We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great rooms, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing to your Saves list
Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2 Dongsihuan North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100016, China (Formerly Traders Upper East Hotel,Beijing) (Jiuxianqiao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great rooms, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Traders Upper East Hotel for six nights in February.

Location: very good. The area around the hotel is very quiet, it's not in the hustle and bustle of downtown Beijing. Quite the opposite. There are a good number of embassies in the areas which makes it pretty safe. There are also a number of nice cafes and restaurants within walking distance. A major attraction, about 20 minutes walk away, is the Art District. An absolute must.

Service: excellent, from the second we arrived at the hotel. The taxi driver had totally over-charged us so a person from the reception came out and helped us get part of our money back. Throughout the stay the personnel was extremely helpful and took their time answering all our questions. They were truly nice people there to help us.

Room: Good size. We had twin beds with some extra space around it. A small tv which we barely used. The shower was very enjoyable too with a good amount of pressure. View from the room was nothing to rave about but that's fine, we didn't really spend much time at the hotel. The bed was comfortable even though the mattress was pretty hard.

If you're looking to spend a couple of days in Beijing I'd recommend staying there. It's within driving distance from all the major attractions but at the same time you can enjoy a quiet walk right outside the hotel.

Bonus: no smoking anywhere in the hotel (as far as I could tell). That can't be said about other hotels in China.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thuebeijing, Rachel Wu, Digital Marketing Manager, Traders Upper East Hotel, Beijing at Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a comprehensive experience of your last stay with us. It was unfortunate that you were overcharged by the taxi driver, but we were happy to be able to assist you. Thank you for your compliments. Please let us know your next visit to Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    120
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
27
26
27
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

My home ns Beijing is just next to this hotel. I found the staff there was very helpful and efficient and they would like to help you even if you are not staying in this hotel.So highly recommended. Also I found out the price is very reasonable.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raseborg, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed at the hotel a couple times during some years. Great rooms and really nice breakfast. Pleasant service. Location a little bit off but convenient considering walking to my office. Would take the same hotel again if travelling in business.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is great - modern spacious and very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The spa is wonderful and the indoor pool and hot tub were great since we were there in Dec (winter). The breakfast buffet was fantastic, both American and Chinese options. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. We could see a highway from our window but never heard a peep. They had money exchange, very convenient. Great experience overall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, TX
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is very nice - modern and well appointed. Other reviews state it is away from many of the city attractions. I was part of a tour so this was not an issue for me. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet was excellent with both western and Chinese options. The bed was comfy and the room was clean. Only one small issue is they rejected many of my US bills because they had a small amount of ink on the edges. I did not have this problem at any other place but maybe Beijing banks are picky.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thuebeijing, Rachel Wu, Digital Marketing Manager, Traders Upper East Hotel, Beijing at Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your compliments on our room facilities and Food & Beverage services are most rewarding to us. Our hotel currency policy is in line with the rules and regulations set in China. As to your comments regarding our foreign exchange service, please do not hesitate to contact me directly with more details via telephone (86 10 5907 8301).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollentuna, Sweden
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is Traders hotel is a bit more modern than it's sister hotel in the business district. Check-in was great even though I arrived in the middle of the night. No problem to get my non-smoking room. Breakfast was very good. Solid business hotel. The location is close to the airport but a bit out from the city

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I were part of a Beijing 8-day group tour from 17 to 25 November 2012, and we have been arranged to stay at this Traders Upper East Hotel in Beijing.

The hotel is reasonably new and the facilities are good.
The room is spacious and very cleaned, and it was well kept and cleaned daily.
Our room is facing the main express way but it is absolutely not noisy as the window is double-glazed. And because of the double-glazed window, the room temperature was comfortable without heating and air-conditioning turned on all.
The beds are comfortable although the pillows are a little too soft.
The breakfasts are very good - a lot of varieties and very fresh.
The only issue we have faced is that the internet cannot be connected although we have been informed that the room is with free internet connection. Nevertheless, we have done our surfing through the free WiFi at the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thuebeijing, Rachel Wu, Digital Marketing Manager at Traders Upper East Hotel at Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience regarding your last stay with us.

You will be pleased to know that we have a pillow menu offering a choice of 4 different types of pillow. Please do not hesitate to contact me at rachel.wu@tradershotels.com for your next visit to Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing

Address: No.2 Dongsihuan North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100016, China (Formerly Traders Upper East Hotel,Beijing)
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Jiuxianqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing, the fifth hotel in Beijing by Shangri-La is well positioned between Lido Commercial Centre and Wang Jing Hi Tech Park, just 20 minutes from Beijing Capital International Airport and the new China International Exhibition Centre (CIEC). The hotel features 403 guestrooms and suites with superb views of the city and greenery views of Chaoyang Park and Side Park. The hotel's Grand Ballroom and 15 flexible meeting rooms are all fitted with the latest conferencing systems. The Grand Ballroom comfortably seats 400 in a conference and cocktail or 250 in a banquet, making it an ideal choice for MICE participants and delegations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jen Upper East Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.