We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem amongst hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard 7

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard 7 to your Saves list
Courtyard 7
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 5,488 Hotels in Beijing
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A gem amongst hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Visiting Beijing, as a tourist you owe it to yourself to visit this hotel for a few nights, it's a gem, if a little difficult to get to by taxi.
Situated in the middle of the hutong part of Beijing, this traditional courtyard dwelling has been tastefully turned into a small and very comfortable hotel. It's not difficult to find, but be prepared to walk or take a rickshaw as the normal taxis can't, or more truthfully won't enter this district. Not due to anything you should worry about, just the streets are small and often crowded so driving is difficult.
The hotel is comfortable and pretty traditional, the decoration fits the hutong style and the rooms are compact but well fitted, the bathrooms are excellent. From the outside you'll wonder what you are in for, from the inside the staff are warm and friendly, they can't do enough for you and they speak pretty good english too. Through reception is the first courtyard with restaurant and bar to one side, immaculate toilets to the end(been to China? You'll understand the importance of this once you have) and then a secure gate allows you through to the two traditional, spacious and quiet courtyards which are well laid out for summer use with seats and tables. Off these are the rooms, with modern electronic locks, though security here is never and issue.
Each room, some with private courtyards too, has a traditional four poster bed, which can be a little hard for some, tiled floors which are heated, air conditioning, fridge, coffee tray, guides, complimentary water, and somewhat old but functional phone system. On the whole very comfortable, but a little cold in the midst of winter.
The bathrooms are modern with lots of tiles and wood. Well laid out, everything you need including shaver points, hair dryers, comfy robes, towels, flushing European WC, and large shower with heat lamps and lashings of hot water generated via a ground source heat pump system... Green credentials too at Courtyard 7.
Food is provided via a small restaurant and bar. I never ate in the evening, preferring street food and local restaurants which are many and excellent value. The breakfast is comprehensive, fresh fruit, meats and cheeses, cooked (sometimes cold) and also fresh cooked eggs and omlettes. Cereal, coffee, tea and fruit juices are also included, so you won't go hungry in the morning. Service is good and friendly. In the evenings the bar is pretty well stocked and prices very reasonable, but there are plenty of small bars and tea shops close by too worthy of a try.
Within 2 minutes you are in the heart of the local tourist street and there is plenty to see and buy. Its a little tacky in places, but for the most part good fun and great to people watch and explore. Good bargains can be found, but if you really want to bargain hunt try else where. We tried a number of street food outlets and never suffered, plus even though it can be very busy at the weekend, we never felt unsafe, China and particularly here is tourist friendly if you obey the normal rules.
The hotel can offer trips to the Great wall and Ming tombs, via a private car and driver. Worthy every yuan, they take you in comfort to the wall, water included, and the tombs over about 8 hours for 150yuan per person. Easy to arrange and charged to your bill.
All in all a gem of a hotel if your prepared to venture from the centre and big corporate hotel chains. Give it a try!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    172
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
72
266
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

As other people say, peaceful and quiet no matter how noisy the surrounding might be . Breakfast is very good and it might be your best meal of the day, since finding a reasonably good food in Beijing is a challenge. Bathroom is very nice and modern. Furniture is traditional, but not practical for storing your suitcase content. Sitting outside of your room is very relaxing and generally most of the time the courtyard is very quiet. Good place to stay, if you want to explore Hutongs area on foot or by bicycle. Overall a very good place. Make sure that you have the address of the hotel in Chinese, many taxis have no idea where it is. In vicinity are two atractions Drum and Bell Towers, about 15 minutes walk. Forbidden City and some gardens are still reasonably within the walking distance. 30-45 minutes.

Room Tip: Standard room are small, do not unpack your suitcase. No place for your personal stuff. Taxi can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon - they had put flowers and fresh fruit in our room which was a nice touch. English is spoken well and they booked train tickets for us whilst we stayed there and advised us which were the best to get. Breakfast was good compared to other places we stayed in China.
We stayed in one of the more expensive rooms on the courtyard. The only minor niggle was that the bathroom wasn't sufficiently ventilated and smelt a bit musty. We did ask if the heating could be turned on but were told it wasn't turned on until November (think this may be a Beijing thing rather than the hotel itself). A heated towel rail in the bathrooms would be a good addition.
Location is really good for exploring the hutongs and bell tower. We managed to walk from here to the Forbidden City but it was along a main road so not the nicest walk.
It is about a 15 minute walk to all of the restaurants on Ghost Street where we went every night.
After reading about difficulties finding the hotel we asked them to arrange an airport pick-up which, whilst expensive, means that you're not stressing about finding the place after a long flight.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is like an old chinese mansion. The staff is more than helpfull. They make all the difference while staying here. As many of the other reviews taxis don't drop you off at the door but the walk is great through Hutong style street filled with shops and locals walking around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed in 2 rooms with my family over Chinese National Day. The hutong is by far the best way to experience Beijing and enjoy the many walks in the hutong area, and visit nearby attractions. Rooms are lovely. Great breakfast and service, for China - at the very least, everyone speaks passable English. A word of warning to people travelling with kids - there are 2 resident dogs and a child (not ours!) was bitten while we were there. The owners will remove the dogs and lock them up on request.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in one of the double rooms for a Chinese New Years eve. We wanted to stay in the city close to all the action. This Great hutong hotel is just of Nan. Lu. GuXian and even though outside it was like small war zone (with all the fireworks!) the hutong hotel was quiet and peaceful.

