We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Beijing - significantly so” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Opposite House

Save Saved
You added The Opposite House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Opposite House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 5,310 hotels in Beijing
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best in Beijing - significantly so”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

There is so much to like about this modern styled hotel.....the feel, the flow, the care and the service...and oh yes it is in such a great location.
Back inside the hotel the rooms are light, the 'in room comfort' is significant and generally they have a lovely feel. The restaurants provide a wide range of cuisines and service is good; and also not to forget the pool too, which is a great experience, particularly when one reflects where you are.....
Now going to Beijing is not the easiest place to get around if you cannot speak mandarin, however, this hotel makes the experience so much simpler - the care and the help abounds.
I have been visiting this city for over 20 years and stayed in many hotels....and this hotel to me is the standout in Beijing, and indeed, across China.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    85
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
129
36
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

If you want something different from the boring chain hotels you'll love staying at the Opposite House.

The hotel has a minimal modernist feel and walking through the lobby and ground floor is akin to strolling the through an art gallery. The staff are friendly and helpful.

The hotel is within walking distance of the Sanlitun Village Shopping Mall.

If you choose the hotel car service you have a choice of a Maserati Quattroporte, Audi Q7, Mercedes Benz S350 or Audi A6L.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I forgot to write a brief contribution on this hotel where I stayed in with family during our China summer trip. A sister hotel of The Upper House in Hong Kong, the manager of which referred me to this hotel, telling me its nice but don’t compare it with ours! Indeed, a very modern, “minimalist” hotel but don’t get me wrong: it was a wonderful stay. The room we got was a really huge one long stretched with long colorless and very minimalistic interior, a rather “adventurous” shower, lot of windows. Honestly we had to get used to it due to the fact that the rooms –as are the other areas of the hotel –rather out of the ordinary. I guess this is the sort of hotel you either love or hate. Look at the various comments her on the hotel. We loved it, the sleep qualify was excellent, the spaciousness in a city like Beijing was extraordinary. My guess is that if you are for leisure –like we were, was with family with two daughters- you can certainly appreciate the hotel. If however you are for business I am not so sure this is a safe bet. Again for us: its quite an experience and certainly worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Wonderful, easy, comfortable and little things that made it the perfect location for business in Beijing.

Simple and effective, no frills, just exactly what was needed.

Service of the staff is impeccable. Beyond call of duty. Nothing was too much trouble.

I overslept my 3.45am wake up call. The staff woke me up, helped me pack everything, had the bill ready to sign, and had my luggage in the airport car before I was even awake!

The management should be applauded, I will definitely be back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Absolutely perfect! Staff were attentive, friendly & polite, food in Sureno is amazingly good! I had to make myself wake up early cos I just couldn’t miss the delicious breakfast at the Cafe! The hotel itself is an attraction! It has very cool unique design, rooms are spacious, free wifi, snacks and drinks, I didn’t want to leave my room!

Taxi is always a challenge in BJ! Thanks for the manager – Frank he played a little magic so I could attend my dinner appointment on time!

Room Tip: try the studio 70 or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Beautiful and spacious rooms, unique and stunning design, nice location for relaxation or going out, good service (though not as ridiculously over the top as some other places, if that's what you're looking for).

Highly recommend staying here, especially over one of the larger chain hotels in Beijing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stylish and comfortable. Service is friendly, restaurant Sureno is sure yes! Bar mesh is the place I always go with friends except every Thursday(famous gay night in Beijing). Room is nice, I specially like the bath tub which is made by wood. Always my first choice in Beijing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Opposite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opposite House

Address: Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#5 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Business Hotel in Beijing
#372 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Opposite House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opposite House features 99 luxuriously appointed guest studios designed by the renowned Japanese architect, Kengo Kuma. Designed to provide a sense of space, warmth and comfort, studios start from 45/481 sqm/sqf, which are arguably some of the largest in Beijing. They come fitted with signature wooden floorings and oak tubs. Partnering with well-known Shanghai based Australian restaurateur David Laris and restaurant designers Neri & Hu, we offer an intoxicating blend of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Opposite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opposite House Hotel Beijing
The Opposite Hotel
Opposite Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Opposite House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.