We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, in its prime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Beijing Chaoyang to your Saves list
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.7 East Third Ring North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100027, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
ENJOY 20%OFF WITH FREE BF
Ranked #55 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 839 Reviews
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great hotel, in its prime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My review is based on a five-night business trip, my first stay at the hotel after many visits for meals and meetings over the past several years.

The Westin opened in 2008, and is on a major intersection in the Liangmaqiao neighborhood. The hotel is about a 30-45 minute drive from Beijing Capital Airport, depending on traffic, and is next to the Liangmaqiao subway station. The neighborhood is home to many embassies (i.e., U.S., India, South Korea, France, Malaysia, and Japan), several other major chain hotels, and quite a few restaurants and shops. The hotel is also an easy 20-minute walk to the Sanlitun neighborhood, which is filled with retail, restaurants, and nightlife.

Service was polished and fluid throughout my stay. Check-in and check-out were both handled smoothly, although there was a glitch during check-out when an $80 dining charge was mistakenly added to my bill. It turned out that someone else had charged a meal to my room. The charge was quickly removed, but it took several people a few minutes of rifling through receipts to straighten everything out.

The rooms themselves are larger than average for international chain hotels in China, and feature large windows with expansive city views. The bedding was very good, and the bathroom was top notch. Housekeeping was extremely thorough. I was on an upper floor, and didn't really hear any street noise. Overall, I found the hotel to be remarkably quiet.

I had executive lounge access, and ate most of my breakfasts there. The top-floor lounge is calm and well-organized, with a reasonable breakfast and a nice selection of newspapers and other reading material. The main breakfast buffet is good, but not exceptional. Food in the hotel's restaurants is appealing, but quite overpriced - you'll do better in the neighborhood, including the Peking duck and Shanghainese places in the adjacent shopping center.

Although taxis are notoriously hard to come by in Beijing, the Westin makes the best of a bad situation. On several occasions, I saw taxis waiting for customers (an unusual phenomenon in Beijing), and never had to wait more than a few minutes for a taxi myself. Staff helpfully print out a map of your destination and give it to your driver.

The Westin is in its prime, with an attention to detail and consistent level of service that make it stand out from many of its competitors.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Your comments are well received and we truly appreciate your time and effort to place such a review here at tripadvisor.com. It is delighted to know that you are satisfied with entire stay experience except the little glitch you have encountered when check-out, but we are happy to hear that it is solved to your satisfaction. At the same time, we are glad to know that hotel service and it location is in your favor.

We would look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for yet another uplifting memory with us.

Stay well.

Hotel Management Team
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    287
    55
    23
    11
See reviews for
43
97
58
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed here quite a few times, so have a lot to say! The rooms are nice, but I think some are still smoking so be careful to make sure you don't get one of those. Very large, clean rooms with good views and well located hotel.

Having now eaten in every restaurant they have: the breakfast buffet is amazing. Enormous choice. The steak place is good, but be careful what you order - there seems to be a big variation in portion size between dinners, so ask if you need a side. My last meal was beautifully arranged but TINY!

The Japanese place is good, but I strongly caution against eating dinner there. It's ridiculously expensive. There are better deals at lunch with the bento boxes, but all those options disappeared for dinner.

The Chinese restaurant is great, although I have no idea about cost as someone else was paying.

I would recommend staying here, but when you do pop over to the Kempinski just across the road as they have authentic German beer and bakery, plus an amazing dim sum restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for something away from the lifts as they "ping" all night and avoid interconnecting r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang and sharing your insights with our friends here at tripadvisor.com. We are glad to learn that your dining experience was enjoyable except the portion size issue. We will revisit the standard with the team respectively and improvement will be made to make sure that you have an enhanced Westin experience in the future.

We will look forward to welcoming you back and look forward in being of service again.

Stay well.

Hotel Management Team
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel exceeded my expectations. We had a very nice room on a high floor. It was very quiet and had a nice bath. Cable was good. Internet was unfortunately not free. The gym and swimming pool were excellent. Only disappointment was the breakfast, which was not nearly as good as promoted. The coffee was dreadful and the Western style food was not of as good a quality as we were expecting. Otherwise we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Get on a high floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Cavanm2,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed you stay with us.

As for your breakfast experience, we will definitely be looking into improving the food and coffee quality. We do have however have freshly brewed coffee, cappuccino and latte included in the breakfast if required.

At the Westin we thrive to enhance the body, mind and soul for a better you and we look forward to welcoming you back for further renewal.

Adrian Chua
Executive Assistant Manager - F&B
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel three times this year for business. The hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. They regularly recommend restaurants for us to try and the executive club lounge is nice. The hotel is close to the US embassy if you need to be there for meetings and has a government rate. I recommend checking out in the club, its faster than the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and comments at tripadvisor.com. It is very refreshing to learn you enjoyed your experience with us.

