We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in China!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Opposite House

Save Saved
You added The Opposite House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Opposite House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 5,168 hotels in Beijing
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best hotel in China!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Opposite House Hotel is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The rooms were incredibly beautiful, light and spacious. We love the minimalism look and found the rooms to be just to our taste. The artwork in the lobby was inspiring. We can't thank the staff enough for their service. They were incredibly helpful, kind and courteous and assisted us with any train bookings and anything else we needed. The bathtubs in the room were amazing - just what you needed to rejuvenate after a day walking around Beijing in below zero temperatures. The pool was beautiful - we used it almost every day! The cafe downstairs provided excellent food. The location of the hotel is fantastic - 10 min walk to the metro and also surrounded by bars and great restaurants. Overall, a fabulous stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    83
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
126
36
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have been staying at the Opposite House for almost 2 years, 2 weeks a month and I must say if I am still staying in the same hotel after trying different 5 stars hotels in Beijing is because is the best place outside home to stay even for business trip.
- Great service, always there to be able to accommodate you to organise a made to measure visit within the city, recommend the best restaurants.....
- excellente, confortable room with everything that you need to have
- Great restaurants (Sureno for dinner or the coffee lounge for breakfast). The breakfast is top
- Extremely good location within walking distance to different shops, restaurants, from budget prices to high end products
- Minimalist design and nice art exhibition selection

Room Tip: Ask to have a room located on the luxury san litum village (north village) quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My Wife and I spent the weekend at the Opposite House in early December. The whole experience, from check in to room service to the super comfortable bed was perfect. The hotel is very modern, with cool lighting and super chic bathrooms. The hotel location is also perfect. Located right in the San Li Tun neighborhood, there is quick access to shopping, dining and many bars. We truly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Opposite House to anyone looking for a fun and romantic weekend in the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in The Opposite House during our stay in Beijing in January 2013.
The hotel is new, stylish and within a very good area. In 5 minutes walking around you can eat (from expensive restaurants to more budgeted ones), drink and go shopping from high class shops to bargain into the fake market.

It is not located in the heart of the city, but it is well communicated to visit all the spots. Metro station is also 10 minutes walking, which is also a good option.

Only cons I saw is that the price for the transportation and tours are very expensive. We preferred to book tours alternatively on our own.

Room Tip: We had an upgrade to 70 sq meters room. However it was not only by paying with American Express, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Opposite House might be the best hotel I have stayed in Beijing!

Location: is simply great! Beijing is way too big, if you want to go to the Great Wall or Summer Palace, it's equally far from anywhere. But if you want to stay somewhere with a bit urban touch, Opposite House is the best choice. it's located inside of Sanlitun Village, with lots of options for restaurants and bars.

Facility: is fantastic! nicely designed hotel, every single items is carefully selected, the texture of furniture, material of the bedding and towels. Restaurants are offering very homely cooking, we stayed for two nights but didn't have chance to try out all three restaurants.

Service: is excellent! different from other hotel chains, Opposite House seems managed by a young energetic team, staff are very easy to talk to, very efficient, always eager to help.

Did I mention they offer complimentary mini bar? nicely stokced with imported water, food, organice coffee and more...
Complimentary WiFi is covered every corner...

Room Tip: it depends on what view you would like to have. We stayed at the Studio 70 room, which is facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed for a week in November. Beautiful hotel with spacious rooms. The swimming pool was gorgeous. Especially loved the personal touches left behind after turn down service (eye masks, face masks), and it was great that the minibar was free and extremely well stocked! Sheets were super comfortable. Excellent location being located next to the Village Mall, but it does get slightly noisy during weekends. However, that is just a very minor downside to a great hotel. Two thumbs up!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

There is so much to like about this modern styled hotel.....the feel, the flow, the care and the service...and oh yes it is in such a great location.
Back inside the hotel the rooms are light, the 'in room comfort' is significant and generally they have a lovely feel. The restaurants provide a wide range of cuisines and service is good; and also not to forget the pool too, which is a great experience, particularly when one reflects where you are.....
Now going to Beijing is not the easiest place to get around if you cannot speak mandarin, however, this hotel makes the experience so much simpler - the care and the help abounds.
I have been visiting this city for over 20 years and stayed in many hotels....and this hotel to me is the standout in Beijing, and indeed, across China.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Opposite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opposite House

Address: Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#5 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#6 Business Hotel in Beijing
#390 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Opposite House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opposite House features 99 luxuriously appointed guest studios designed by the renowned Japanese architect, Kengo Kuma. Designed to provide a sense of space, warmth and comfort, studios start from 45/481 sqm/sqf, which are arguably some of the largest in Beijing. They come fitted with signature wooden floorings and oak tubs. Partnering with well-known Shanghai based Australian restaurateur David Laris and restaurant designers Neri & Hu, we offer an intoxicating blend of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Opposite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opposite House Hotel Beijing
The Opposite Hotel
Opposite Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Opposite House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.