We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coolest hotel in beijing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Opposite House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Opposite House to your Saves list
The Opposite House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #6 of 5,416 Hotels in Beijing
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“coolest hotel in beijing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

im really a fan of the modern minimalist interior design....so its no surprise that i love this hotel. The elegant use of wood all over and clean lines really did it for me.

I dont think its for everyone though, its like sleeping in a modern art museum rather than a feel at home luxury hotel.

i dont remember the place having a swimming pool or a spa...but i might be wrong.

The halls are rather dark, and i dont even remember being a front desk. People just come up to you in their ipads and organically just take care of you.

I remember the breakfast cafe was ok....not the vegas buffet you'd see in big luxury chains. Just enough. There are better dining options around and below the hotel. The japanese restaurant in the complex called BEI is amazing and probalby one of the best dinners i had in beijing.

the immediate surrounds are still under development, there was a great sichuan restaurant next door.

the only thing that i didnt like was the height of the building....maybe i was in a lower room but i felt like i couldnt open my window coz' the hotel rooms were immediately in line of sight to the small alley way behind it. and people could easily see you. I wish the hotel was taller and so you can get a better view. Also the small street infront of the hotel is always congested with traffic....which means, it will take forever for a taxi to get in and out of the area. we would usually just ask the driver to drop us at the corner of the main street block and we'd just walk back.

overall....despite the surroundings, i would book this hotel again on my next stay to beijing in a few months. I was at the park hyatt earlier, and i still like this property better...overall.

Room Tip: get a higher room...unless you like putting up a show.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    92
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
36
138
40
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Loved this hotel. It's in a great area, many restaurants, shops. The service is professional and friendly at the same time. The lobby is gorgeous. You have to see it to believe it. Beautiful, contemporary and interesting. A huge resin Asian medicine chest as the lobby desk. An absolutely exquisite milky resin male dress on the wall. Sorry for my ignorance in the exact name of these gorgeous things. Anyway, they have a lobby that evolves with their art. The breakfast is great. The rooms are the best. Very contemporary, stark and at the same time very warm with the wood and opaque linen curtains in the open bathroom. I just loved it. The service was perfect and very friendly. It was my first time in Beijing and I know there are so many great hotels but I would return to Opposite House.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crediton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Fantastic base for a stay in Beijing. Everything was perfect, the room large, contemporary and well equipped - fantastic shower/bathrooms. The staff are all extremely professional, friendly and helpful. I'll be back soon I hope.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

It didn't hurt that our client booked us in a luxury suite on the 6th floor. Room 615 has a king bed 2 toilets & 4 sinks, along with two large closets and countless drawer space. I could stay a month. Up a few stairs is a tub the size of a king bed with an open, exposed rain shower. When we first checked in we wanted to stay and lounge, but we had Beijing to see! Luxurious minimalist design may seem like an oxymoron, but is it simple, clean line architecture, yet no comfort & amenities are overlooked. Front desk & bell staff top notch service. Each meal at the Village Cafe was delicious, and Dale Wu the manager truly went out of his way to make us welcome, as did many other servers. Oddly, for all I've read about the Mesh bar, we had poor service with bar tender bad attitude, more like indifferent, two different nights.

Room Tip: 615 is to die for but if a suite is not in your budget, we saw other regular king size units that we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Can't say enough great things about the hotel. Emailed them in advance to help with restaurant bookings while in Beijing and they handled everything superbly. We arrived late in the evening and my local phone needed to be topped off with credit, when I inquired about the nearest place I could do that the hotel just sent a staff member out to get it done. The guy was back in less than five minutes and all I had to pay for was the cost of the credit, there was no "service charge" from the hotel.

The manager Maria was a super help in dealing in a minor crisis where one of our friends needed to switch hotels. She set her up with a room and got everything taken care of all while we were having dinner. Amazing seamless service that took the stress out of traveling.

The rooms are spacious and very modern. While there is no kitchen, every room has a coffee and tea maker with multiple options for each as well as a fully stocked mini-bar which is all included in the price of the room. A great perk when having a late night snack craving or just wanting to enjoy a beer on the balcony.

The gym facilities are small but sufficient with plenty of space. There is also a steam room which was a great way to unwind after long days of seeing Beijing.

The breakfast is actually at the lobby cafe and includes both the a la carte menu and the buffet which is great as you can pick and choose from either and just really enjoy breakfast. The food is superb and the staff is super helpful and tries to accomodate all requests. We had to explain an egg white omelette with charades but everyone had a good laugh AND it was prepared correctly.

My only complaint, and I had to dig hard for this one, is that I couldn't figure out how to connect my ipod to the in-room speakers even with the instructions.

Overall, this hotel was one of the highlights of our trip to Beijing and China overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel is elegant, sleek and thoughtfully designed. It has a stunning, modern, luxurious interior and the rooms are comfortable and practical. Concierge services are outstanding and the food in the cafe is excellent. The neighborhood surrounding the hotel is wonderful with easy access to a variety of attractions in Beijing. It is one of our all time favorite hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The architecture is fabulous! The room was really big and comfortable, nice, modern and clean decor. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was great also, as well as the breakfast! Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Opposite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opposite House

Address: Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beijing
#4 Business Hotel in Beijing
#4 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#6 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#388 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Opposite House 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opposite House features 99 luxuriously appointed guest studios designed by the renowned Japanese architect, Kengo Kuma. Designed to provide a sense of space, warmth and comfort, studios start from 45/481 sqm/sqf, which are arguably some of the largest in Beijing. They come fitted with signature wooden floorings and oak tubs. Partnering with well-known Shanghai based Australian restaurateur David Laris and restaurant designers Neri & Hu, we offer an intoxicating blend of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Opposite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opposite House Hotel Beijing
The Opposite Hotel
Opposite Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Opposite House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.