We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Traditional Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard 7

Save Saved
You added Courtyard 7 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard 7
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 4,968 hotels in Beijing
PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Traditional Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

OK...finding the hotel was a challenge but worth the hunt! Great property, location, and staff. Great area to wander, shop, and eat among the locals. There is easy access via taxi, subway, and bus to see everything in and around Beijing. Now for the directions...have the taxi driver drop you off at the small T intersection at Goulau East Street and Nanluoguxiang Alley. Walk South on Nanluoguxiang and make a right onto Qiangulouyuan Lane (there is a Courtyard 7 sign in English) and the entrance is about 25 meters ahead on the right. Ask the hotel to write the taxi drop off spot in Mandarin for the taxi driver before you arrive at the Beijing airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    132
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
192
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My family of 4 stayed here from 30 Nov - 4 Dec.

We were unable to squeeze all four into a room and hence we booked two deluxe room. I booked the rooms via hotels.com which did seem to give a better rate than booking directly from Courtyard 7. We requested for the rooms to be next to each other and the hotel staff were very accomodative, and it was wonderful that we did have the 2 rooms within the main house. We loved that the place was traditional and yet the modern amenties were all readily available. The heated flooring was a really a much appreciated feature to have during winter. As we had chosen the deluxe room, we did not have any complaints about the size, it was a good size and the high ceiling did make it seemed more spacious. The only complaint we have about the room will be the lighting which were rather dim, and the placement of the lamp did make certain corner to be very dark.

Its' location is good as it is situated along a shopping street. We had no problems looking for food/snacks just outside the hotel. It was lovely and convenient for us to shop along the street when we returned every night after our day trip. However its' location to the nearest subway is a little distance away. To/from the nearest subway during winter is a challenge for us but fortunately we had drivers picking us during the first 2 days and hence it did cutdown our walking effort.

The staff at the front desk were helpful and friendly. Upon checking-in, they provided us a local map which was very useful to us.

The breakfast was only do-able. After a few days, you might find it a little boring. However, it did fill our stomach to start-off our day. If not, finding food around in Beijing should not be an issue at all.

We had a wonderful experience here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent a week there in december 2012. The rooms are cozy and traditional-looking (we had a heated floor, excellent for the winter). The staff was very very helpful for all the questions we had (food/restaurant reservations, directions, taxi/tours to the great wall, shopping, attractions) and speak a good level of english for this part of the world. The hotel is located in a "hutong" neighborhood, right next to a market street that has lots of shops and vendors and close to many of the top-rated tripadvisor restaurants (black sesame kitchen (5 min walk), dali courthouse (10 min walk), Saveurs de Corée (2 min walk), DaDong Duck (20 min bike). Many of the city's top attractions are very close alos.
Even if the hotel is in a busy area, the place is very quiet.
The hotel lends bicycles if you can handle the Beijing traffic and want to move fast.
Breakfast (mix of western and traditional food) is included. Not a big selection, but just enough to get around.
The taxis cannot enter the "hutong" because it has such small streets.
The closest metro is Beixinqiao and is about 15/20 minute walk.

Overall great experience, would recommend and come back.

