We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Beijing Beichen

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Beijing Beichen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Beijing Beichen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Building4 No.8 Yard, Beichen West Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100105, China (Olympic Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #69 of 5,118 hotels in Beijing
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
609 reviews 609 reviews
218 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
“Great business hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Located next to the Olympic park, this is a great business hotel if you are attending a conference next door, or have business nearby. We arrived late at night and the front desk was quiet. Check-in was terribly slow and when they realised I am a platinum Priority card member they upgraded me , to apologize for the tardiness

The larger than normal room is huge and beautifully done. Of course, the requisite shower stall and flat screen were there. The tv is a bit far from the bed though, they needed better interior designers

Breakfast area is large and classy. The range and quality is 5 star - the beehive honey, 6 different types of homemade fruit yoghurt etc. are all hallmarks of quality selections

I had a punishing work schedule and unfortunately did not time have to visit the pool, gym and restaurants so can't comment

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalBC, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Beichen, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that "We are a great business hotel" which is also our aim as an IHG Hotel. We do apologize for the inconsistency in the service delivery and will take the necessary steps to improve check-in service consistency. And hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Distibution Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    210
    48
    17
    7
See reviews for
16
24
29
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed at the Intercontinental while in Beijing on business. Good quality hotel with good facilities and restaurants. Close by to the olympic venues and convention centre. If you are a tourist, not much else in the area and travel to the tourist attractions will take a while.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalBC, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Beichen, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. What concerns location for tourist, actually the hotel is located near many sites,such as the Olympic Stadium(Bird's Nest),the Water Cube and the Olympic Park, within walking distance, and is also easy access to Summer Palace as well as the Great Wall. There are many dining options in the Xin Ao shopping centre & Beijing North Star Century Centre, 5-min talking distance of the hotel. For more information about facilities in the hotel vicinity, we kindly suggest you to reach our professional Concierge team during your next stay. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Distribution Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I had the oppurtunity to stay in this hotel on business trip from my company and stayed there over 2-weeks which gave me ample time to enjoy the services of this excellent hotel. It is located a bit far from main Beijing city but very close to tech-parrks where most of IT company offices are located and also just a walking distance from grand Olympic stadium (worth watching...). Also the underground train station is at walking distance if you want to explore the city or want to go to nearby tourist places.

I liked the design of this hotel, mainly the central grand lobby (really spectacular) and the swimming pool/club area was also good. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous and even after staying there for 2 weeks, I am sure I might have missed some dishes :))

Also, there was Indian restaurant nearby hotel if someone want to enjoy indian food (they also deliver food on order at hotel reception). The rooms are also very luxurious and the staff/service was also excellent.

The front-desk was also co-operative is guiding me for any queries for sight-seeing (since most of taxi drivers in China don't understand english, so they will write address in Chinese and also let cab drivers also provide the directions...)

Overall, it was really a great relaxing stay after working hard at day-time...!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalBC, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Beichen, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comprehensive feedback about your recent stay. It is pleasing to know that our team was helpful during your stay. Many guests are impressed by our attentive services, elegent interior design, delicious cuisine and large rooms. For main sites in Beijing, we kindly suggest you to reach our professional Concierge team who are our local experts to help during your next stay. We look forward to be of assistance to you next time.

Distribution Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I was there only one night, but i had time explore the hotel. Location is excellent, just beside the olympic Stadium Area. Lovely staff at the lounge, especially, i would like to recommended Sarah and Winnie. Thanks to David (F & B Director) as well, for taked time to talked and asked us about our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalBC, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Beichen, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Your feedback is appreciated greatly. You are right the hotel is strategically located, which facilitates our guests to access local attractions and majoy business districts. Many guests comment on the charming and memorable experience our team and the Club InterContinental provides to those customers that look for the little luxury and privileges of this premium service. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Distribution Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel itself is quite comfortable but very expensive for food and beer. To counter that there is a shopping mall 2 minutes walk away which has a bunch of restaurants and a supermarket in it. The area above and around the mall is incredibly busy at night with street artists and dancers - well worth checking out. There are even events on inside the mall sometimes - there was a fashion show on one night as I was wandering around.

Anyway back to the hotel - rooms are spacious and beds are huge and very comfortable. I didn't have an issue with the air con as others did - although it did have a habit of being switched off while i was out - but this is likely down to the turn-down staff that any mechanical fault. Having a room that doesn't overlook the olympic park helped - the sun doesnt hit that side directly so i didnt even need the aircon on at all until the outside temp hit 37 degrees. There is a cafetiere in the room so you can make some decent coffee - but i advise buying some fro m the supermarket - after used the single bag in the room it was not replenished.

