We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Beijing Beichen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Beijing Beichen to your Saves list
InterContinental Beijing Beichen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Building4 No.8 Yard, Beichen West Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100105, China (Olympic Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #60 of 5,422 Hotels in Beijing
Beijing, China
2 reviews
“My new home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed at InterContinental Beichen last week the first time. My office is nearby and we have signed a accommodation agreement with the hotel. I have been staying in many hotels during my travels in China and although most are good, this one was standing out. It started with the arrival. The fist question was if I am a member of their frequent traveler program and as I am a Priority Club member I was provided with a personalized check-in at the member counter. I loved the room which was spacious, clean and fitted out with a very comfortable bed. The only thing that would make it even better is brighter light in the desk area. Breakfast was enjoyable, well stocked and of very high quality. I am a morning runner and found the gym very refreshing with good equipment. The concierge is helpful and knowledgeable and showed me the way to run in the Olympic park, what is probably a unique feature this hotel has to any other. My overall stay was perfect and the staff made me feel at home and I am within 10 minutes at my work.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGM, General Manager at InterContinental Beijing Beichen, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your nice feedback and we are pleased to learn that our hotel made a difference to your stay experience when travelling in China. Being in the center of the Olympic Business District provides indeed a lot of conveniences and the fitness options in the hotel and the Olympic Forest Park are what a lot of our customers comment as the work-life balance they need everyday. We look forward to have you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    228
    57
    17
    9
See reviews for
17
28
33
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My stay at this supposed 5 star hotel started badly from the moment of check in. The poorly trained reception staff could not find our reservation. The reason? The reservation was in my wife's name although they had her Chinese ID card and my passport - both names. After 20 minutes of waiting we had to go tell them to look up both names. Voila, they found our reservation yet no assistance with getting to our room. 5 star means great service does it not? Not to this hotel.

Things declined further in the room. Peeling wood veneer in the hallways, bubbled carpet in the room with numerous stains on it and filthy windows and mildewed shower greeted us.

After this unpleasant surprise at an expensive hotel we decided to try the Chinese restaurant in the hotel. The wait staff was totally unfamiliar with the menu and could explain nothing about the overly clever dish names meant. Insult to injury they even delivered the wrong dish to our table. A Chinese restaurant with exhorbitant prices should know what Shanxxi shaved noodles are. They are not spaghetti which is what the dish delivered looked like.

Complimentary tickets to the adjacent Olympics facilities of which we wanted to visit the Watercube were included in our room rate. Did we get them? No. We were promised them twice but never received them. Then breakfast in the buffet style restaurant in the morning before we were to return to Shanghai. We were harrassed 3 times by different wait staff to pay our bill before eating as they feared we would skip out on paying for the buffet. What nonsense and how insulting. They have our CREDIT CARD number! How are we to skip out without paying?

Add to that filthy carpets and food stuck to the chairs and you can complete the dismal picture. Upon check out they processed me like one of the cows and handed me the bill. I asked the reception clerk whether she had any interest in my opinion of my stay. She said well OK and I gave her the highlights. Finally, someone's attention was gotten. From the bowels of the back office eventually a manager came out and after hearing our story made repeated aplogies. Of course she casually killed a cockroach scurrying across the carpet of the lobby while we were talking adding to the displeasure of our stay.

She kept asking if I wanted to talk to the general manager. My response was that only if he thinks this of any importance to him. His staff is poorly trained if at all and the condition of the property is in decline. Should he care? Finally we were escorted to the club floor where a sympathetic and apologetic Swiss general manager came and made soothing noises promising to make things right from adjustment of our bill to a free stay to getting us our included tickets to the Watercube.

After two months what has happened? Nothing! Not a word. A follow up email to both of these people has been ignored and there has been no adjustment of my bill, credit for anything or even our already paid for tickets to the Watercube. This hotel has good business from the connected convention center and clearly could care less about non-business related guests such as ourselves. The desk manager and general manager had no intention of rectifying anything and I am sure the filthy restaurant carpet, mildewed shower, bubbling carpet, peeling venerr and dirty windows are still there for other guests to enjoy.

This hotel is nowhere near 5 stars and has a staff and management that are indifferent to their guests. We strongly suggest anyone plannning to stay at this hotel reconsider. They failed us completely.

