We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why go anywhere else?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duck de Chine

Duck de Chine
1949 Club,No.98 Jinbao Street,Dongcheng District, Beijing 100027, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)
010-65212221
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 9,384 Restaurants in Beijing
Price range: $49 - $82
Cuisines: Diner, Dim Sum, Seafood, Cantonese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Leawood, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Why go anywhere else?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Ate at Dcuk de Chine 3 of the 4 nights we were in Beijing - - it was that good. The one night we went somewhere else (4 nights in a row would be too much, right?), we paid more and liked the restaurant less. The duck is incredible. There rest of the meal, we kept simple and safe - - no sea cucumber, shark fin soup, etc. Not cheap, but amongst the best meals I have ever had.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    128
    80
    27
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great tasting duck in Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had 6 people for dinner and it was a great restaurant experience. Delicious duck. Good wine. High quality service. Very reasonable pricing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“peking duck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Fabulous crispy skinned duck, melt in the mouth juicy meat, ceremoniously carved at the table. Amazing surroundings with modern Chinese décor.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The best Peking duck & impeccable service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

During our trip to Beijing, this is the best Peking duck among those restaurants that we tried which are also famous for their peking duck. A great start for our first meal in Beijing. Love the way the ambience of the restaurant and their presentation of the duck. Other dishes are great as well like the shrimp dumpling. Was a total satisfaction starting from making advanced reservation by email, was all just efficient. Great to try Bollinger champagne with Peking duck as well which is a new try. Next time must go again with a bigger party so we got to try more of their dishes. Look forward to my next visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Made me a duck convert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The duck is clearly the main reason to go here. It's in a very expat-heavy part of Beijing in a cute little back alleyway, and they cook the duck in large woodfired ovens which is what makes this truly an exceptional experience. Every detail is spot on, including the sauce which is served custom with sesame and peanut sauces mixed in. A must try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duck de Chine also viewed

Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Duck de Chine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duck de Chine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.