We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Nora, Cherry and Blackie!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hutongren Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hutongren Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
Hutongren Courtyard Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.71 Xiaoju'er Hutong, Nanluoguxiang, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 5,463 Hotels in Beijing
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Thank you Nora, Cherry and Blackie!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Our short stay in Beijing was made memorable because of the warm hospitality we found at Hutongren. My parents enjoyed the peace and quiet, and we all enjoyed your wonderful pancakes and your dog Blackie! He is so cute and smart to boot. Such a great environment...thanks for helping us feel so much at home!

peace
Avery, Daryl and Krista

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    48
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
27
43
43
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

This was our worst accommodation in our 31 days of China and for 430 yuan it was also the most expensive. It is dirty beynd belief and survives only because of friends of the owners bombarding the internet with favourable "reviews"
The rooms are disusting with marks on every wall.
the toilets do not flush.
250ml of water costs 5 yuan
Our cheapest night was 80 Yuan in Lijiang and this place was far superior to this place..
There are 20 inns and hotels who are in the same area in similar but cleaner condition for half the price of this place.
It is not a trendy little place, theres plenty of those in the Hutongs but a planned system to grab tourists and charge them double the going rate with some english language and a few fake internet reviews.

Room Tip: Sorry, not worth it at any price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

The taxi from the airport was really simple as we had our accommodation name in Chinese which made the driver very happy! Hutongren is in the hutongs which are alleyways of courtyard guest houses. Hutongren is very authentic and we had a loft style room which helps on space and is a nice touch – although still compact. OK for us (we are average height) but would be a bit of a squeeze if you were very tall or a bit older as the few stairs up are steep – we liked it though. We knew how friendly they were prior to visiting as they had helped us book train tickets and even given us some translations for our table names at our wedding. It’s by far the western hotel experience so don’t expect this but it gives you a good balance if you have these types of hotels in your trip elsewhere.

When you’re here there a lovely little green seating area where you can sit and have a relaxing drink. The staff couldn’t be nicer and are super friendly. The location is fantastic – walking distance to the bus for the wall and about 10-15 minutes from the subway. There are some nice bars and restaurants on the main hutong road at the end of the alleyway so you don’t have to travel far to get out at night time. The street looks great at night too as it’s got loads of Chinese laterns – fantastic for pictures!

It isn’t a hotel at all so don’t expect it to be – but if you have read up on your knowledge you’ll know that the Hutongs are special and a great place to visit or stay in when coming to Beijing.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

Could not recommend this place highly enough. A friend who lives in Beijing found it and I am so glad that she did as i don't think I would have found it myself. Normally when I travel a room is just somewhere to sleeep and have a shower. This place was more like a home away from home and each day I looked forward to returning in the evening.

The lady working there spoke very little English, but was the sweetest person I have ever met. We connected instantly and we would chatter away to each other, but not understand a word the other was saying, but that didn't matter to us. She even cried when I left! She was so attentive and would do anything for you to make your stay comfortable. One night she made me vegetarian dumplings - an endless delicious supply, one night she went out and bought some roasted chetnuts, every day she supplied me with boiling water and fruit. She did have friends who spoke English who came around in the evenings and we would all sit together chatting and laughing in the cosy communal area.

The accommodation was not plush, but I found it comfortable, very clean and the overall design was incredibly charming.

I always think of my time staying here and would most definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Can't beat the location. The staff has very good command of English and is extremely helpful, especially when you can't speak a word of Mandarin. Rooms are small, but clean and the hutong style is very chic and cute.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Thanks to 'Laura' and 'Cherry' for a family-like treatment!! Was though nearly the only one in for the 5 nights I stayed.

Don't expect an ordinary hotel; with plants anywhere and a fountain, this is more comfy. The rooms are a bit dark and cool in the winter. Think this place will sell itself better in summer-time.

Placed perfectly close to everything and just beside one of the popularitet Hutong alley's. No noice though!

Yea, breakfast not impressing, but there.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

I was alone in Beijing for a couple of days and happened to be the only guest at the hutongren at that time . It was the start of winter and the single room was quite cold at night as there isnt any central heating, just a portable radiator (useful to warm towels to sleep on!). The place is quaint, staff definitely friendly and it doesnt smack of the tourist-kitsch other establishments are guilty of. it's not glamorous or luxurious but the homely feeling and sincere help they have were more important for a single traveller such as myself. Location is great as it is 2-3 bus stops away from the metro station, perfectly walkable in the mornings and relatively safe at night. It's a good way to start wandering about the hutongs of beijing (be careful not to accidentally stumble into someone's home, though) and strikes a nice balance between madness of a bustling city and a quieter pace of life reminiscent of old beijing.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hutongren Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutongren Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.71 Xiaoju'er Hutong, Nanluoguxiang, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 5,463 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hutongren Courtyard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a very small, easily-overlooked side alley north of storied Xiao Ju’er Hutong, this charming little tea-theme hotel offers a quiet, well-lit retreat from the bustle of the middle of everything. A handful of rooms-double from RMB 600 and single from RMB 480 – surround a stone-floored atrium filled with plants, natural light, books in various languages, wi-fi and a small bar. All rooms are equipped with super comfortable King Koil Mattresses, traditional furniture, air conditioners and under-ground heating. You will be warmly welcomed by the lovely staff and little Blackie. The unique Chinese Tea experience (free Tea classes are given everyday by reservation in advance), relative peace and quiet you’ll find here after a long day is worth it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hutongren Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hutongren Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.