Room Tip: Do not choose one. Stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGM, General Manager at InterContinental Beijing Beichen, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we do apologize for not being able this time to meet your expectations and we have taken note of the areas you pointed out that are in need of attention. We trust you have received our apologies directly and would be thrilled to welcome you back soon to proof you that we can do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

First the good. The beds are great - very similar to the nice "heavenly beds" you would find at a high end US hotel. Also, the breakfast buffet is very nice, with everything you could ever imagine available. Also, the food quality is terrific. Finally, the gym is quite good for a hotel gym.

Now, the bad/ugly. Location. Horrible location if you need to get anywhere except the Convention Center, which is right next door. The taxis are horrendous. IF (and it's a big if) you get a doorman who speaks even a little English, it is hit or miss on whether you will get a taxi driver who will understand where you need to go. We had to get out of about 4-5 cabs because the driver couldn't understand the printout of where we needed to go (the printout was in Chinese, given to us by the concierge to places like "Da Dong" (a very famous duck restaurant). So we instead opted for the subway, which is a great system but the remote location of this hotel makes it a grueling trek every time you want to get anywhere. For instance, to get to the Forbidden City, it takes 4 separate trains and therefore takes about an hour to 1 hr 15 minutes. Note: they are extending the 8 Line, which should make the subway much better.

The hotel staff are very nice and the women and men in the Executive Club are very supportive and competent. As for the rest of the staff, I was amazed at the lack of English skills. We had stayed at 3 other hotels on this trip to Shanghai, Hangzhou and Beijing and this hotel was by far the worst with understanding English. Kind of strange, since it is next to an international convention center and the Olympic Park.

The Internet was very unreliable. Basically, we had to call the "At Your Service" number multiple times each day to get the Internet working again. The good news is that they were able to fix it every time pretty easily but it was super annoying. When it did connect, the connection speed was VERY slow. By far the slowest we had seen in our two weeks in China.

The concierge was effectively useless. Same for the doormen and valets out front. It wasn't only because they didn't try, but mostly due to a lack of English skills.

Unless I had to attend a conference at the center next door, I would NEVER book a room here again, instead opting for a hotel closer to the heart of the city where there might be some good options for dinner, etc.

Room Tip: You MUST upgrade to the Executive Lounge level, which gives you Internet access, free breakfast each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGM, General Manager at InterContinental Beijing Beichen, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you very much for having taken the time to elaborate and share your experience during your recent stay with us. We have taken note of your feedback and will take the necessary actions to ensure we can delivery all parts of the guest experience more perfect. We look forward to have you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was a great hotel and much more modern than I expected. The rooms are lovely and large (I was expecting small given the number of people in China!) and exceptionally clean. Comfortable bed. Nice front desk service although i will say that the concierges don't seem to be as helpful as I would expect for a hotel that is often full of foreigners. They will direct you to any place you want, but will not make suggestions or help you chose from options based on their experience. And I wanted to see a grocery store and not one person at the desk could lead me to one in walking distance. Nonetheless, they are so polite and that makes up for anything.
Pros:
Clean, modern, lovely rooms
Right next to the convention center
So close to Olympic Park!
Great for running because the Olympic forest is just near by and it gorgeous and the perfect place to run with many Chinese runners and walkers. Felt very safe running alone here at 5am as a woman
Cons:
Not so close to the scenic sites so everything is almost 1 hour cab ride (but the cabs are not expensive and if I had used the subway, it would have probably been faster)
Not much to do around there aside from run and see Olympic Village. Aside from McDonalds and the Hotel, few places to get authetic food or snacks. The minbar isn't really well stocked aside from alcohol and when you are shifting time zones and miss dinner from falling asleep, it would be nice to have some place in the hotel to get snacks
Could improve the buffet by making it clear what has meat and what doesn't (ie. spring rolls, potstickers, buns). It was not clear and often the staff did not know. So as a vegetarian, it was hard to find food when i ate in the resaturant that was buffet style.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGM, General Manager at InterContinental Beijing Beichen, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for your comprehensive review and we are pleased to know that your overall stay experience was good. For fitness and run savvy guests we are definitely in the perfect location and as you mention, the Olympic Forest park has even made a rubber running track for 3, 5 and 10 km distances. We have also noted your suggestions to further elevate our Concierge helpfulness and to think about our vegetarian choice on the buffet. We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal,Qc
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Good hotel,large and well furnished/decorated room. Excellent service but as previously mentioned by other internet connexion to improve as well as air conditioning. Both are working but intermittently.Excellent breakfast and chinese restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGM, General Manager at InterContinental Beijing Beichen, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for your constructive feedback and we are pleased to know that you liked the rooms, breakfast and our Chinese restaurant. You are right, we do have a small problem with the internet coverage and stability at the moment and do apologize for this. We are working on a solution to ensure better consistency, wider bandwidth and faster speed and hope that we have this important service resolved and improved in due course. We look forward welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

After pleasant stay in IC Beijing Financial Street, I wanted to try out also this newer IC in Beijing. As IC Royal Ambassador, my expectations were not really met on the first day, but things improved a lot as times went by.

