We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty & Beautiful Food Displayed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gongdelin

Gongdelin
158 Qianmen Nan Dajie, Beijing, China (Chongwenmen)
010-65112542
Improve this listing
Ranked #658 of 8,779 Restaurants in Beijing
Cuisines: Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Neighborhood: Chongwenmen
Description: This is a great vegetarian Buddhist 'fake meat' place. You can get a large meal for $4 (Y30) a person. The menu is in clear English. Though the wait staff speaks little English, pointing to the menu works just fine. Even my friends skeptical of all things tofu loved the place. The mushroom soup is amazing. The restauranted is located one entertaining mile walk south of Tiananmen Square. Be sure to duck into some alleyways to your right and left along the way for an improv Hutong tour.
macau
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasty & Beautiful Food Displayed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a nice vegetarian restaurant located not far away from the Chongwenmen Station. Even if you never want to be a vegetarian, this restaurant will definitely add good impressions to your trip in Beijing. The service is quite good as well. Average RMB$100.00 to RMB$150.00 per person.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Gongelin Vegetarian, Beijing hohum disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We ( family of five) had a dinner here in October. Were looking forward to it. Conveniently located about five minutes walk from Novotel Xin Qiao where we were staying. (Turn right from the front entrance of the hotel and walk till the traffic lights - the restaurant if on the left). We arrived at 6pm. The restaurant had just opened. What a disappoinment in the service and the food. The service was almost non-existent - we had to keep asking them for rice, for tea, for this and that. The food was nothing to sing about. Pretty hohum. Really disappointing especially when we were looking froward to it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great Veggie Food in Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Gong De Lin Vegetarian Restaurant is situated at 158 Qian Men South Road, Xuan Wu District in Beijing. It is a wonderful escape from the tourist places and is easy to find. The dishes are pictured on the menu so it is not hard to figure out what you are ordering.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not as good as the Shanghai version”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The food was good but slightly more pricey than thr Shanghai version! Worth a visit if you are a vegetarian in Beijing.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Food was well prepared and tasty, considering that this is a vegetarian outlet, where meat is not used to enhance the flavour of the dishes. There were quite a good number of dishes, with different tastes. I don't know the prices though since our tour guide took us there and the meal was part of our tour package.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gongdelin also viewed

 
Beijing, Beijing Region
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Gongdelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gongdelin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.