We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing to your Saves list
Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2 Dongsihuan North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100016, China (Formerly Traders Upper East Hotel,Beijing) (Jiuxianqiao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Be aware that if you overspend on your deposit you are likely to be hounded until you have put yourself back in credit. I was disappointed to find myself in this situation and was made to go to my room after midnight to give the reception some additional funds for my spending even though I was checking out at 6.30 the following morning.
They simply don't trust anyone!
Made me feel angry and aggrieved that I was not trustworthy enough to pay in the morning. Other than this issue it is a good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thuebeijing, Rachel Wu, Digital Marketing Manager at Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your last stay with us. Your comments have raised concern in our management team. We would certainly like to hear more details from you regarding your stay. Please feel free to contact us directly via telephone (+86 10 5907 8301) or via email (rachel.wu@tradershotels.com). We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    120
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
27
26
27
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel a number of times; the rooms are nice and it's relatively close to the airport but quite a hike if you're planning to go into the centre. There's a park across the road and nice walking areas in the back by the canal which is unusual for Beijing.

I've always found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful; my only reservation is that I find the coffee shop buffet food to be slightly below par but that's a minor issue.

On my last trip, they were replacing tiles on the outside of the building and a couple of my colleagues mentioned that it was a bit noisy at times but I've not had that problem otherwise.

One tip; get a meter taxi to and from the airport, it's about a quarter of the price of a limo and is only about 20-30 minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thuebeijing, Rachel Wu, Digital Marketing Manager at Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments and we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stays with us. We have also noted your comments on areas of improvements of our Café and would really like to hear more details from your perspective as a frequent visitor. We will be more than happy to hear from you via email (rachel.wu@tradershotels.com) and telephone (+86 10 5907 8301).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed as part of tour group. Wonderful experience. Room spacious, good amenities, breakfast excellent, nine varieties of bread plus rolls for breakfast. Also had a buffet dinner, nothing to complain. Swimming pool and sauna absolutely perfect to unwind after all day exploring. Staff wonderful will do anything to help. Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thuebeijing, Rachel Wu, Digital Marketing Manager at Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. Indeed, our wholesome & generous breakfast is one of the most applauded features among our guests. We are also happy to know that you had a relaxing time swimming. It was a great pleasure to have served you and we look forward to welcoming you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is a pretty nice hotel. If you want to be in a central location it's definitely not for you.
More importantly, the hotel staff was downright rude. My friend and I were woken up by construction very early in the morning for 2 straight days. We decided to complain and asked to be upgraded to a nicer room hopefully away from the noise. They said yes, which is customary for nicer hotels. We spent an hour packing our stuff to move it and find ourselves with an even smaller room! The manager at first defended herself and only after I told her I'd write a tripadvisor review apologized and offered to actually switch us. At that point we were too frustrated. Talk about taking advantage of two young girls. Definitely wouldn't recommend this place

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thuebeijing, Rachel Wu, Digital Marketing Manager at Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Rachel,
Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your last stay with us.

At the onset, please accept our sincere apology for the impact of our facade wall refurbishment project. Your comments will be a topic of discussion among the senior management team and actions have been taken to improve coordination with our project manager.

Rachel, please be rest assured that we strive to improve and we hope you can accord us another opportunity to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Was on a China tour and we stayed here. The rooms were large and comfortable. I would refer people here and I would stay here again... The restaurant and people bent over backwards to help you. It was a very good choice. it was Very nice and worth 5 stars

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thuebeijing, Rachel Wu, Digital Marketing Manager at Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments on our facilities and services. Your recognition will go a long way to encourage our team to strive for greater excellence. Please feel free to check out the latest offers and news on our hotel homepage for your next visit. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The buffet breakfast is quite good but it can get very busy as the restaurant is not big enough. I saw a couple being shown to a table and when they went to get their food their coffee was cleared off to seat another couple all within 5 mins. The staff is in a hurry to clear the tables for the next guest and much food and beverage is wasted. Seeing this I quickly left an uneaten croissant on a plate on my table together with some sushi. But alas, it was cleared too when I came back 3 mins later. I think the only way to keep your table is to leave a bag (without valuables) on the seat.

Traders is a very good hotel with comfortable rooms that come without bathtubs. Generally the staff perform with the usual efficiency. There is wifi in the lobby but not in the rooms. I think they are fixing this soon. The location is a little far from most things.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thuebeijing, Rachel Wu, Digital Marketing Manager, Traders Upper East Hotel, Beijing at Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Yew,

Thank you for pointing out some areas of improvement for breakfast at our All Day Dining. Our F&B Director has been informed & immediate actions have been taken to improve the dining experience. As to your comments on Internet access, we are pleased to inform you that Complimentary WIFI will be available in the entire hotel by the end of June this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Spent 4 nights at this hotel in March 2013. Rooms were comfortable and clean with modern amenities and a great hot shower! Front desk staff spoke English and were very helpful. Hotel did not have internet in rooms, free internet was available in lobby area, which was fine as lobby was very inviting and comfortable.

Breakfast was included every morning and I thought it was excellent with made to order eggs and a wide variety of Chinese and Western menu item.

Hotel is about 30 minutes to the Beijing airport and about 30 to 45 minutes to the Forbidden City.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thuebeijing, Rachel Wu, Digital Marketing Manager, Traders Upper East Hotel, Beijing at Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Complimentary broadband Internet is currently available in all rooms & you will be happy to know that complimentary WIFI will be available in the entire hotel by the end of June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing

Address: No.2 Dongsihuan North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100016, China (Formerly Traders Upper East Hotel,Beijing)
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Jiuxianqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing, the fifth hotel in Beijing by Shangri-La is well positioned between Lido Commercial Centre and Wang Jing Hi Tech Park, just 20 minutes from Beijing Capital International Airport and the new China International Exhibition Centre (CIEC). The hotel features 403 guestrooms and suites with superb views of the city and greenery views of Chaoyang Park and Side Park. The hotel's Grand Ballroom and 15 flexible meeting rooms are all fitted with the latest conferencing systems. The Grand Ballroom comfortably seats 400 in a conference and cocktail or 250 in a banquet, making it an ideal choice for MICE participants and delegations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.