages, wi-fi and a small bar. All rooms are equipped with super comfortable King Koil Mattresses, traditional furniture, air conditioners and under-ground heating. You will be warmly welcomed by the lovely staff and little Blackie. The unique Chinese Tea experience (free Tea classes are given everyday by reservation in advance), relative peace and quiet you’ll find here after a long day is worth it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hutongren Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hutongren Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.