We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard 7

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard 7 to your Saves list
Courtyard 7
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 5,465 Hotels in Beijing
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful old hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel oozes with old world charm! Located in the heart of one of Beijings hutongs, on a pedestrian only street. The hotel was clean and comfortable and our bed looked like one we later saw in a museum!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    160
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
67
247
36
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Courtyard 7 has been sympathetically converted from a traditional courtyard house, adding modern conveniences without destroying the character. Entering from the hustle and bustle of the street you find a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere in the courtyard. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant is fine, and there are plenty of nice bars, coffee shops and restaurants in the hutong streets outside.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Courtyard 7 for 4 nights in March 2015 and had a very good experience. We got a free upgrade to the Deluxe double room although we booked the standard double. The staff are very friendly and helpful and advise on how to best get to sights. The deco was in a Chinese traditional style and it was very clean. Even a socket adapter and an umbrella was provided in addition to all the other equipment you would expect in a hotel room. The area seems quite trendy and there are lots of shops, restaurants and bars in walking distance.

It is a bit of a walk to the nearest tube station but getting a cab is very easy at the next bigger road. The breakfast was generally European style and rather limited, but I guess still in accordance with the star rating.
Overall we had a very good time at the Courtyard 7 and we can definitely recommend it to other travellers.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

From the humble exterior, you would never suspect that a beautiful, spacious courtyard awaits inside. This historic building is the perfect place to enjoy a night in one of Beijing's greatest neighborhoods; it's only a couple of blocks from action-packed Luogo Alley, but you'll sleep soundly in Courtyard 7's peaceful environs. Rooms are small but nicely decorated and very clean. The breakfast is fantastic and they also offered free bike rental, which we took advantage of to explore the fascinating neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Centre of the traditional Hutong area, this amazing hotel ticks all the boxes. Friendly staff, modern facilities an attraction of its own. close to shops, bars and restaurants. Definitely worth staying.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdeburg, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Honestly at first I didn't know what to expect when I made a reservation. We were going on family vacation for the first time abroad. It was my father's dream to visit china. So in order to make an unforgettable journey I made every detail of our plan. I thought my father would like it. And I was right. Not just my dad, the whole family just love the classic ancient building and all the details. soon you walk through the gate, you feel like going through a time tunnel. everything so old and classic, but thanks God not the bathroom. they made new bathrooms for each room, still with classic touch but modern. when we arrived, it was actually snowing and cold with -1°C. But the room is unexpectedly really warm and we come from a tropical country. All the staffs are nice and helpful. They gave us breakfast package with so many things (sandwiches and fruits) on the last day because we need to check out at 7 o'clock in the morning. The best of all is the location. all along the street full with restaurants, caffe, snacks, shops till late at night. but don't worry, as soon as you are inside the hotel, you don't hear anything from the street. we were there for 4 days and not enough time to explore all the food that being sold along the street. and they all tasted good, hmm maybe beside the stinky tofu. I would definitely stay there again if I come to visit beijing again and this place is totally recommended. Thank you for the hospitality!!!

Room Tip: Standar room is a little bit small, not really good for big persons with big luggages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

We had a really wonderful stay at Courtyard 7. It's clearly a tourist attraction in and of itself because it has preserved the look and feel of the traditional old residences of hutongs. There were even a couple tour groups that came through during our stay (which wasn't disruptive at all). The location of the hotel is excellent. Nanluoguxiang alley is bustling day and night with activity and people nd is close to many major attractions. While it can feel a bit touristy, there really aren't any western chains (except one Starbucks) and there are lots of local establishments and business especially off the main drag.
The hotel is clean, comfortable and well maintained. The rooms aren't especially large but they have nice, spacious bathrooms and are well-appointed. The daily breakfast was really tasty and had lots of options including freshly prepared eggs, fruits, and salads as well as some meats and breads. The staff is very friendly and helpful and several of the employees spoke excellent English. They were able to answer any questions we had and we really enjoyed the dogs that also reside there. I would stay here again in an instant.
The only drawback to the hotel is that it can be loud at times due to the other guests. I'm sure it's because of the age of the place, but doors closing can be disruptive at night and the walls are a little thin if you have a neighbor who listens to TV really loudly. I cannot fault the establishment for this though, in the end it was worth it to stay in such a great place. Nanluoguxiang subway stop is just down the street and we had no problems arriving by subway with our bags. People with a lot of luggage may feel differently, but it's unlikely a taxi can drop you directly in the front because of the narrow alleys. Wifi signal was good and reliable.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard 7

Address: No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beijing
#12 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#15 Family Hotel in Beijing
#68 Business Hotel in Beijing
#311 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Courtyard 7 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard 7 is the first courtyard hotel in Beijing to adopt the Geothermal heat pump system.A typical quadrangle design, Courtyard 7 consists of three rows of courtyards, which occupies an area of 1800 square meters.In Courtyard 7, there are standard, suite, and side rooms. All rooms are bright and clean, private and quiet, and furnished with modern facilities, including telephone, cable TV, internet, etc.. King size flower-caved beds with all antique wooden furniture, modern and clean bathroom, make people not only enjoy their stay, but also can experience the precious and traditional culture of Beijing Si He Yuan. Courtyard 7 utilizes Geothermal heat pump and Solar energy environmental protection equipments to provide 24 hours heat, air condition, and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard 7 Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard 7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.