First off - outside the hotel looks nice, inside the rooms have funky layout, adding a positive vibe. In the beginning I got pseudo-upgrade to studio club, which for me seemed to be like a usual room, then it was changed to one corner suite, which had big, kind of oval-shaped living room, bedroom, which had two sinks behind the bed and nice bathroom. For TV and sound they had good Bose equipment, for a good quality experience.

The second day I was upgraded to their equivalent of presidential suite - that was truly amazing, a room one would not like to leave. A big bedroom with very comfortable bed and great views, then small office and library, to work or have business talks and then big living room with dinner table in the other end, backed with private kitchen. There was also guest bathroom in addition to grand main bathroom. I would recommend this for lovely weekend stay.

PS. In the beginning the hotel staff claimed that the smaller corner suite is better due to the view, but well, the presidential suite had way better in-room experience, thus I would strongly recommend choosing that instead.

Club InterContinental, while quite small, provided cosy service - both breakfast and evening happy hours were good. During the evening happy hours, also wide selection of cocktails were available, but mimosa tasted a degree better in IC Financial St.

Usual buffet breakfast was available on ground floor cafe/restaurant with sufficient selection of foods to satisfy Asian and Western needs.

Room Tip: Presidential suite is the way to go :)
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGM, General Manager at InterContinental Beijing Beichen, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a great Suite experience. We always try to reward our most loyal customers, the Platinum and Royal Ambassador members with the most privileged upgrade options in line with the hotel booking situation and availability. I can see that you were very lucky this time and could spend a night at our Park Suite, which is well liked by our customers, as the window front allows a full and breathtaking panorama from the National Stadium (Birds Nest) to the Water Cube, what particularly in the night is like sitting live in a movie. We look forward to have you back soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viking2222
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

During my checkout I was asked to give feedback and when pushed I honestly could not find a single point of improvement. Staff was friendly and polite, rooms and other facilities was excellent to the point of "setting new standards". Primarily a business hotel meeting rooms and service surrounding these was faultless. Internet was easy to use, with good coverage across the hotel, and included in my package. Pool was open very early to very late. Areas surrounding the hotel was nice and clean but a little surreal with the large Olympic facilities close by.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalGM, General Manager at InterContinental Beijing Beichen, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you very much for having taken the time to share you positive experience. We are pleased to know that you liked the hotel, it's location, facilities and services. Many of our guests are impressed with the view of the Olympic stadium, particularly in the night when you look into a sea of colors and lights. We look forward to have you staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Beijing Beichen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Beijing Beichen

Address: Building4 No.8 Yard, Beichen West Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100105, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Olympic Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#34 Business Hotel in Beijing
#49 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#294 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Beijing Beichen 5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Beijing Beichen is conveniently interconnected with the China National Convention Center (CNCC), one of Asia’s largest convention center. Beijing International Convention Centre (BICC), the Olympic Forest Park, National Olympic Stadium and China National Tennis Center are all within walking distance from the hotel while the business centers of Zhongguancun Science & Technology Park, Shangdi Hi-tech Zone, Wangjing, Tsinghua University and Peking University can be reached in a short drive. The hotel is only 30 minutes from Beijing Capital International Airport and 25 minutes from CBD. The hotel combines sophisticated meeting infrastructure, restaurants & lounges and relaxation options with comfortable and spacious rooms to perfectly cover the needs of international and local meeting & exhibition delegates (MICE) and business travelers. Easy access to Beijing’s historical sightseeing spots, such as the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Great Wall and the Summer Palace, as well as the amazing view of the blue Water Cube, make it a preferred venue to combine business and leisure. Galaxy Hall offers one-stop exclusive customized service including meeting, dining and recreations. With all over 350sqm, it has a capacity of more than 100 participants, immersing themselves in the tour of each professional field, together with the panoramic Olympic view through french window. Recreation room provides attendees with upscale KTV equipment, 75 inches home theatres to fully relax mind and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Beijing Beichen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Beijing Beichen Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Beijing Beichen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.