We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Traders Upper East Hotel,Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Traders Upper East Hotel,Beijing to your Saves list
Traders Upper East Hotel,Beijing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2 Dongsihuan North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100016, China (Formerly Traders Hotel) (Jiuxianqiao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #42 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Orlando
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“fantastic place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Clean and convenient hotel to stay at. We stayed 5 days at the Traders while on a tour of China and the service was great! The front desk was helpful, as was the concierge staff. The rooms were spotless and the restaurant's food was tasty. Their selection at breakfast was fantastic and their wait staff very accommodating. We enjoyed this hotel the best on our tour and would highly recommend it. The hotel is undergoing some renovations, but they did not seem to be working on it at the time we were there (maybe due to there being a 3 day holiday that week). The windows did need cleaning (they had notices that they were being cleaned and there were cables outside our room for the window washers, but they did not appear to be working that week). Overall, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THUE, Lisa Ciao, Director of Communications at Traders Upper East Hotel,Beijing, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Thirst4knowledge,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We are delighted to receive your compliments, regarding our rooms and our level of service. Our aim of the renovation is to ensure that we consistently upgrade our facilities, so that we can serve our customers better. You are welcome to visit our website @ http://www.shangri-la.com/beijing/tradersuppereast/ for latest promotional news and we look forward to welcoming you back in your next trip in Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    111
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
22
22
26
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I live in Beijing but my mum came for a short visit and treatd me to 10 days at this hotel. The hotel was great! The staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms are spacious, clean and beautiful.
If you want to exchange money at the reception you must make sure you give them brand new notes. They won't accept old/ folded notes. The "unwanted notes" were more than wanted at the bank.
Also, you might want to know there is no subway station in walking distance. The closest station is Liangmachao (line 10) and from there it is about 10 minutes by taxi/ bus.
The hotel has a free shuttle bus twice a day to a few popular destinations in the city.
Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THUE, Lisa Ciao, Director of Communications at Traders Upper East Hotel,Beijing, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Response: Dear Danagoldb,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your last stay and glad to know you had an enjoyable stay with us, especially the compliments on our friendly staffs and rooms. We appreciated your kind understanding on the money exchange operation which is as per the bank requirement. You will be happy to know that our hotel is well located between the Third Embassy District, Wang Jing Hi Tech Park, Lido Commercial Centre and the fashionable 798 art district. Just 20 minutes from Beijing Capital International Airport and the new China International Exhibition Centre (CIEC).You are welcome to visit our website for the latest promotions news and we look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Some restaurants in the hotel have gardens. It feels extremely refreshing sitting outside. To further enhance my wonderful experience, the food was delicious. It wasn't even too expensive.

The workers were also very passionate and helpful. Some of the names I remember from the restaurant are Linda and Erica. Every noon, during the busiest time, I always see them working their hardest, fulfilling customers needs.

From the Traders Club, Sherry Cheng, John, Jane, Laura. They are always full of smiles and they always take the initiative.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THUE, Lisa Ciao, Director of Communications at Traders Upper East Hotel,Beijing, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Oleamei,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel and we are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will convey your compliments to our colleagues from the Food and Beverage Department and Traders Club. It is indeed a great pleasure to serve you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in your next trip to Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel is really nice most especially the rooms set ups the food is delicious and some of your workers are angels name list for the ones i remember Tracy ...Jessica... Sharon ...Harry ... Will ... Jasmine these guys are really nice. They have good customer care . But there also bad colleagues that need to be trained for traders upper hotel to be heavens you know what I mean

Room Tip: For me room 1902 is my favorite I just love the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THUE, Lisa Ciao, Director of Communications at Traders Upper East Hotel,Beijing, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Colefrancis:
Thank you for sharing us your experience of your last stay at our hotel and we will convey your compliments about our Colleagues to them. I am sure that they would be delighted to receive your endorsements. Regarding your last comment on extra training in the hotel, we will be contacting you directly to find out more details regarding your interactions. In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to Beijing !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is too far from city center and away from anything.Nothing closeby.Taxis will not take you to this hotel as its out of the city.Rooms are good.Breakfast is avrage.Room service choice is poor and costly.Stay here only if you are to spend overnight close to the airport to save time travelling to and from the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THUE, Lisa Ciao, Director of Communications at Traders Upper East Hotel,Beijing, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of your last stay with us, especially the compliments on our rooms. You will be happy to know that our hotel is well located between the Third Embassy District, Wang Jing Hi Tech Park, Lido Commercial Centre and the fashionable 798 art district, just 20 minutes from Beijing Capital International Airport and the new China International Exhibition Centre (CIEC).The Hotel is surrounded by nail art shop, pub, spa center and different kinds of restaurants (Arab, Korean, Japanese, Chinese, Western Restaurants) in walking distance. You may also want to know the hotel is only 10 minutes walk away from Indigo, the new 20,000 square meters shopping mall. Our hotel also offers shuttle buses to major Beijing shopping malls and corporate offices nearby. We look forward to seeing you back in Beijing soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here second time for conference. It takes about 20min (at night) from the airport just 80 yuan, but to get here, very sure to have a map with hotel name and address writing in Chinese.
There was a shuttle service between several global companies and shopping mall etc a few times a day.
I very much reccomend to use shuttle as possible as you can, since taxi driver sometimes refuse to take you to the hotel due to its location, and 99% of them do not understand English.
Room has a nice view of the river and greens, enough amenities, comfy bed, but towels were little bit dated.
I got here quite late at night, but check in was smooth and one of the kindest receptionist I could meet in a several hotels I have ever stayed in China.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THUE, Lisa Ciao, Director of Communications at Traders Upper East Hotel,Beijing, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of your last stay with us and we are encouraged by your positive feedback on our service at Reception, as well as the convenience offered by our daily shuttle bus. You will be happy to note that we are increasing our shuttle coverage, to ferry our guests to even more shopping malls and corporate offices. We look forward to seeing you back in Beijing soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Overall review is that it is execllent place to stay at.
The breakfast is more than satisfing, and the service is excellent.
The swimming pool is small (20 x 5 m), but during my stay it was never crowded.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thuebeijing, Rachel Wu, Digital Marketing Manager at Traders Upper East Hotel,Beijing, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular, our wholesome and generous breakfast. Our Food & Beverage Team are dedicated to continual improvement of breakfast quality as well as variety. We hope to see you again soon in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Traders Upper East Hotel,Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Upper East Hotel,Beijing

Address: No.2 Dongsihuan North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100016, China (Formerly Traders Hotel)
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Jiuxianqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Traders Upper East Hotel,Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traders Upper East Hotel, Beijing, the fifth hotel in Beijing by Shangri-La is well positioned between Lido Commercial Centre and Wang Jing Hi Tech Park, just 20 minutes from Beijing Capital International Airport and the new China International Exhibition Centre (CIEC). The hotel features 403 guestrooms and suites with superb views of the city and greenery views of Chaoyang Park and Side Park. The hotel’s Grand Ballroom and 15 flexible meeting rooms are all fitted with the latest conferencing systems. The Grand Ballroom comfortably seats 400 in a conference and cocktail or 250 in a banquet, making it an ideal choice for MICE participants and delegations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Traders Upper East Hotel,Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traders Upper East Hotel,Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.