Unwind with us. We expect to welcome you back in the short future.

Stay well,

Hotel Management Team
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect location on the 3rd ring road. Not too far from the airport, not too far from the city center. The hotel connects directly to a subway station. The two entertainment and shopping complexes Sanlitun and Solana are only a 15 minutes walk away. The hotel offers everything you expect from a Westin hotel like e.g. nice spacious rooms, great breakfast choices and of course the Heavenly Bed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang and sharing your insights with our friends here at tripadvisor.com. We are delighted to know that our location facilitated your trip in Beijing. Please rest assured that we will continue to elevate our services to ensure that your future stays remain memorable.

We look forward to your next visit.

Stay well,

Hotel Management Team
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stayed here for 3 nights for business trip, not a very happy experience

- Room: my room is on 8F and facing the main road, very noisy. and the window could not be closed tightly so that in the night you can keep hearing the sound of traffic. actually the point is not that the room is bad, the point is i am a gold member but the checkin staff did not even remind me about all these, bit unprofessional.

And the room was non-smoking but strong smell of smoke can be sensed.

- Breakfast: standard but not good, not many choice, and the staff was not very welcoming

- location: good

Overall wise it was one of the worst experience of my SPG stays globally, if you really like SPG and you want to stay near this location, then it can be the one for you. otherwise there are bunch of alternatives in Beijing for this level of price.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor room and the side opposite to the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Your comments are received and we sincerely apologize for not living up to your expectations. Hotel management team has shared your comments and we will definitely strive to improve regarding to the guest room condition and breakfast service. Besides, we have reiterated the SPG knowledge with the Front Office team to make sure service delivery is properly.

We look forward to your next visit to provide you with enhanced experiences in the near future.

Stay well,

Hotel Management Team
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Location
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang is located on the eastern Third Ring Road. Some of the embassies in the diplomatic quarter and the bar street Sanlitun are situated within walking distance. Next to the hotel there is as underground station for public transport. The ride from Beijing International Airport takes about 20 minutes if there is no rush hour.

Hotel Standard
The Westin Beijing is a 5*****-hotel and reaches this standard easily. No matter if appearance of the hotel, room sizes, service standard, equipment or facilities - everything was overachieved to reach the 5 star standard.
The hotel style is dominated by modern and functional architecture. Indeed very nice.

Room
I made use of some Suite Night Awards that I had earned due to my SPG status and was given a Westin Renewal Suite. The suite consisted of a living room, a bed room, a large bath room and a guest toilet. The furniture was of high quality. The suite was epuipped with two 42 inch TVs. The TV in the bed room could be lifted electrically from the drawer in front of the bed. Nice feature! There was a good Bose based music equipment in the living room. The curtains could be opened and closed eletrically from the bed and the working desk. The options for lights allowed for indirect smooth light as well as for direct light. To make it short: The room was very nice and perfectly equipped. The same applies for the bathroom. Cleanliness in the room was as perfect as in all public areas.

Hotel facilities and service
The various restaurants, the bar, the gym and in particular the Club Lounge were on the same standard as everything else in the Westin Chaoyang: Simply excellent.
The club lounge supported my business needs perfectly. Printouts, scans and copies were possible. On one occasion a business partner visited me on short notice and I was allowed to use the meeting room in the club lounge for free. The staff told me that SPG Platinum members can use the meeting room including soft drinks for one guest for free for one hour.
Service throughout my stay was friendly and flawless. The english language skills of the staff were very good for China.

Conclusion
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang can be recommended for both business and vacation. I had a perfect stay in this hotel. I would be happy to return soon.

Room Tip: The rooms that do not face 3rd Ring Road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang and we are happy to read about your insights here at tripadvisor.com. Your encouraging words of praise have been conveyed to the team respectively. We are delighted that our personalized and distinctive service found your appreciation.

We would look forward to a future visit of yours to share further moments of renewal.

Stay well,

Hotel Management Team
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Beijing Chaoyang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Address: No.7 East Third Ring North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#28 Business Hotel in Beijing
#44 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#59 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#60 Family Hotel in Beijing
#343 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Beijing Chaoyang 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang is ideally located in the heart of Beijing and only a 25-minute journey from Beijing Capital International Airport. Commercial and shopping centres are also nearby. Hotel features 550 guest rooms and suites, Westin Executive Club facilities, offers 8 entertainment and dining options, 11 meeting rooms for events of various sizes and the signature Heavenly Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Beijing Chaoyang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang Hotel Beijing
Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Beijing Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.