The service was great, the rooms modern, clean and comfortable and the bathroom was lovely! All in all a lovely stay. The Staff at the hotel gave us a great directions and instructions to help us get to the temple fair the next day. All in all an excellent experience.

Chinese New Year In Beijing is awesome - Absolute mahem - fireworks everyone and just a generally more chilled out feeling than normal. I highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am still at Courtayrd 7 on a 5 night stay as part of a china holiday as i write review. Only have 1 night remaining. I will always remember this place. Originally i was going to book a big chain hotel near Wangfujing and pay triple $. However, based on TA member reviews and a desire for a more special experience in this ancient city i went for CY7 instead. Thankyou TA. It has been truly a amazing experience including an early snow drop which was magical for me. It was raining one day and then woke the next morning at 6:30am to look outside to check weather and see the courtyard covered in white snow!

Anyway on to the practical stuff:

Getting there - I had a transfer pre-organised from travel agent so had no troubles getting to hotel. However if you are relying on taxi they may have trouble unless very familar and English is very rare in China so don't come with the idea that you will be understood. The hotel can organise transfers so a good idea to do this.

Room - ideal for 1 person or a couple. Small rooms but nicely/tastefully decorated and clean. Bed firm but not uncomfortable. Basically a futon on top of a firmer base on top of a wooden frame. Linen soft and pillows very comfortable and cosy. Amenties well provided. Hairdryer, tolieteries (shower caps, body wash, razors, soaps ect). Slippers. Kettle with coffee, tea and 2 bottles of water replenished daily. No fridge but they can supply ice in ice bucket free if needed. Bathroom modern and spacious. Heavy curtains so no light pouring through so good for sleeping. TV but only CNN as english speaking channel.

Food - small room available for all 3 meals of the day if you want plus bar service. I only did breakfast. Small setup but more then adequate i feel and nicer then those horrible large buffets. Options included cereral, bread for toast and jam. Cheeses and cold items. Eggs made to order and other hot food including bacon, sausage, hash browns. Juices and quite decent hot coffee. Dining room is small and very pleasant.

Service- Friendly and helpful. Rooms serviced daily. Reception staff have good english and always smile and say hello. They can also organise drivers or guides for you. I used their driver to go out to great wall at Mutianyu section. Was ideal for me as not cattle coach bus experience! driver picked me up at the time i choose and then waited for me at the parking area until i was ready to leave and brought me back to hotel. Perfect. Recommend this option for more independent style travellers. Lots of information provided in room about city including a great map. I already had one but abandoned that for the hotel one as it was very detailed and showed you exactly where CY7 was in relation to everything else. it was great. Free Wifi in rooms.

Location - In Dongcheng area. Very cool and has so much character.It is like the beijing version of St germain in Paris. Cool but not pretentious and old and fun. The Alleyways are so full of life. If you head down to the area with all the big chain hotels you will soon notice the difference. The atmosphere in this area is probably what you dreamed about when coming to Beijing. It will Take you about 25 minutes to walk to the subway line 5 from hotel which will take you to most of the major sites. Very easy.

My only dissappointment was the 2 huskies that live here were off in another courtyard so i didn't get to meet them as i was looking forward to that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#4 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 812 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#8 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#19 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 2,240 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard 7

Address: No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beijing
#16 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#19 Family Hotel in Beijing
#70 Business Hotel in Beijing
#285 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Courtyard 7 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard 7 is the first courtyard hotel in Beijing to adopt the Geothermal heat pump system.A typical quadrangle design, Courtyard 7 consists of three rows of courtyards, which occupies an area of 1800 square meters.In Courtyard 7, there are standard, suite, and side rooms. All rooms are bright and clean, private and quiet, and furnished with modern facilities, including telephone, cable TV, internet, etc.. King size flower-caved beds with all antique wooden furniture, modern and clean bathroom, make people not only enjoy their stay, but also can experience the precious and traditional culture of Beijing Si He Yuan. Courtyard 7 utilizes Geothermal heat pump and Solar energy environmental protection equipments to provide 24 hours heat, air condition, and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard 7 Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard 7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.