We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in Beijing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Opposite House

Save Saved
You added The Opposite House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Opposite House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 5,310 hotels in Beijing
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“best hotel in Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stylish and comfortable. Service is friendly, restaurant Sureno is sure yes! Bar mesh is the place I always go with friends except every Thursday(famous gay night in Beijing). Room is nice, I specially like the bath tub which is made by wood. Always my first choice in Beijing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    84
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
128
36
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel is absolutely divine. Situated in the diplomatic district, Chongyang it is part of the Sanlitun complex, a collection of retail, office, residential and entertainment housed in low rise buildings. The layout works beautifully. The design of the Opposite House is one of its main selling points. The lobby is an art gallery of grand proportions (the Chinese really know how to use space to powerful effect) which rotates exhibitions. The staff are delightful and can’t do too much to help. We had an early check out for a 7.45am flight to Xian and they organised and timed everything perfectly – wake up call, breakfast in the room, confirming the flight (questionable because of snow) and the car service. I had booked a Studio 45 and was offered an upgrade to a larger room with breakfast on check in. This was a good choice. The room was stylish and incredibly relaxing. One end of the room was a huge window looking out onto the street through trees – my partner perched on the couch there to do his reading and writing and loved it. Being a bath fanatic, I made use of the wooden tub scented with supplied bath salts and bubble bath from their in house toiletry range (Ba Ha Li). The bath is enormous – ideal for two. The minibar is free – a feature of the Swire Hotels (there is a sister hotel Upper House in Hong Kong)My only gripe about the room is open slats at the top of the toilet door which mean you can hear everything in the toilet from the room consequently I ended up using the lobby toilet at times. The hotel is not cheap but on a global scale it is excellent value, it probably cost around 60% of what you’d pay for the same thing in another major city.
My gripes - even though the room was booked in my name with my credit card and paid for with the same card, we were mysteriously registered under my (male) travel companions name. Annoying when trying to charge restaurant bill to my room to be told the name is wrong. I booked a rate through the hotel's website which included triple miles on my membership (Qantas). I did not receive these miles and when I queried the hotel they said it could not be done due to an IT issue??

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schauenburg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The best in town! In The Heart of Sanlitun the Opposite House gives you always a warm welcome and personal care!
I stayed Heer many times and it's always like 'coming home' !
The rooms are great to work quietly. Very good breakfast and daily menue.
Staff is doing a great job - Never had any unfullfilled request!!
So go for it and have a great time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed two nights here with my boyfriend. Nice zen feeling decor, super comfy bed and great food. The free mini-bar and turn-down gifts are certainly a nice touch.
They have some very helpful and friendly staff. Manager Frank did personally greet us to ensure we have a pleasant stay. Concierge Roy helped us to arrange everything from restaurant bookings to arranging car and tour guide to the Great wall.
We will definitely come back whenever we visit Beijing again. It feels like home!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have been to Beijing about 5 times and stayed at a different hotel each time including the "No.1 in Beijing"; The Fairmont. The Opposite House is better! None of the other hotels had the atmosphere and charm of this gem. The service was superb, staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the daily gifts that were left in my room were a really nice touch too. The Design of this hotel is what really does it for me, the architect Kengo Kuma has done another fantastic job and there is a lot of the traditional Japanese influences. The bedrooms are very comfortable and have wood everywhere (floors, bath, basins, bed). The floors are grooved like you will find in a traditional Chinese building which feels amazing under your feet. The restaurants within the hotel are some of the best in Beijing and you are situated in Sanlitun which is ideal for nightlife and shopping. I really could not recommend this place more highly, next time you are in Beijing make sure you stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I was told you will love it or hate it - what is there not to love about this hotel?
The modern and funky reception with the open plan nature is complemented by a wooden themed bedroom - wooden bath and sinks with a wooden floor.
Free mini bar and little night time gifts are a nice touch.
There are some great bars near by and top end shops right beside a huge clothing market, so all tastes and budgets are catered for.
If you are in Beijing give this place a try!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

the Opposite house is one of the best hotel in Beijing. The rooms are simple but nice, the whole hotel has a nice design touch and there are always some art pieces from Li Xiao Feng.
My favorite thing is the bed, very very comfortable and the bed linen is sooo soft.
however, last time my room was smelly, i think it came from the bathroom drains and as usual, the sink is not very user friendly (water splashes...).

But don't miss understand me, this hotel is great, and its location is very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Opposite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opposite House

Address: Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#5 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Business Hotel in Beijing
#373 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Opposite House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opposite House features 99 luxuriously appointed guest studios designed by the renowned Japanese architect, Kengo Kuma. Designed to provide a sense of space, warmth and comfort, studios start from 45/481 sqm/sqf, which are arguably some of the largest in Beijing. They come fitted with signature wooden floorings and oak tubs. Partnering with well-known Shanghai based Australian restaurateur David Laris and restaurant designers Neri & Hu, we offer an intoxicating blend of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Despegar.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Opposite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opposite House Hotel Beijing
The Opposite Hotel
Opposite Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Opposite House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.