We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel - choose something more central if you are a tourist though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.106 Zhichun Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100086, China (Zhongguancun)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #85 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 368 Reviews
Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Quality hotel - choose something more central if you are a tourist though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Crowne Plaza is a beautiful hotel, very well
maintained with high levels of service from the receptionists to the bell boys. The English spoken by staff was adequate, all were very friendly and polite.

The room itself was huge! There was also a Gigantic bathroom with full sized bath and shower along with a western toilet (which blocked sporadically but was always attended to by housekeeping). Beds were comfortable, good selection of english speaking channels on the TV. Housekeeping was superb, the room was spotless after every service. We didn't opt to purchase the wifi, however our iPhones were still able to access it (our iPad couldn't connect however.)

The major downside from the perspective of a tourist is the location. It's a good 40 minute ride on the MRT into the centre of town, and although it is cheap (only 2RMB for the journey) you should bear in mind that the metro is often crowded and seats are rarely available. We found the journey tiresome and laborious after a few days and would definitely stay closer to the city centre if we were visiting Beijing again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    169
    33
    8
    6
See reviews for
12
22
11
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A very nice hotel, I've been here for a convention and few distributors visit, the location was great, breakfast was reach and tasty, service very good.

the room was very nice and not to small.
I will definitely will visit here again.

Room Tip: not smoking and king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stay once or twice a year for a week or more when working with the Microsoft teams. I find this hotel to be very quiet and provides solid services less than a mile from the Microsoft buildings. The breakfast buffet is outstanding and since it's my favorite meal of the day it's perfect.

The service is excellent and the staff is proficient in English for the most part. There is a McDonalds about 4 blocks and the subway is also close and will get you wherever you want to go.

The rooms are a little dated (or traditional depending on your viewpoint) but they are very comfortable and quiet. Comfortable bed not too firm and a definite variety of pillows. A 5 piece bathroom with one of the best showers I have been in at a hotel. The soaking tub gets used every trip and is very relaxing. 32" flat screens have connections for dvd, hdmi to connect your pc or tablet, and a very nice picture. The room is also well lighted and very clean. The service staff is excellent.

I have only stayed in two other hotels in Beijing but i can say this one is the biggest bang fo rthe buck.

Room Tip: The higher the better but that goes for most hotels. elevators are centrally located and rarely bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I visited the Crowne Plaza in Zhongguancun when I was in Beijing on business. The only reason I chose this hotel was that it was relatively close to a customer's location.

The hotel itself is fairly modern. It is very clean, and has a good, helpful reception. The rooms themselves are on the small side, but definitely large enough. The bathroom is huge in comparison to the room, though. The hotel has surprisingly fast internet. I was able to use skype without problems.

They have a fairly good breakfast buffet with both Chinese and Western specialties.

The hotel is situated well outside Beijing center, so it is not a good choice for tourists. Tianamen square is about an hour away, as is the airport. There are some large electronics markets within walking distance that have nearly every electronics components anyone could possibly want, though it has a very bazaar feel.

All in all, good hotel, but not really for tourists.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed 3 nights for business in club room. Decor is of old style but enough space. Bath mat had black stain which I wasn't too fancy about. In house service was very good. But the concierge provided excellent service which I was very pleased. However, there was not much to do around the hotel and you need to travel abit to downtown.

Arrived at the hotel around 9:30pm at night and had dinner at the cafe. Food was terrible and the waiters/waitresses seemed not aware of the bell ringing from the kitchen even though I heard it very clearly. And I was very hungry waiting for them to bring me food. I wasn't very pleased.

Breakfast in the cafe was of good variety but quality is lacking for a so called five star hotel. Swissotel was certainly much better. There is not much choice at all in the club lounge for breakfast either.

Wifi speed was very good though.

I would recommend it if you are there for business in the area but defnitely not for leisure trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zhongguancun, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun. Being our valued guest, your opinion and feedback is extremely important to us, as it will help us to further enhance and shape our service in delivering a truly memorable and authentic experience to our customers.

I do apologize that we were not able to accomplish your expectation of service and product this time and I have made note of the few particular areas you felt that we have room to improve. Specially your suggestion of café dinner service has been addressed with my team.

I know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose our hotel for your future travel needs and I look forward to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Damir Raab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel for business. Hotel is very close to Peking University where I need to work for couple of days. The most impressive part of this hotel is staff. Nearly everyone I met at this hotel are friendly, helpful and professional. I stayed at Executive Floor room on 19th floor. Check in and check out are very smooth, room is big and in good condition. Mid of Oct, Beijing is cooling down and getting cold. However the room is pretty warm, I try to turn down the air condition but all I get is warm air (room temp is 24-25 C). I try to contact front desk, they told me Beijing is a green city, AC had only hot air in winter. Staff suggested I can open my window or change another room. Well I can not be bothered for only 3 nights. Bathroom is impressive, big and modern, executive floor is pretty average, nothing special there. This hotel has big swimming pool and great gym, I did use these facilities every morning. Breakfast at ground floor lounge bar is good, a lot of options to choose, you can use cafe machine get some real coffee as well. Not the best coffee I had but not bad either. There are subway stations on either side of the hotel, probably 5 minutes walk from the hotel. This is first time I stayed in this hotel, I wish the hotel could "communicate" better with guests on warm rooms. A communication letter could explain everything. All in all it was a relatively pleasant stay and I will come back again if I visit this part of the town again.

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zhongguancun, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your recent 3 nights at Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun. I truly appreciate your feedback on your experience, but at the same time apologize for the warm guest rooms. Our employees tried to communicate the reason for AC failure, the truth is every spring and autumn we face challenges to adjust the day and night time temperature to our air conditioning system, a challenge we were not able to completely fix yet. Certainly, we are a Silver-level Green Globe hotel, and do encourage employees and guests to protect the environment by reducing waste of energy. Your idea to offer a communication letter will be implemented to ensure, guests are aware of our initiatives to better contribute for global environmental sustainably.

Once again, thank you for your business and feedback.

With best regards,
Damir Raab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Was a very nice hotel, the room was very comfortable and the food was amazing. The staff spoke good English and were very helpful.

I had a lovely big bath in the room and could relax there after a hard day at work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zhongguancun, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun during your recent stay. Very glad to learn, that all went well and truly appreciate your kind feedback. Our large sized day-light bathrooms and bathtubs are quite popular, and offer exactly your described benefits: Relax after a hard day at work.

Thank you again, and hope to welcome you to Beijing soon again.

Best wishes,
Damir Raab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun

Address: No.106 Zhichun Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100086, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Zhongguancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Beijing
#64 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#262 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun is surrounded by the universities and technology companies of Haidian, Beijing's intellectual and scientific hub. We're 10 minutes' drive from the Shangdi IT district and the imperial grounds of Peking University and Tsinghua University. You're 40 minutes' drive from Beijing Capital International Airport and a 3-minute stroll from Haidianhuangzhuang subway station for swift city-centre access.Our versatile meeting rooms host conferences, multimedia presentations and shimmering social events. Finalise the deal in a private dining room at Rouge Chinese Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun Hotel Beijing
Crowne Plaza Zhongguancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.