We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Opposite House

Save Saved
You added The Opposite House to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Opposite House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 5,414 Hotels in Beijing
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Truly beautiful hotel. One of the loveliest hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms are minimal but very comfortable. We stayed in the smallest sized room, but very spacious. The service is great. The art in the foyer is amazing. The hotel restaurants are lovely. The location is good. Near to the subway. But otherwise in a mall, though lots of restuarants around. The hotel bar is fantastic. They make a great caprioska. We were travelling as a gay couple - very gay friendly. Loved it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    87
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
31
132
37
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Went for the full body massage and facial during my 2-week business stay in Beijing Sanlitun district. 200% worth it! Architect Kengo Kuma really knocked himself out with this hotel. So exquisite! Would stay there if I could afford it. Such a sense of serenity and uniqueness to this place. Highly recommended. For those like me who want the experience without the price tag, you can enjoy the cafe, multiple restaurants and spa without being a guest.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is my first time in China, and I was not expecting the progressive, innovative, and contemporary feel I've encounter thus far. And that's is exactly how I would describe this hotel. The decor is simple, understated, yet classic, high end and homely. It's located at a very convenient location where you can access high end shops, as well as deep discounted products. There are many western restaurants, as well as street food or local joints. Cabs are easily accessible and cheap. But back to this hotel, the staff is great! Very professional, fluency in English, kind, and efficient. In both restaurants: lobby cafe, and Sireño, the staff were great. We were here for a week, and on day two, Heather, from the lobby cafe, knew our names, what we liked and was very friendly. Their Mesh bar is a nice place for night caps or pre dinner drinks. Joey, Angela, and Lucky made us feel at home. Again, staying in this place is worth every penny! The amenities are organic, and they fill your mini bar free at charge daily! There're snacks, water, sodas, and beers. Hands down best hotel I've stayed at in a while! Thank you Opposite House!

Room Tip: Higher floor for city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is one of the truly great hotels of the world. The atmosphere is warm and friendly. The decor, modern and minimalist. A true showcase for a revolving collection of local art that always seems to be changing. We love staying here. A home away from home with an X factor.

It's not a big hotel, but it doesn't fall into the category of a "boutique hotel" either. It's just the right size, with it's impeccable service and attention to detail. Nothing is too much trouble for this crew. The management team is visible and engaged in one's experience and enjoyment....there is always someone with an eye to the customer's care....

The aspects that differentiate a great destination like the Opposite House are so often the aspects that are not visible....no camera will ever capture them for in the end it is the culture...this joint is beyond excellence.

We have stayed here many times now and would never think of staying anywhere else whilst in Beijing. A true gem of a place and we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: No room will disappoint...remembering that in general tersm the more you wish to pay the greater the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I really enjoyed this place. Conveniently located in a posh neighborhood, but still close to metro and some attractions. Great wooden bathtub and two wooden sinks. Great choice of toiletries. Excellent decoration, a highly efficiend check-in and checkout. A pure luxury - all the items in minibar complimentary, and missing items replaced every day. Art in the lobby makes an impression. Failed to try the restaurant, though - it is constantly busy which is probably a good sign.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel , nice food, nice staff, nice room, nice location.
One of the best hotel I have ever stayed. Not much room in the hotel, no in check in desk, you can just sit in the sofa & check in. Lots of architect in the hotel lobby. Just like a modern hotel somewhere in Europe when u come in the opposite house ! The location around is one of famous shopping center in Beijing. For breakfast, there is a cold cut table for buffet , and you can order various from the breakfast.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I have the pleasure of staying here every few months and can't say enough about the service I receive. The rooms are beautiful as is the hotel and all the amenities. I recommend opposite house to all my friends and associates.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Opposite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opposite House

Address: Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#4 Business Hotel in Beijing
#5 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#369 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Opposite House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opposite House features 99 luxuriously appointed guest studios designed by the renowned Japanese architect, Kengo Kuma. Designed to provide a sense of space, warmth and comfort, studios start from 45/481 sqm/sqf, which are arguably some of the largest in Beijing. They come fitted with signature wooden floorings and oak tubs. Partnering with well-known Shanghai based Australian restaurateur David Laris and restaurant designers Neri & Hu, we offer an intoxicating blend of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Opposite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opposite House Hotel Beijing
The Opposite Hotel
Opposite Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Opposite House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;