We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Perfect Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Emperor Beijing Forbidden City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Emperor Beijing Forbidden City to your Saves list
The Emperor Beijing Forbidden City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.33 Qihelou Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006 , China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 5,424 Hotels in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 371 Reviews
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Perfect Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I, along with our parents stayed at the Emperor. The staff were extemely friendly when we came in and helped us with the luggage, there are no room numbers, so the staff explained the name of our room was an Emperor in the Song Dynasty, apprently he was remembered for the creation of a specific noodle, I had my heart set on an evil emperor...ah well (only joking). The room was spotless, the bathroom is very modernised, cool shaped funiture, big space for a shower, lots of little things given for free for bathroom use. The tv was inside the bottom of the bed so you watch the tv and chill in bed and the bed was extremely comfy it was hard to wake up in the morning. The view we had was of the Forbidden City, which added an extra. Many people don't know but if you keep going up the stairs there is a giant patio area and you can get postcard view's from this area of the Forbidden City, epecially at night where it's blissfully quiet and the night lights are on.

If you like modern design interiors, excellent customer service and a good location this is the place to be.

Also forgot to mention!!! You get free entrees, which are little desserts, just an added extra of how the Emperor goes that extra mile.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    168
    40
    18
    3
See reviews for
38
128
31
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Its amazing to walk through it but it never ends. We went during pool air conditions so viewing was limited. The architecture is very repetitive yet impressive how big it is. Not sure if its worth going through all of it but you do get a sense of history there.
Best to do with a tour guide or some instructional book to learn as you walk.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

1. Next to the Forbidden city, but immediate area somehow mundane
2. Dedicate security services
3. Specious room with good design, I feel like I can live there for a long time
4. they'll call you taxi and respond to your enquires with pleasant attitude

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Convenient location to the Forbidden City, Tiananmen and sholping strips. All within walking distance. The hotel itself though is very average. The concept and design idea is good but not executed well. Not the cleanest room; our bed sides had white stains over it, the hot water system broke down in the building yet staff did not advise guests (its the middle of winter and arou d -3 deg outaide), the couches were stained, the bathroom sink were not clean and the room itself is not convnient. Overall, this hotel is very average but its locality is fantastic. If you dont care for comfortable living, then this is a good one to book.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

i'm torn. i loved the emperor, with its rooftop view of the forbidden city et al, spacious rooms, chic design and great value, but the immediate area surrounding the hotel wasn't the most practical for the average traveler.

the hotel suffers from being centrally located but not necessarily close to anything. getting to pretty much anywhere of interest for a traveler (restaurants, convenience stores, the metro, shopping, the historic sites) required at least a 10 minute walk, if not longer, which, when combined with february's frigid temperatures (and for us, snow / ice), was not always enjoyable. i should clarify that i love walking, but when you're tired, cold and just want to get something quick to eat or drink, it is a bit annoying to have to walk at least 15 minutes to wangfujing or take a cab. while the hotel had a restaurant, it was prohibitively expensive. after a very long visit to the forbidden city, we returned to the hotel and decided to just have a late lunch on property. the food (two domestic beers each, one shared appetizer and two entrees) was inventive and amazingly delicious, but it wasn't cheap or even moderately priced - the bill came to almost $90 - or basically the price i paid for one night's stay. ouch. the menu was on an ipad (made ordering so much easier), so perhaps the cost of the meal helped subsidize it a bit. :)

negatives aside, it was hard to top the view from the rooftop deck, even with beijing's notorious smog. being that close to history was incredible and surreal. and while everything required a walk, it was nice that we could walk to so many places of interest from the hotel, which is not always possible when traveling.

the modern room had great amenities, such as the daily snacks and free mini-bar (water, beer, coffee and tea), a comfortable bed and the bathroom featured high-tech touches like a heated floor and mirror (which prevented fogging). free l'occitane minis and a cool amenity kit. compared to our hotel in tokyo, the size of the room felt palatial; there was lots of space for storing luggage and lounging. the room was clean and well-maintained although initially, it smelled a bit of smoke. 'tis beijing.

regarding communication... look, you're in china, a country of more than a billion people, where the primary language is not english. try to learn some mandarin, but if that is impossible, bring a phrase book and be prepared to explain yourself a few times. staff were nice and tried. the wifi signal in the room and the lobby was pretty strong and fast, but remember a lot of american sites are blocked in china, like youtube, twitter, facebook and netflix.

there was a free, large breakfast buffet, with mostly western options and a made to order egg station. it was good and filling, but some of the dishes were room temperature or cold, depending upon when it was placed on the buffet. considering it was free, i can't really complain much.

given the price i paid for the room, the amenities and location, the emperor is a great value and - particularly if you travel during another (warmer) time of year - it is easy to overlook some of the less than desirable aspects. we enjoyed our stay and would return to the emperor should life take us back to beijing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend for a week. Hotel is very modern and comfortable. Our room was very specious and it was always nice to go back there after all day of sightseeing. It is very handy to have a free fridge refill with water, beer and soft drinks. Breakfast was very nice, lots of different kind of food but I would recommend to go for breakfast around 8-8:30 as after 9 we were struggling to find a table to sit down and there was not much food left- staff was too busy to refill everything. Restaurant was quite price so we preferred eat out. Reception staff was very friendly and always helpful. Hotel is located close to the main Beijing attractions and the closest metro station is within 15 min walking distance (Tiananmen East). The cheapest way to get to the hotel from the Airport is to take the Airport Express (25 CNY) and then metro (single ticket is 2 CNY) to the Tiananmen Eastand then walk along the fence of the Forbidden City and turn into Nanchizi Dajie after around 10 min walk you should see on your right big sign of the hotel. If youwant to take taxi from/ to the airport it should cost you no more than 190 CNY. Overall we were very happy and definitely would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were at the hotel during the Chinese New Year and stayed at the 3rd floor (light green). Room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Romantic, elegant inside outside seating on rooftop bar. Great view of East gate of forbidden city. A bit hard to find because it's not on a Main Street but beautiful hotel. Great place for a night cap after walking around forbidden city all day. Nice ambient music. We didn't try the food and only had wine. There was a decent selection of wines and bottled beer.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Emperor Beijing Forbidden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emperor Beijing Forbidden City

Address: No.33 Qihelou Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006 , China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#43 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#89 Business Hotel in Beijing
#315 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emperor Beijing Forbidden City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emperor Beijing Forbidden City is on the east side of the Forbidden City. First Design Hotels' in China it combines the warm embrace of the Chinese hospitality with the newest western design to give our guests an Emperor's experience. In the Crystal Restaurant our first-class team introduces you to the Imperial taste dishes revealing the secrets of the Emperor's dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Emperor Beijing Forbidden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperor Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Emperor Beijing Forbidden City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.