Recommended for business - but a little far for the tourist areas

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalBC, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Beichen, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your nice feedback and we are pleased to learn that our hotel made a difference to your stay experience when traveling in Beijing. Being in the center of the Olympic Business District provides indeed a lot of conveniences and comfortable ambiance as you mentioned. For tourist attractions the hotel is located close to many sites, including Summer Palace, the Great Wall Ba Da Ling and adjacent to the Water Cube and Bird's Nest. We kindly suggest that you consult with our Concierge for more during next stay. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Distribution Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental for three nights to celebrate my 50th birthday. Everything about the experience was amazing, from the friendly staff when we arrived at 1:50 am after a flight delay from Hong Kong, to the birthday cake and panda bear gift! The staff at the restaurant were fantastic, friendly and considerate. Our magnificent room (suite) had views of the Watercube and the Birdnest, which made my architect husband very happy. We enjoyed a swim in the fitness centre on our last morning and had a lovely late checkout which meant we never felt rushed. Thank you Intercontinental for making my birthday the best birthday ever. We are so happy to recommend your hotel!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalBC, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Beichen, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Your review is greatly appreciated and it is pleasing and a great hornor to be able to deliver you a memberable experience for your birthday. InterContinental Beijing Beichen is more than an accomodation, which makes our guests feel at home. We look forward to welcoming you back.


Distribution Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a good hotel in terms of property. However there are some drawback in terms of quality.
Hotel is located next to the National Stadium area. It is a rather open space but nothing much around this area in walking distance.
Restaurant standard particularly the cafe has been dropped a lot. It is no longer a quality restaurant although it was not best before. I didn't try any other outlets like the Chinese that I am aware of.
Room is good, water pressure is great. Bed is comfy but aircondition seem to be a problem. particularly in the hot summer. Hotel keep their aircon in room off before check in. After get in to the room will take around an hour to have the room a bit cool down. Lighting in the room is a bit too dim, i prefer to have a bit more light.
Good "Bose" sound system in room but seem to be messed up. I could not control it eventually i just give it up since i am there just 3 nights. I can live without it.
Front office staffs are nice and professional while i had an incident with a concierge/Bell boy over an umbrella issue. It was raining outside and we are 3 persons group in 3 rooms. When we asked him for an umbrella and his attitude in reply is just ridiculous. Sound like we are begging for the umbrella and committed the most serious sins. I really didn't expect this from Intercontinental standard. I raised this concerns to manger and they have apologised for it and sent me a bottle of wine and fruit basket as a token. I hope this is just a single incident for such.
More training to the staffs and chefs in the cafe is definitely needed since they are running like a working behind the buffet counter and interact with guests directly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalBC, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Beichen, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thanks for choosing InterContinental Beijing Beichen and for your comprehensive feedbacks. We have taken note of your concerns. We do apologize for the inconsistency in the service delivery and will take the necessary steps to improve our service consistency. We are very concerned about your experience in the room and will pay more attention to the Engineering, Concierge and Housekeeping service delivery. Again we do apologize and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Distribution Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Beijing Beichen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Beijing Beichen

Address: Building4 No.8 Yard, Beichen West Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100105, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Olympic Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#36 Business Hotel in Beijing
#56 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#368 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Beijing Beichen 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Beijing Beichen is conveniently interconnected with the China National Convention Center (CNCC), one of Asia’s largest convention center. Beijing International Convention Centre (BICC), the Olympic Forest Park, National Olympic Stadium and China National Tennis Center are all within walking distance from the hotel while the business centers of Zhongguancun Science & Technology Park, Shangdi Hi-tech Zone, Wangjing, Tsinghua University and Peking University can be reached in a short drive. The hotel is only 30 minutes from Beijing Capital International Airport and 25 minutes from CBD. The hotel combines sophisticated meeting infrastructure, restaurants & lounges and relaxation options with comfortable and spacious rooms to perfectly cover the needs of international and local meeting & exhibition delegates (MICE) and business travelers. Easy access to Beijing’s historical sightseeing spots, such as the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Great Wall and the Summer Palace, as well as the amazing view of the blue Water Cube, make it a preferred venue to combine business and leisure. Galaxy Hall offers one-stop exclusive customized service including meeting, dining and recreations. With all over 350sqm, it has a capacity of more than 100 participants, immersing themselves in the tour of each professional field, together with the panoramic Olympic view through french window. Recreation room provides attendees with upscale KTV equipment, 75 inches home theatres to fully relax mind and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Beijing Beichen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Beijing Beichen Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Beijing Beichen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.