We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good home made beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paulaner Brauhaus

Paulaner Brauhaus
ChaoYang District Liang Ma Qiao Road 50, KaiBin SiJi Hotel 1 Floor, Beijing 100125, China (Yansha)
010-64653388,010-64104212,010-64104211
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #484 of 8,766 Restaurants in Beijing
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: German, Brew Pub, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Yansha
Description: Beijing's premier and most popular microbrewery, the Paulaner Bräuhaus, is the place for steins of great beer and hearty Bavarian hospitality. This award-winning restaurant serves traditional Bavarian and German dishes.The restaurant serves classical German dishes like Frankfurter, Thuringian sausages or Pork knuckle, but also has lighter meals like creamy potato or onion soup, or one of our crisp German salads all served in a genuine, spacious Bavarian setting.The expansive beer garden is the perfect place to relax with friends and family, enjoying a hearty meal and a glass of our home-brewed Paulaner beer. Listen to the swinging sounds of our nightly live band or be a guest during our famous Oktoberfest or Maifest. Paulaner Bräuhaus is a popular gathering spot for tourists, locals and foreign residents alike, so come and get a taste of the “Old World” flavor on offer here.
Grafton, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“good home made beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I like Paulaner beer was it to my surprise that they also have beer halls like this one,
surroundings was good atmosphere also
we order several food items
it was not bad would be back next time in town

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiBeijing, Manager at Paulaner Brauhaus, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Paulaner Brauhaus at the Kempinski Hotel and recommending our restaurant to other travellers on Tripadvisor!
We are more than happy to hear that you enjoyed not only the cuisine and the beer but also the atmosphere! We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon with your friends at the Paulaner Brauhaus!
Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    48
    31
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Awful atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

On arriving at the restaurant we walked up to the guy at the desk he ushered us away because he was on his phone. Another member of staff took us to a table. We had the German light beer which was nice. I ordered goulash which came and was obviously warmed in the microwave as the plate was red hot but the goulash was cold, it looked as if it had been slapped on the plate. My husband ordered German sausage and gherkin this looked like polony meat sliced. His dish too was cold. We didn't complain as we had waited at least 15 minutes for them to take our order. They never never came to ask if the food was ok we found the staff to be so miserable couldn't be bothered attitude. The food and drink cost £58 total rip off.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiBeijing, Manager at Paulaner Brauhaus, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Julie,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor! With regret we heard that we failed to provide you a good dining experience in our restaurant. Your comments have been shared with our service team and we do hope to convince you to come back at the Paulaner Brauhaus and spend a true Bavarian festive time during the Oktoberfest!
With warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“At least the beer tastes good ....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

While the menu looks good, the approach is tailored to mass processing. Food is on the table within a couple of minutes, which means it was waiting already for you before you ordered it. The beer garden and the restaurant itself is very nice, however the food is expensive and not what you expect from a value perspective. Similar large restaurants in Bavaria are able to handle a lot of guests while bringing fresh and warm food on the table.

My recommendation is stick with the beer and some simple food like a "Wurstsalat" and Bretzel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiBeijing, Manager at Paulaner Brauhaus, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Relssog,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with fellow travellers on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you not only enjoyed the beer but also the atmosphere at our beer garden. With regret we learnt that you didn't like the food served in our restaurant. Your comments are of the most importance for us and have been shared with our team. We hope to welcome to you back soon at the Paulaner Brauhaus!
Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great setting for informal gathering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The band was pretty good - space was limited but cozy - they have indoor and outdoor seating. Service is good and friendly.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiBeijing, Manager at Paulaner Brauhaus, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear AsiaFlyer,
Thank you for choosing Paulaner Brauhaus at the Kempinski Hotel Beijing! We are delighted to know that you have spent a enjoyable evening with your friends at our restaurant and our staff was of good support to you! Your comments are of the most valuable to us and of great encouragement for us to strive our service from good to best. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
“Very bad food, not at German standard”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I tried this restaurant now 3 times, always hoping the quality would be better next time .... wishfull thinking! After ordering you get your food within 2 - 3 minutes, showing, that it is not freshly prepared. Nevertheless it is only luke-warm. Just for one meal, Nuernberger Sausages with Sauerkraut and Potato Mash: The sausages not fried properly, more in a kind of boiled condition, and as said "Luke warm". The potato mash in a terrible consistance and taste, also not fresh, but therefore you couldnt burn your mouth on it. Sauerkraut was oK., but what can you spoil on that.
All this was heaped carelessly on a plate, without any decoration ,,,,,,, a factory canteen does better.
So if you want to learn what is not a real good German restaurant ---- go here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiBeijing, Manager at Paulaner Brauhaus, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear EberhardH171,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor! With regret we heard that we failed to provide you a good dining experience in our restaurant. Your comments have been shared with respective department and we hope to convince you to come back at the Paulaner Brauhaus and spend a true Bavarian festive time during the Oktoberfest!
With warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paulaner Brauhaus also viewed

 
Beijing, Beijing Region
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Paulaner Brauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paulaner Brauhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.