We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not best placed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.36 Nanwei Road, Xicheng District, Beijing 100050, China (Chongwenmen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #74 of 5,424 Hotels in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 660 Reviews
North Wales
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but not best placed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed for three nights prior to going on a cruise. We had coach tours and transfers organised so the location wasn't too much of an issue but our evenings were free and we found there wasn't too much choice for eating out locally although the two places we favoured were very good.
We were told by the staff that if we went too far we would find difficulty getting a taxi to bring us back which put us off going in to the city which was a disappointment, unfortunately it was some distance to the nearest subway too so we didn't go.
The rooms were well appointed and for the time we stayed it was fine.If I returned to Beijing I might try to find a hotel closer to a rail station though

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    316
    91
    8
    6
See reviews for
69
112
54
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Every thing you need. Self-Laundry was very convenient. Need to work on cleaning a little bit. Some hairs and dirt here and there. Staff could speak better English and be more friendly. Beds are very hard. (Not uncommon for China). For the price it was great.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBeijing-Clare, IHG Social Listening Team at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are always seeking feedback from our guests to understand what they value and what can be improved, so we are grateful for your comments and our problem will be improved in the coming months. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future. Thank you!

IHG Social Listening Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a very long flight it was nice to get to this comfortable hotel. Location was very good. We walked to the Temple of Heaven and spent 1/2 a day at this wonderful complex. The included breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My better half and I stayed in this hotel for two nights during our tour of Beijing. It is located within walking distance to the Temple of Heaven which is a must-visit place of attraction in this capital city. The other tourist attractions like the Forbidden City and Tiananmen are not far far away too. The room was spacious and clean and the bathroom was big. Wifi was available in the room and it was free. Various cable television programmes were also available. The buffet breakfast was really good, there were so many types of food available, both oriental and western. A convenience store located beside the hotel's main entrance enabled us to buy our bottled water and drinks. A value for money and recommendable hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Hotel is of the budget variety but is a little outside of the action. It has large contemporary rooms. The shower was a trendy wet-room with a glass wall. The desk staff speak good English. The breakfast (included) was good and provided a mix of European and Chinese food. Of an evening the breakfast room was the café serving mainly selected "fast" Chinese dishes at a reasonable price for a hotel. However I did send a few back and ask for them to be hotter. The hotel has it's only little shop which sells gifts, drink and basic food items. Their is an off-licence next door to the Hotel.

The Hotel was in a non-commercial shopping street with some Chinese restaurants ( no European ones in this part of the city). Five minutes walk was Wu-Mart, a big super-market selling most things that you could need including budget watches, perfume clothing/gifts.

The Temple of Heaven Park was maybe 15 minutes walk and worth a visit if it is not on your tour.

The station was a fair walk - however taxi's are very cheap, but get your destination written down in Chinese for the driver.

Vey good standard of accommodation, at a budget price.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 8 nights, starting Oct. 14, to begin a 24 day vacation in China, great location, many local restaurants within walking distance, taxicabs are very cheap in Beijing, so going to any major site are only $2.00 to $10.00. The breakfast is great with many selections and always being replenished. Best value in Beijing.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

I and one of my friends staied at this hotel at the beginning of september. My room was always clean. I especially enjoyed the bricks made of glass between the bathroom and the room.
The staff was helpful and some of them can speak english.
The breakfast vas really good.
The hotel is a little bit far from the subway station, but during the way to the hotel there are several small fast-food restaurants and supermarkets, they are open late in the night. The hotel has a good location, in addition to it has good prices. I recommend it everyone!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven

Address: No.36 Nanwei Road, Xicheng District, Beijing 100050, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Beijing
#134 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple of Heaven. The hotel is strategically located in Beijing historic downtown, in the neighborhood of the Temple of Heaven Park and 10 minutes drive to the Tiannenmen Square, Forbidden City, National Grand Theater,WangfuJing Pedestrian and Qianmen Ancient Shopping Street. The hotel features 316 well appointed guest rooms functionally equipped with a 32 inch LCD television set, satellite and 35 cable channels including CNN, HBO, Phoenix and in-room safe.Guests are entitled free to wireless high-speed internet connection in-room or at any public area within the hotel and complimentary use of computers in the business center. More so, free breakfast is included. Other hotel facilities include a meeting room, unique concept Great Room F&B outlet, self-service laundry and ticketing vending machine. Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple of Heaven is a wise choice for business and leisure travelers alike who desire a new level of comfort at prices that make them smile from ear to ear.Hotel Address and Direction:--No.36 Nanwei Road, Xuanwu District, 100050 Beijing, P.R.C--Located at the Nanwei Road, on the opposite site of Tiantan Park West gate and 700m s drive West from the Tianqiao Department Store.From Beijng Capital Airport to HotelTake the airport transfer bus to Xi Dan or Fang Zhuang stop and get a cab to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven Hotel Beijing
Beijing Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.