We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, budget right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soluxe Sunshine Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Soluxe Sunshine Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
Soluxe Sunshine Courtyard Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2 Xitao Alley, Jiugulou Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #443 of 5,463 Hotels in Beijing
CA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Good location, budget right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed here with a party of students from the US and the hotel was more than adequate for our needs. The location is good, with the underground literally around the corner. There is a convenience store just up the road by the McDonalds and plenty of restaurant choices close by. The hotel is an experience away from the standard looks the same hotel chain. The rooms are located on quiet courtyards and have air, small but functional bathrooms, robes, slippers and tea facilities. It is very peaceful. The breakfast is good- toast, fried eggs to order, boiled eggs, soup, excellent egg rice, meaty dumplings etc. if you can't put up with clean, but basic accommodation then you are better off in an anonymous room in a chain hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    74
    19
    7
    0
See reviews for
9
18
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Pro: quiet and safe place, very close to metro, in a walking distance from downtown attractions. By the way you can observe hutongs around the hotel. Many places to eat local and international food around. Rather good wifi (better than in some more expensive hotels in Beijing). Linen, towels and bathroom facilities are clean. The teapot and hairdrier are provided (as generally in every Chinese hotel). The staff speak English.
Contra: The sockets do not always hold the plugs, the wallpaper comes off. The floor is dirty in some places. The bathroom has only a shower with a curtain and two holes in the floor, thus all the floor around becomes wet. The hotel was overpriced (I reserved it through Expedia and paid $73 per night for a single room, but it doesn't cost more than $40)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a delightful five nights at this courtyard hotel. It's up a little lane, but the transfer driver had no trouble negotiating it. We had a de luxe twin bed which provided everything we needed. The room was a decent size and the bathroom perfectly acceptable for this type of accommodation. The main building looked pretty ordinary, so I'd strongly recommend the courtyard rooms. It's a short walk to the Drum Tower and Hou Hai Lakes. There's plenty of taxis around, as well as restaurants. I'd be choosing this hotel rather than a chain any time I happened to be returning to Beijing. The street life at night was most interesting. We didn't eat there, so I can't say anything about the food.

Room Tip: Definitely a de luxe courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I paid 28 GBP for 2 people per night for a twin room. The room was small, but acceptable. The TV has no English channels. However - the air con was excellent, the bathroom was a nice wet-room and the cleaners did a great job. The hotel courtyards are beautiful, particularly at night (think Bond getting off the boat at the casino in Skyfall). Do not expect good service (it was LOUSY) but I got exactly what I paid for - a clean and cold place to sleep in a baking hot and dirty city. Great location (close to metro, hutongs, good for walkers).

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms in block A - all clustered around reception (though first floor rooms are f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here in late March '13. It's very close ( about 300 metres ) to Exit E of Guloudajie on the metro - but of course I walked half of Beijing to find it. The cheaper rooms in the main building ( near Reception ) are small and old and a bit ratty. They are the cheaper rooms. The first I was offered was dank, directly over the Reception area ( thought it would be noisy ) - I got it changed which they happily did. I by yourself and spending the day out and about, the room is OK. The bathroom is large, the water warm. If you meeting business associates, would suggest you get the more expensive rooms in the courtyards outside around what was once a temple ( I guess ? ) The gardens are nice, a good spot to prop and read a book. The breakfast buffet was a bit ordinary, bit western/bit chinese, neither good. Be warned however, there is not much in the way of eating places near this hotel that are open before lunchtime. The Hotel however, is very conveniently located.

Room Tip: HOW TO FIND HOTEL ( as of March '13 ). This may change when the extension to Line 9 is complete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 8 days. Location: It is set not far in from the main street and is a short walk to Guluo dajie subway station's many entrances. Very convenient. It is also a short walk to the Bell and Drum Towers as well as well known hutongs & HouHai Lakes etc. If you are up for it, you are also in walking distance of the Lama Temple, and the Forbidden City; otherwise just take the subway at your door step. Description: The hotel is simple. You check in. You get a room. Room service every morning. The staff stay out of your way unless you need something. Staff are friendly and helpful. Their English is limited to passable but nothing a little sign language can't resolve. They also refused tips. The rooms are functional. Don't expect things to be perfect; the walls are peeling, the sockets do not always hold the plugs etc but hey it's just a place to sleep. The hotel architecture itself is lovely, traditional style, with a history dating back over 500 years. You can relax sitting out in their 3 different courtyards. Not many tour options available at the hotel. The breakfast provided in the hotel restaurant is over priced for the quality so unless it's included in the price, skip it. I had no problems staying at the hotel so I give it 4 stars (despite being initially surprised by the small rooms and peeling walls). Would stay again.

Room Tip: Choose one of the courtyard rooms if you need complete silence at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is within easy walking distance to the Bell and Drum Tower and Houhai Lake. The courtyard is quiet and well maintained. It's also within easy walking distance to Gulou Dajie subway station which gives you access to the rest of Beijing. It's really cool staying at a property that is part of the old Beijing and being so close to the hutongs.

Be advised to not go there expecting a 4 or 5 star hotel because it's not that. For all of the charm that goes along with this stay, there are some minor inconveniences to deal with.

no wifi in some rooms
beds that are very hard
a breakfast that is satisfactory, but not exceptional
our "deluxe" room was a bit small for the furniture
no English channels on T.V. (except CCTV9)
a staff that speaks limited English
room floors that could be cleaner- use the slippers!
outlets that may not work
no outlet in the bathroom

With all of that said, we liked our stay because we really enjoyed the peaceful courtyard, courteous staff, and great location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soluxe Sunshine Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soluxe Sunshine Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.2 Xitao Alley, Jiugulou Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #443 of 5,463 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Soluxe Sunshine Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Soluxe Sunshine Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soluxe Sunshine Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.