Room Tip: Pick a room that opens on the courtyard if you want more light. The back rooms are a bit darker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed several times this year — our favourite place in Beijing. Staff are efficient, relaxed and friendly. Rooms delightful. Good breakfast. Good location off Nanluogu xiang. Only demerit — the slow wifi. This needs to be improved.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Visiting Beijing, as a tourist you owe it to yourself to visit this hotel for a few nights, it's a gem, if a little difficult to get to by taxi.
Situated in the middle of the hutong part of Beijing, this traditional courtyard dwelling has been tastefully turned into a small and very comfortable hotel. It's not difficult to find, but be prepared to walk or take a rickshaw as the normal taxis can't, or more truthfully won't enter this district. Not due to anything you should worry about, just the streets are small and often crowded so driving is difficult.
The hotel is comfortable and pretty traditional, the decoration fits the hutong style and the rooms are compact but well fitted, the bathrooms are excellent. From the outside you'll wonder what you are in for, from the inside the staff are warm and friendly, they can't do enough for you and they speak pretty good english too. Through reception is the first courtyard with restaurant and bar to one side, immaculate toilets to the end(been to China? You'll understand the importance of this once you have) and then a secure gate allows you through to the two traditional, spacious and quiet courtyards which are well laid out for summer use with seats and tables. Off these are the rooms, with modern electronic locks, though security here is never and issue.
Each room, some with private courtyards too, has a traditional four poster bed, which can be a little hard for some, tiled floors which are heated, air conditioning, fridge, coffee tray, guides, complimentary water, and somewhat old but functional phone system. On the whole very comfortable, but a little cold in the midst of winter.
The bathrooms are modern with lots of tiles and wood. Well laid out, everything you need including shaver points, hair dryers, comfy robes, towels, flushing European WC, and large shower with heat lamps and lashings of hot water generated via a ground source heat pump system... Green credentials too at Courtyard 7.
Food is provided via a small restaurant and bar. I never ate in the evening, preferring street food and local restaurants which are many and excellent value. The breakfast is comprehensive, fresh fruit, meats and cheeses, cooked (sometimes cold) and also fresh cooked eggs and omlettes. Cereal, coffee, tea and fruit juices are also included, so you won't go hungry in the morning. Service is good and friendly. In the evenings the bar is pretty well stocked and prices very reasonable, but there are plenty of small bars and tea shops close by too worthy of a try.
Within 2 minutes you are in the heart of the local tourist street and there is plenty to see and buy. Its a little tacky in places, but for the most part good fun and great to people watch and explore. Good bargains can be found, but if you really want to bargain hunt try else where. We tried a number of street food outlets and never suffered, plus even though it can be very busy at the weekend, we never felt unsafe, China and particularly here is tourist friendly if you obey the normal rules.
The hotel can offer trips to the Great wall and Ming tombs, via a private car and driver. Worthy every yuan, they take you in comfort to the wall, water included, and the tombs over about 8 hours for 150yuan per person. Easy to arrange and charged to your bill.
All in all a gem of a hotel if your prepared to venture from the centre and big corporate hotel chains. Give it a try!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

As other people say, peaceful and quiet no matter how noisy the surrounding might be . Breakfast is very good and it might be your best meal of the day, since finding a reasonably good food in Beijing is a challenge. Bathroom is very nice and modern. Furniture is traditional, but not practical for storing your suitcase content. Sitting outside of your room is very relaxing and generally most of the time the courtyard is very quiet. Good place to stay, if you want to explore Hutongs area on foot or by bicycle. Overall a very good place. Make sure that you have the address of the hotel in Chinese, many taxis have no idea where it is. In vicinity are two atractions Drum and Bell Towers, about 15 minutes walk. Forbidden City and some gardens are still reasonably within the walking distance. 30-45 minutes.

Room Tip: Standard room are small, do not unpack your suitcase. No place for your personal stuff. Taxi can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon - they had put flowers and fresh fruit in our room which was a nice touch. English is spoken well and they booked train tickets for us whilst we stayed there and advised us which were the best to get. Breakfast was good compared to other places we stayed in China.
We stayed in one of the more expensive rooms on the courtyard. The only minor niggle was that the bathroom wasn't sufficiently ventilated and smelt a bit musty. We did ask if the heating could be turned on but were told it wasn't turned on until November (think this may be a Beijing thing rather than the hotel itself). A heated towel rail in the bathrooms would be a good addition.
Location is really good for exploring the hutongs and bell tower. We managed to walk from here to the Forbidden City but it was along a main road so not the nicest walk.
It is about a 15 minute walk to all of the restaurants on Ghost Street where we went every night.
After reading about difficulties finding the hotel we asked them to arrange an airport pick-up which, whilst expensive, means that you're not stressing about finding the place after a long flight.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard 7

Also Known As:
Courtyard 7 Hotel
Courtyard 7 Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel 7
Address: No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beijing
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#16 Family Hotel in Beijing
#43 Business Hotel in Beijing
#314 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Courtyard 7 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard 7 is the first courtyard hotel in Beijing to adopt the Geothermal heat pump system.A typical quadrangle design, Courtyard 7 consists of three rows of courtyards, which occupies an area of 1800 square meters.In Courtyard 7, there are standard, suite, and side rooms. All rooms are bright and clean, private and quiet, and furnished with modern facilities, including telephone, cable TV, internet, etc.. King size flower-caved beds with all antique wooden furniture, modern and clean bathroom, make people not only enjoy their stay, but also can experience the precious and traditional culture of Beijing Si He Yuan. Courtyard 7 utilizes Geothermal heat pump and Solar energy environmental protection equipments to provide 24 hours heat, air condition, and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Ctrip DaoDao, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your Courtyard 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard 7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.