We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to get a taste of real China” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard 7

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard 7 to your Saves list
Courtyard 7
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 5,418 Hotels in Beijing
Cleethorpes
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great to get a taste of real China”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We went to Beijing from Hong Kong for a 3 night stay. This place is tucked away in the Hutongs, basically alleys.The Courtyard 7 is more traditional than the mainstream hotels, which is what we wanted. We had asked the hotel for their address printed in chinese to give to the taxi driver, which proved essential as it's not easy to find
The hotel service was excellent, and very helpful, some didn't have great english but did their utmost to understand and help.
We had an upgrade and the room had a lounge area and a sauna in the bathroom.
The hotel is having their whole courtyard area re- paved, which was a shame for not being able to take photos. The work didn't disturb us as we were out each day and they laid mats etc each night. The staff also emphasised that if anything was a problem to let them know and they would sort it out. The bed might be a bit hard for those who prefer to sink into the mattress and you have to access it from the foot.
WiFi was available, slightly slow but OK - I didn't realise that Facebook is blocked in Beijing. Breakfast was fine. The hotel is great for exploring the Hutongs with loads of different shops etc, which we did each night. The lanes are fine for walking with just an occasional car - but watch out for bikes both pedal and motor. A cab from the airport using the taxi rank cost us 75 rmb. There was a taxi driver touting at the airport wanting 700rmb, so beware. In general, taxis are cheap. We booked a taxi from the hotel to go back for 120rmb which guaranteed the time rather than flagging one down etc to make sure we got to the airport on time. We booked a Guide through Stretch-a-Leg for the 2 days we were there and they were great, sorted all transport, language, bookings, meals etc so we could relax and enjoy the site seeing. (Well recommended) - We visited Tiananmen Square, Forbidden Palace, Ancestral Temple, Temple of Heaven
Then on day 2 - Mutianyu Great Wall, Summer Palace.

Room Tip: All rooms are on ground floor and all areas seemed very quiet at night. Courtyard will be excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    146
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
226
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I read alot of reviews for something a little more traditional while in Beijing and after all the glowing reviews that this place received we gave it a try... and we werent disappointed!
Service was excellent, we were on the final leg of a round the world trip and had luggage proportional to the miles covered (we're big shoppers ;) ) and the girls at the front desk didnt hesitate to take them off our hands, even tho the cases were bigger and weighed more than they did!
Their english was more than adequate, the ones that werent were still very helpful and would grab an english speaker if they got stuck.
Rooms were on the smaller side but not uncomfortable and have modern bathroom facilities. Theres a selection of maps and tourist info you can peruse in your room or pay a couple bucks at reception for your own copy.
The hotel is located a little bit out of the way and is about a 20-30min walk to the nearest subway station but thanks to this and only having a small number of rooms it was very quiet.
The lane connects to S Luogu Alley which was a welcomed surprise(compared to all the junky markets) of boutique stores of clothing, souvenir, food and jewellery. I particularly liked the vintage tin toy shop ;)
S Luogu Alley is more of a pedastrian mall than a thoroughfare for cars, tho many attempt to navigate it at a snails pace. The lanes are flat and paved so if you get dropped out near a major road its an easy and short walk to the hotel.
A cab from Dongzhimen station (train from the airport stops here) shouldnt cost you more than $10-15 AU/US (70-100CNY). As you've probably read, there's alot of dodgy taxi drivers so dont be afraid to ask how much it will cost before hand. In general, taxis are cheap, so if youre not going long distances it shouldnt cost much at all.
Asking for a receipt, pointing to the fare rates (sticker on the rear side/window, if they dont have this sticker then keep walking!) or catching a cab from a manned hotel or shopping center cab rank will also help get you regular uninflated rates.
If you feel something isnt quite right with the driver or if theyre being too pushy, just walk away, they'll simply turn their attention to the next person but if you do get into a disagreement, remember "zéi" or "dào zéi" means thief/robber ;)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

At the moment the hotel is under construction (until 31st of May). They renew the ground of the yard. That means there are a lot of workers. The rooms are all on the ground level and one site of the room is a window. The builder work direct in front of these window. It is a bit awkwade and you feel like you are sitting in a showcase. They work the whole day, even at the weekend. So you can not sit in the yard and enjoy because it is to noisy and dusty. The room is very comfortable (standard room) and the bathroom is big. In my opinion the room is looks traditional. The furniture is mostly out of wood and look a bit antique. The bed is a canopy bed and a bit hard because the mattress is a bit thin. The breakfast doesn´t fit to the rest of the hotel because the hotel is authentic and the breakfast is international standard (or a bit lower). A real chinese breakfast would be far better. The service of the hotel is excellent and the staff is friendly. The location of the hotel is in a nice quarter with a lot of little shops, bars and restaurants. But they are very touristy. The underground station is a bit far to walk but you can use a cap. If you are familiar with the chinese trafic system you can use the bus. A station is approximately 750 meter from the hotel and very cheap (1 Rmb per ride). You can not reach the hotel by cap because arround the hotel are cars not permitted. You have to walk arround 500 meter to the hotel. That could be a bit difficult because in the evening the streats are very crowed (espacially at the weekend). I can recommend the massage. The guy comes to your room and you can enjoy. The price is about 180 RMB per hour.

