We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great look into the courtyards of Dongcheng, Beijing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard 7

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard 7 to your Saves list
Courtyard 7
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 5,435 Hotels in Beijing
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A great look into the courtyards of Dongcheng, Beijing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Thanks to Booking.com we got a great deal on a great hotel. My wife is reading the book "Empress Orchid" by Anchee Min. The character is set as a member of the concubine during the Qin Dynasty. The refurbished courtyard and building at the Courtyard 7 provide a magnificent glimpse into the past. The detail in restoring the courtyard and surroundings is complete to the last detail. The one update is a geothermal heating system to heat the rooms (really nice so you don't freeze).

We were there on a very cold weekend. It is a short walk to the Drum and Bell Towers. It is just steps from Nanlougu Xiang where everybody in the world wants to be! My wife and I were delighted to see the activities near Hou Hai. Lake Qianhai was frozen and thousands of people were on the ice. Sliding, skating and singing provide a great deal of delight for us and thousands of others.

The staff is friendly and breakfast, included, was great. Check in is at 1:00PM and check out was at 12:00. I am not sure how they do this but it was nice to get close to 24 hours out of a one-night stay. The rooms have a canopy-style bed and the design matches the periods of Chinese past. Postcards are available around the corner and the front desk has cool stamps if you want to send a card.

As another reviewer stated it is a very quiet place. It is hard to see how it can be so quiet in the middle of the city. This would be a great place to rent the hotel and use the courtyard for a wedding or family reunion. A text from the hotel reviewing "100 Courtyards in Dongcheng" is complementary. I will definitely recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: The room price is based on the number of occupants. Only two of us so we had a smaller room which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    159
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
64
240
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, bc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights here in Oct/12 and were delighted with it. We had a superior room looking onto the courtyard. The food in the restaurant was very good and it was very quiet. Being husky lovers, we especially enjoyed the 2 resident ones. However, if you're not comfortable with them, they can be kept in an office.
It is located SE of the Drum and Bell Towers and about a mile north of the Forbidden City so it's easy to walk there. We had been to sites like it before so we enjoyed being able to walk to numerous other sites like the Confucian Temple and the Old Observatory. It's location definitely enhanced our enjoyment of Beijing. It is also near the subway which we didn't use and has easy access to the airport freeway.
The staff are friendly and have enough English to be helpful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at Courtyard 7 for 4 nights with my husband. I really loved our stay here. The service was fantastic, the staff were very helpful and most spoke very good English which helped. They were able to organise various tours, drivers, etc if you wanted them however they were not pushy about you using their services.

The rooms were excellent with heated floors (very handy when you visit Beijing in the middle of winter!) and the rooms themselves were warm and clean. The bathrooms were spacious, there was good hot water and the wifi worked well. I really enjoyed the breakfast, which was included in the price, but didn't eat in the actual restaurant. The hotel is in an excellent location, right off a fun and interesting hutong, and is a short walk to a train station.

I loved this place and would recommend it to all people coming to Beijing. It has a lovely feel and was a real highlight of the time in the city.

Room Tip: We stayed in the most basic room but rooms closer to the reception area are bigger I believe. The ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Everything, from the heated room floors to the delicious breakfast was perfect at this hotel! Stayed with my daughter in December 2012 in room 11 and loved it! Excellent location, walk to everything and easy to cab! Felt like a haven at the end of hectic days! Service was a breeze! Would only stay here when I return to Beijing!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

If you loves Chinese history especially the Hutong and likes courtyard style accommodation the. Courtyard 7 provide the best and it is the best hutong in Beijing which is the Nanlouguxian. The staff is very friendly and it felt like a home stay. During winter, the floor in the room is even heated up. However, it is a bit far from subway but that's why you need to navigate the hutong where it is so much fun.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed at Courtyard 7 for 8 nights in late October. Previous reviews on Tripadvisor are, on the whole, accurate so I do not need to repeat them. Returning "home" after each day in busy, noisy Beijing was indeed a pleasure. Only a few steps from the exciting Nanluoguxiang Hutong, the hotel is so very quiet and secure. I was traveling alone and stayed in a standard room, number 23, at the rear of the hotel. This room was tiny even by my generous standards. However it suited me fine and was comfortable to stay in. It does boast its own private little courtyard which was a bonus. A couple or "larger' people will find this room cramped, with little room for luggage and moving around.
The location is great and it is about a 30 minute walk from a couple of tube stations. This may be a challenge for some in the winter. I suggest purchasing a YIKATONG bus/train pass. This is similar to a London Oyster Card and saves a lot of time at the busy stations. A card costs 20 Yuan (deposit) and is very easy to use. I put 50 Yuan on the card and after using it extensively for a week on both trains and buses, came away with 10 Yuan plus my 20 deposit. A cheap way to travel!
Overall, Courtyard 7 is quiet, in a great location and has friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

OK...finding the hotel was a challenge but worth the hunt! Great property, location, and staff. Great area to wander, shop, and eat among the locals. There is easy access via taxi, subway, and bus to see everything in and around Beijing. Now for the directions...have the taxi driver drop you off at the small T intersection at Goulau East Street and Nanluoguxiang Alley. Walk South on Nanluoguxiang and make a right onto Qiangulouyuan Lane (there is a Courtyard 7 sign in English) and the entrance is about 25 meters ahead on the right. Ask the hotel to write the taxi drop off spot in Mandarin for the taxi driver before you arrive at the Beijing airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard 7

Address: No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beijing
#12 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#18 Family Hotel in Beijing
#61 Business Hotel in Beijing
#280 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Courtyard 7 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard 7 is the first courtyard hotel in Beijing to adopt the Geothermal heat pump system.A typical quadrangle design, Courtyard 7 consists of three rows of courtyards, which occupies an area of 1800 square meters.In Courtyard 7, there are standard, suite, and side rooms. All rooms are bright and clean, private and quiet, and furnished with modern facilities, including telephone, cable TV, internet, etc.. King size flower-caved beds with all antique wooden furniture, modern and clean bathroom, make people not only enjoy their stay, but also can experience the precious and traditional culture of Beijing Si He Yuan. Courtyard 7 utilizes Geothermal heat pump and Solar energy environmental protection equipments to provide 24 hours heat, air condition, and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard 7 Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard 7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.