We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast buffet in Beijing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Beijing Chaoyang to your Saves list
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.7 East Third Ring North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100027, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Enjoy 25% OFF
Ranked #55 of 5,424 Hotels in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 840 Reviews
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best breakfast buffet in Beijing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We live in Beijing but stayed here one weekend as a mini getaway. This is a nice hotel with modern furnished rooms and amenities. The bed was very comfortable and bathroom (including bath) was clean and modern.
Location is short taxi ride to Sanlitun and other shopping and restaurant locations.
The best part of this hotel is the amazing range available at the Buffet Breakfast. Definitely worth booking a room with the breakfast included and fill your plates with the amazing array of cuisines available.

Will return to the hotel for the breakfast alone!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time and comments at tripadvisor.com. It is very refreshing to learn you enjoyed your experience with us.

Unwind with us. We expect to welcome you back in the short future.

Be well. Be refreshed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    288
    55
    23
    11
See reviews for
43
98
58
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SIN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Spent two nights here on points before heading on to Xi'an. Very nice hotel in a quiet location in Beijing, squeaky clean, friendly, courteous, and helpful staff, and a good (but expensive) breakfast buffet. Closer to the olympic park area than the standard tourist destinations but not too convenient for public transit as it is a bit of a hike to get to the nearest subway station. I would not spend what they are asking for this hotel as there are other options with more personality for quite a bit less money but if you have the cash the quality is quite good.

Overall, very nice, modern western hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Your comments are well received and thank you for sharing your feedback with our friends here.

For public transit, there is a subway station (Line 10, Liangmaqiao Station) right in front of the hotel. Please do contact our concierge if you have problem to find it.

We look forward in being of service again in the future and we will continue providing Westin renewing stays for you.

Be Westin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I just stayed at this hotel for two nights. It was nice, clean and quiet. However, for what you get, this is an extremely expensive hotel. There are equal "luxury" hotels available in Beijing for a considerably lower cost. The club room has limited hours and is not flexible. Get there five minutes late and forget that free glass of wine. Check out the dining room for more examples of unwarranted high prices. The food is good but the price gouging may reduce your appetite considerably.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for letting us know how we did during your stay at Westin and we would like to apologize for us not having exceeded your expectations.

Your comments are delivered to the team and we will look into service improvement to ensure that your future experience is uplifting.

Thank you again and we look forward in being of service again in the future.

Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

It snowed when I was there.... Snow storm in fact!

Very nice to be ensconced into the hotel looking out over a white city. The air was clear too. One could see all the way to the mountains... Ive stay here before, and I never knew there were mountains so close... The fog is the norm...

Love this hotel. Its my home everytime I stay in Beijing. Close to everything, and the staff are brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your Westin experience with us and we are delighted that you rated us so highly. Rest assured that we will continue to elevate our services to ensure that your future visits remain memorable.

We look forward in being of service again in the future.

Be Well, Be Westin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here three nights on a Viking tour. We could not find a place to sit at breakfast one morning; it was, however, a very good breakfast. The in-room WiFi is very expensive; they did have free wifi in one area near the breakfast room. The concierge printed our boarding passes. There was a taxi waiting at 4:30 a.m. They gave us a boxed breakfast the last morning. A very nice, large room with views of the city.
It annoys me that these expensive hotels want to get another $15 to $20 a day for WiFi, when it costs them virtually nothing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Beijing Chaoyang and taking your time to share your feedback here after your recent stay. We provide complimentary wifi use for some certain room types. Please kindly let us know if you have this need and we would like to make a reservation for your next stay to enjoy our speed wifi service.

We look forward in being of service again in the future and we will continue providing Westin renewing stays for you.

Be Westin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is well located as its on the 3rd ring road so only 30 mins to the Airport. (traffic in Beijing is a major consideration as the jams are some of the worst in the world!). Writing this in December, with unusually early snow, the hotel is an oasis of warmth, and handily next door to a major shopping mall with some useful restaurants of medium price. (The hotel has a great steak restaurant but at RMB 1400 for two woot any alcohol is best suited to those on expense account)

The rooms are standard Starwood style - comfortable and well maintained. The gym is decent, and the club floor large, though the range of drinks and snacks are more limited than in other Starwood hotels in China.

Breakfast on 2nd floor is a bit of a circus - very busy, and staff who are helpful but not too well trained.

Price per night is highly variable depending on corporate rates and method of booking. In Beijing with an additional 15% tax rmb1250-1500 is all you need pay for a reasonable 5 star hotel (ie Marriott nearby) but I was charged double this.

Room Tip: Away from lift is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback following your stay with us in Beijing and we truly appreciate for your positive review.

We at Westin always feel that it is feedback from Guests such as your kind self that assist us in becoming market leaders by telling us what we need to do better and how to improve. Rest assured that we will be sharing your feedback with the team to enhance the training, ensuring that your future stays with us are pure bliss.

Thank you again and the team look forward in being service again in the future.

Be Westin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my first experience of a hotel in China (in 2009). The hotel was, I believe, completed in time for the Olympics, and the quality of its finish reflects that. It's situated at the north end of the 3rd East Ring Road, which is useful if you've got business (for example) outside the city centre, and want to avoid as much of the traffic chaos in central Beijing as possible. It's close to the Embassy district and other nice areas (Sanlitun shopping is 10 minutes away in a taxi), and the Youyi shopping centre is across the road.
Services are good, with a great set of restaurants on site. Sunday brunch buffet is amazing. The Gym and pool are very nice, and the spa is very well presented.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your staying experience with our friends at tripadvisor.com and thank you for your positive review and rating.

We look forward to your next visit and look forward in providing future renewing stays for you.

Be Well and Be Westin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Beijing Chaoyang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Address: No.7 East Third Ring North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#28 Business Hotel in Beijing
#44 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#60 Family Hotel in Beijing
#61 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#344 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Beijing Chaoyang 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang is ideally located in the heart of Beijing and only a 25-minute journey from Beijing Capital International Airport. Commercial and shopping centres are also nearby. Hotel features 550 guest rooms and suites, Westin Executive Club facilities, offers 8 entertainment and dining options, 11 meeting rooms for events of various sizes and the signature Heavenly Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Beijing Chaoyang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang Hotel Beijing
Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Beijing Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.