We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, traditional atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard 7

Save Saved
You added Courtyard 7 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard 7
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 5,311 hotels in Beijing
Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“Relaxing, traditional atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

As other people say, peaceful and quiet no matter how noisy the surrounding might be . Breakfast is very good and it might be your best meal of the day, since finding a reasonably good food in Beijing is a challenge. Bathroom is very nice and modern. Furniture is traditional, but not practical for storing your suitcase content. Sitting outside of your room is very relaxing and generally most of the time the courtyard is very quiet. Good place to stay, if you want to explore Hutongs area on foot or by bicycle. Overall a very good place. Make sure that you have the address of the hotel in Chinese, many taxis have no idea where it is. In vicinity are two atractions Drum and Bell Towers, about 15 minutes walk. Forbidden City and some gardens are still reasonably within the walking distance. 30-45 minutes.

Room Tip: Standard room are small, do not unpack your suitcase. No place for your personal stuff. Taxi can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    287
    142
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
213
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon - they had put flowers and fresh fruit in our room which was a nice touch. English is spoken well and they booked train tickets for us whilst we stayed there and advised us which were the best to get. Breakfast was good compared to other places we stayed in China.
We stayed in one of the more expensive rooms on the courtyard. The only minor niggle was that the bathroom wasn't sufficiently ventilated and smelt a bit musty. We did ask if the heating could be turned on but were told it wasn't turned on until November (think this may be a Beijing thing rather than the hotel itself). A heated towel rail in the bathrooms would be a good addition.
Location is really good for exploring the hutongs and bell tower. We managed to walk from here to the Forbidden City but it was along a main road so not the nicest walk.
It is about a 15 minute walk to all of the restaurants on Ghost Street where we went every night.
After reading about difficulties finding the hotel we asked them to arrange an airport pick-up which, whilst expensive, means that you're not stressing about finding the place after a long flight.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is like an old chinese mansion. The staff is more than helpfull. They make all the difference while staying here. As many of the other reviews taxis don't drop you off at the door but the walk is great through Hutong style street filled with shops and locals walking around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi Sydney Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed in 2 rooms with my family over Chinese National Day. The hutong is by far the best way to experience Beijing and enjoy the many walks in the hutong area, and visit nearby attractions. Rooms are lovely. Great breakfast and service, for China - at the very least, everyone speaks passable English. A word of warning to people travelling with kids - there are 2 resident dogs and a child (not ours!) was bitten while we were there. The owners will remove the dogs and lock them up on request.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in one of the double rooms for a Chinese New Years eve. We wanted to stay in the city close to all the action. This Great hutong hotel is just of Nan. Lu. GuXian and even though outside it was like small war zone (with all the fireworks!) the hutong hotel was quiet and peaceful.

The service was great, the rooms modern, clean and comfortable and the bathroom was lovely! All in all a lovely stay. The Staff at the hotel gave us a great directions and instructions to help us get to the temple fair the next day. All in all an excellent experience.

Chinese New Year In Beijing is awesome - Absolute mahem - fireworks everyone and just a generally more chilled out feeling than normal. I highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am still at Courtayrd 7 on a 5 night stay as part of a china holiday as i write review. Only have 1 night remaining. I will always remember this place. Originally i was going to book a big chain hotel near Wangfujing and pay triple $. However, based on TA member reviews and a desire for a more special experience in this ancient city i went for CY7 instead. Thankyou TA. It has been truly a amazing experience including an early snow drop which was magical for me. It was raining one day and then woke the next morning at 6:30am to look outside to check weather and see the courtyard covered in white snow!

Anyway on to the practical stuff:

Getting there - I had a transfer pre-organised from travel agent so had no troubles getting to hotel. However if you are relying on taxi they may have trouble unless very familar and English is very rare in China so don't come with the idea that you will be understood. The hotel can organise transfers so a good idea to do this.