My over all rating would be better without construction work. I complained about the situation and they refunded the whole (!) amount. That is just an awesome service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyard7, Front Office Manager at Courtyard 7, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest
First, thank you for staying at Courtyard 7 and thank you for your affirmation on our service.
We apologize again for the construction during your stay.
Our hotel was informed by the Government to repair the ground just a few days before the construction began. As the rainy season is coming, so this time we would only repair the ground of the courtyard.
We try our best to inform every guest who will stay at our hotel. Since you booked the room via online travel agency, we didn’t receive your contact information, so we can’t inform you on time. However, we have already put the announcement on our website, and informed all the travel agencies. During your stay, we suggested that you change another hotel because the construction affected the view of courtyard. And we would give you a full refund and we will arrange a car to take you to the new hotel. But you refused to change hotel and insist on staying at our hotel. We appreciate that you like our hotel so much. However, considering the effect on your living condition, we promised that we gave you a full refund and you could stay at our hotel for free.. in order to express our sincerity, we went to the bank to change the money to Euros to you according to your request and we afford all the loss because of the differential in rates.
Our courtyard has over 400 years' history, and now it is a site to be protected by the Government. The Government repairs the ground in order to provide a better environment. During the construction, all the guests gave us strong understanding and support and we hope you can give more understanding to us. Now the construction is almost finished, and on 10th,April, German Minister of Justice Ms Sabine Leutheusser-Schnarrenberger came to visit our courtyard.
Courtyard 7 always puts the service on the first. we will try our best to offer better service and better environment to you. Welcome to our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked a double room for 4 nights via an online agency with a 100% non-refundable policy - no cancellations and no changes. This was clear and understood when we booked, but we did not anticipate visa problems, but unfortunately, with only 3 days to go, it became clear that my Chinese visa would not be ready in time.

Out of courtesy, I emailed the hotel to advise that we would not be arriving, but not expecting them to waiver from the policy that I had agreed to, To my surprise they replied very quickly and offered to waive the cost of the last 3 nights. They had already processed the booking so charged for night 1, but I had no actually expected any refund so was immensely grateful for their gesture. I will definitely book with them again - after I secure my visa!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent a week here in January. This hotel is in an amazing location, the rooms are big and clean and the staff are exceptional. There aren't many rooms and they all lead onto a courtyard. I would highly recommend people to stay at this hotel for a unique experience of Beijing. Just be aware when you book this hotel make sure you take really good screen shots of the location of the hotel because taxi drivers from the airport may have difficulty finding it. Alternatively make sure you have the receptions phone number in case the taxi driver needs to call.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Compare to any 5 stars luxurious hotel, the (name of the hotel) is more luxurious. What makes him unique is not is sea vie, big bedrooms. What makes it unique is its originality. It is setup in authentic court yard Chinese house from the 19th century. All the details of the hotel fit into this theme. There aren't many rooms, so the staff know your name. To make it feel more like a family, they have dogs you can pet. The rooms are well design and the furniture is of Chinese style. The breakfast is really delicious. The whole staff is attentive to your needs. It made my trio to Beijing a true Chinese experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights and we were very pleased. This hotel makes you feel like you are in China, much better for us then a steel and glass tower.

The rooms were very comfy and so darn quiet at night. Not much room for unpacking, but who cares when you are out and about all day anyway? The staff was very helpful, the breakfast fueled us for long days roaming Beijing.

The best part was the proximity to the alley where it seems all of the young folks of Beijing come to eat, shop and stroll. Our favorite evening activity was trying all the cheap street food that was just steps away. Of course there are plenty of sit down places as well.

These Hutongs are disappearing rapidly as the city is constantly reinventing itself. Come and take advantage of the opportunity to experience one for yourself!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard 7

Address: No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beijing
#12 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#23 Family Hotel in Beijing
#54 Business Hotel in Beijing
#259 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Courtyard 7 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard 7 is the first courtyard hotel in Beijing to adopt the Geothermal heat pump system.A typical quadrangle design, Courtyard 7 consists of three rows of courtyards, which occupies an area of 1800 square meters.In Courtyard 7, there are standard, suite, and side rooms. All rooms are bright and clean, private and quiet, and furnished with modern facilities, including telephone, cable TV, internet, etc.. King size flower-caved beds with all antique wooden furniture, modern and clean bathroom, make people not only enjoy their stay, but also can experience the precious and traditional culture of Beijing Si He Yuan. Courtyard 7 utilizes Geothermal heat pump and Solar energy environmental protection equipments to provide 24 hours heat, air condition, and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard 7 Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard 7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.