We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely done hotel, but not close to city center.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.106 Zhichun Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100086, China (Zhongguancun)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #80 of 5,118 hotels in Beijing
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Nicely done hotel, but not close to city center.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

This is one of so many huge hotels in Beijing. The hotel is in an out of the way location for tourists. For that reason I would not suggest it unless you know you need to be in that specific area of the city. To get to tourist areas (unless you are comfortable with the subway) it takes at least 45 minutes by taxi. The hotel itself has a dramatic lobby, is well-maintained and staffed, the guest rooms are beautiful and expensively furnished, and the breakfast is exceptional with hundreds of choices. The bathroom was huge and very modern (rain shower, large tub, elegant fixtures). I wasn't sure what to expect from a Crowne Plaza hotel and was pleasantly surprised. If this hotel was located closer to the city center (if Beijing even has one) it would be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zhongguancun, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
Dear guest,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun. We appreciate you choosing Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun as your home away from home. It's great to learn that our hotel impressed you deeply. Thank you again for your sincere comments and we will continue to provide excellent service in the future.

Doubtlessly, Beijing is a fast growing city and bustling Zhongguancun area is densely blocked with peak traffic at certain time of the day, however, 3 subway lines (No. 4,10 & 13) is conveniently around the hotel which is an option though may not be the best choice.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and we do hope that we could have the opportunity to welcome your again.

Kind Regards,

Damir Raab

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    162
    31
    6
    6
See reviews for
12
22
11
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Gorgeous lobby. Check-in was fairly easy. English language skills of the staff is okay as long as you only have very simple questions. However, the doorman did give my taxi incorrect directions to my destination even though I attempted to confirm the address with my print out that was in Chinese. Huge rooms with fabulous bathroom. Good location if you have business in the Hai Dian District but far from most all the sites in Beijing. You will have a 45minute subway ride to most major sites in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zhongguancun, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Dear guest,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun as your home away from home. Your satisfaction is the best compliments for us and we will keep working hard to improve our service.

We apologize that our associates disappointed you. In regarding of the problem you mentioned, hotel management will take serious action to enhance English and surrounding knowledge training to associates concerned.

Being a fast developed metropolitan, Beijing is big for both leisure and business travelers, however, our hotel is conveniently located in between three metro lines and distance from exit C of No. 4 and No.10 lines is only 300 meters, and two stations away from No.13 line. It will be a choice for travelers with tight schedule.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and we do hope that we could have the opportunity to welcome your again.

Kind regards,

Damir Raab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in July 2011 for a week and am very satisfied by the service and room quality. The room was on executive floors, roomy, comfy and clean. They completed my check-in procedure in the executive lounge while I was resting in the couches and drinking some coffee. Staff were very friendly and helping, which was above my expectations. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again if I go back.

There is one issue though, it is sometimes not easy to have a taxi from the hotel because it is very cheap and there is a high demand. I know this is a problem of the city as a whole but I would expect the hotel to do something about this issue.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zhongguancun, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Dear guest,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun as your home away from home. It is a great honor to know that our hotel impressed you deeply.

In regarding of the issue you mentioned, Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun is located in the heart of bustling Zhongguancun, often referred as China’s Silicon Valley. However, it is a true fact that taxi is hard to get during peak hours. We would suggest you to seek help from concierge prior to your departure that will be helpful and time saving.

Once again, thank you for your time and patience. Look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,

Damir Raab

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

This is the second time we've stayed at the Crowne Plaza Zhongguancun since our son is working/living nearby. We like the following about the hotel: there is a nearby subway station, the Carrefours Mall has nice restaurants and stores, the breakfast is great.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights. Room is clean and pleasant. The complimentary bottled drinking water they provided is a little on the small side, but it fits perfect in a coat pocket or a ladies bag. Good to carry around during sight seeing. Electronic mall and subway is in walking distance.
Breakfast has a good spread. Didnt have time to try the swimming pool but my collegue whom stayed longer mentioned it is nice. Universal power socket is availble in the room, with some sockets clearly marked as non-interupted if we remove the key card. Helpful for leaving the battery chargers plugged in.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

This hotel is very comfortable for business. The rooms are quiet and comfortable. I wish I had the bathroom at my house -- very luxurious. The internet connection is fast, the restaurants are excellent, and the lounge is a comfortable place for a quiet drink and conversation after a long business day. I need to travel to Beijing about every two months, and this is the place I stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

This was the best conference/business hotel I've stayed in for quite some time. It's very modern, large rooms (excellent shower), fast internet, helpful staff, and very good quality breakfast (including wide range of fruit and good quality baked goods), as well as good Chinese food. It's very well located for universities, etc., but it is also not too bad for sightseeing as it is 5 mins walk to the subway (lines 4 and 10). There is also a really good 25m swimming pool.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun

Address: No.106 Zhichun Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100086, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Zhongguancun
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#54 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#60 Business Hotel in Beijing
#61 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#292 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun is surrounded by the universities and technology companies of Haidian, Beijing's intellectual and scientific hub. We're 10 minutes' drive from the Shangdi IT district and the imperial grounds of Peking University and Tsinghua University. You're 40 minutes' drive from Beijing Capital International Airport and a 3-minute stroll from Haidianhuangzhuang subway station for swift city-centre access.Our versatile meeting rooms host conferences, multimedia presentations and shimmering social events. Finalise the deal in a private dining room at Rouge Chinese Restaurant, or experience our searing take on European food at Mixs Italian Grill-Teppan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun Hotel Beijing
Crowne Plaza Zhongguancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.