Room - ideal for 1 person or a couple. Small rooms but nicely/tastefully decorated and clean. Bed firm but not uncomfortable. Basically a futon on top of a firmer base on top of a wooden frame. Linen soft and pillows very comfortable and cosy. Amenties well provided. Hairdryer, tolieteries (shower caps, body wash, razors, soaps ect). Slippers. Kettle with coffee, tea and 2 bottles of water replenished daily. No fridge but they can supply ice in ice bucket free if needed. Bathroom modern and spacious. Heavy curtains so no light pouring through so good for sleeping. TV but only CNN as english speaking channel.

Food - small room available for all 3 meals of the day if you want plus bar service. I only did breakfast. Small setup but more then adequate i feel and nicer then those horrible large buffets. Options included cereral, bread for toast and jam. Cheeses and cold items. Eggs made to order and other hot food including bacon, sausage, hash browns. Juices and quite decent hot coffee. Dining room is small and very pleasant.

Service- Friendly and helpful. Rooms serviced daily. Reception staff have good english and always smile and say hello. They can also organise drivers or guides for you. I used their driver to go out to great wall at Mutianyu section. Was ideal for me as not cattle coach bus experience! driver picked me up at the time i choose and then waited for me at the parking area until i was ready to leave and brought me back to hotel. Perfect. Recommend this option for more independent style travellers. Lots of information provided in room about city including a great map. I already had one but abandoned that for the hotel one as it was very detailed and showed you exactly where CY7 was in relation to everything else. it was great. Free Wifi in rooms.

Location - In Dongcheng area. Very cool and has so much character.It is like the beijing version of St germain in Paris. Cool but not pretentious and old and fun. The Alleyways are so full of life. If you head down to the area with all the big chain hotels you will soon notice the difference. The atmosphere in this area is probably what you dreamed about when coming to Beijing. It will Take you about 25 minutes to walk to the subway line 5 from hotel which will take you to most of the major sites. Very easy.

My only dissappointment was the 2 huskies that live here were off in another courtyard so i didn't get to meet them as i was looking forward to that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We chose Courtyard 7 as we wanted to have a more authentic Beijing experience. It certainly did not disappoint. The location in the Hutong area is such a plus while the hotel itself is very comfortable. We had a deluxe room and it was good. We don't mind a firm mattress so found the bed very comfortable and huge! The hotel is certainly not 5 star but very comfortable nonetheless. As we learnt more about the Hutong area and got a feel for how the locals live, we felt very fortunate to have been able to stay amongst them in what is considerable comfort by comparison. There is a real sense of community in the Hutong area and it is great to be able to wander the streets in your down time and take it all in. At night the main street has a great buzz with loads of small bars, restaurants and shops to wander in and out of. Given traffic in Beijing can be a nightmare, it was nice after a full day of sightseeing to be able to stay close to home but still have variety all within walking distance. I'm pretty sure you wouldn't get this if you stay in one of the big hotel chains. As another reviewer said, it is all about expectations, and we found all the other comments managed ours well and we have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone who wants a more authentic experience but with a few creature comforts as well. Another tip, we had the hotel arrange for a driver to pick us up at the airport and although you pay more than a taxi it won't break the bank (CNY 240) and it made for a stress free arrival as the location can be difficult for some taxi drivers to find or indeed get close to (as the Hutong streets are very narrow and full of pedestrian traffic).

Room Tip: Spring for a deluxe room if your budget will stretch that far as you face the main courtyard and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard 7

Address: No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beijing
#13 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#21 Family Hotel in Beijing
#48 Business Hotel in Beijing
#284 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Courtyard 7 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard 7 is the first courtyard hotel in Beijing to adopt the Geothermal heat pump system.A typical quadrangle design, Courtyard 7 consists of three rows of courtyards, which occupies an area of 1800 square meters.In Courtyard 7, there are standard, suite, and side rooms. All rooms are bright and clean, private and quiet, and furnished with modern facilities, including telephone, cable TV, internet, etc.. King size flower-caved beds with all antique wooden furniture, modern and clean bathroom, make people not only enjoy their stay, but also can experience the precious and traditional culture of Beijing Si He Yuan. Courtyard 7 utilizes Geothermal heat pump and Solar energy environmental protection equipments to provide 24 hours heat, air condition, and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard 7 Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard 7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.