We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Business Hotel in the North of Beijing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Beijing Chaoyang to your Saves list
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.7 East Third Ring North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100027, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 5,488 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“A Good Business Hotel in the North of Beijing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I recently stayed at the Westin Chaoyang, a luxurious hotel in the northern part of Beijing.

THE LOCATION
The Westin is located in the Chaoyang district of Beijing and is right in front of Exit D of the Liangmaqiao Subway station. It is in a rather quiet neighbourhood in the northern part of Beijing. The hotel is right next to the IFC Mall which houses numerous high-end brands like Gucci, a grocery store and some dining option. Across the street there is also another small mall, and the Hilton and Kempinski Hotels are all within walking distance of the hotel. The Sanlintun (Expat) village is about two kilometres south of the hotel and is easily reachable by taxi or the subway. Most of the sights in the central Beijing such as the Forbidden City require taxi and or subway trips. Just make sure you tell the driver to take you to the Westin Chaoyang as there are two Westins in Beijing. The best way to reach the hotel is by taxi, although one can take a train-subway combination to get to the hotel.

THE ROOM
We had reserved a Westin Deluxe room, and our request for a higher floor was honoured. The check-in was efficient, and the level of English spoken by the clerk was good. We were not escorted to our room by the staff, but didn't expect it. The room was fairly spacious (about 40 meters squared) with huge windows overlooking the city. The room had an LCD TV (about 32 inches) with a variety of channels including CNN and the BBC, coffee and tea making facilities, an ironing board with iron, a safe, two umbrellas and slippers. The room also had two Westin Heavenly Beds, a work table, a sofa to enjoy the view from the windows, a speaker phone, an alarm clock, as well as high-speed LAN Internet service (charged) and WIFI (charged). The minibar was fully stocked with a variety of soft drinks and alcoholic beverages. The bed was quite comfortable, the furniture new and it was spotless. The room was cleaned daily and a newspaper was delivered daily.

THE BATHROOM
The bathroom was functional and was separated from the room by doors. The windows separating the bathroom and the room are translucent and provide ample privacy. There was a sink, a separate bathtub, a shower stall, a separate toilet (with a telephone), the usual extra amenities such as razors and even flowers. There were plenty of towels for use. The soap, shampoo and other amenities were White Tea by Westin branded and of good quality. The shower was strong and the water temperature fully adjustable. There were also three bottles of mineral water in the bathroom. Remember not to drink the tap water in Beijing.

THE HOTEL FACILITIES
The hotel offered a variety of facilities for the guests: There was a large indoor pool, a Westin Workout gym with weights and cardio machines, as well as a sauna and whirlpool area. We used these facilities extensively and found them to be very good. The hotel pool was especially wonderful but there were no pool staff and as a result, there were times when we found some used towels and trash on the seats near the pool. There is a Westin Heavenly Spa, but we did not use it on this visit. The hotel also had a a business centre as well as many meeting rooms. The hotel has a very modern Asian vibe to it, and is rather large.

THE RESTAURANTS/BARS
The hotel had 3 restaurants (serving buffet, Cantonese and steak selections) as well as a pool bar, 2 bars/lounges and a bakery. We ate breakfast at the Seasonal Tastes (buffet) restaurant which serves an international buffet and we found the food selection and quality to be quite good. Our rate included breakfast but the prices of all the restaurants were not too expensive for Beijing. There are some other food options outside the hotel at the IFC mall and of course if you take a taxi to another area.

THE SERVICE
Overall, the service of the hotel was professional and communication in (basic) English was not a major problem. The service in the Seasonal Tastes restaurant was prompt, although refills of beverages need to be quicker. The pool needs to be regularly maintained during the day to avoid having ex-guests towels everywhere.

CONCLUSION
The Westin Chaoyang Beijing is a good business hotel in the embassy district. For tourists however, the Westin is far from the main sights of Beijing. If you don't mind 30-minute taxi rides into the city, then stay here. That being said, the hotel does offer competitive rates due to its distance from the city centre. We would probably stay in the centre of Beijing next time.

Room Tip: The front staff can give higher floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us and taking your time to share your feedback here after your recent stay with The Westin Beijing Chaoyang. Your complete notes will help other travels who are in search of a recommended accommodation in Beijing.

Regarding the issue of used towels in the pool area, our team will be of course taking more attention and have it cleaned promptly.

We sincerely welcome you back in the short future, to rediscover your experience of renewal.

Be Westin! Be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    311
    64
    26
    13
See reviews for
46
104
60
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

It was great time during staying in Westin Beijing Chaoyang. They have great facilities with great service. Me and my family were so happy to stay there.
The swimming pool is also amzaing and you must enjoy with it!!!

This is definately the best hotel i've ever stayed and i'd love to stay this hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Dear guest, your comments are well received and we appreciate it.

It is a pleasure to learn you enjoyed your stay experience with us and you have been well looked after by our team.

We expect to welcome you back in the short future and shine your uplifting memory with us again.

Be well. Be refreshed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

The facilities of hotel is very outstanding! Great location and it was so convenient not only for my original purpose to join the business meetings but for other sightseeing and entertainment. There were shopping mall next to hotel which has variety of restaurants and shopping. The staff were very kind, introducing worthy places to visit and some tips of shopping.
Compared to other Westin I have visited in past, they have great facilities, very modern and fancy. Once I will be back to Beijing, definitely will stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Dear reviewer,

We are delighted to learn you refreshed your experience with The Westin Beijing Chaoyang.

Sincerely we look forward to your next visit to replenish yourself with us.

Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

I've stayed in Westin Beijing Chaoyang for three days and it was unforgettable staying.

The buffet was so great and there were many kinds of dishes with different countries.

All staff are so helpful with full of smile and the location was so convenient to go for

shopping and closes by my office. This is greatest hotel i've every stayed in China!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Dear reviewer,

Your comments are well received and we really appreciate it.

It is our pleasure to learn you and you enjoy your stay experience with us and you have been well looked after by our team. We expect to welcome you back in the short future and shine your uplifting memory with us again.

Be refreshed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Stayed there for 4 days in May. Had some good qualities, but was disappointed overall. Many chairs in the buffet restaurant where ripped. Tables were not cleaned properly. We had the same table 4 hours later and the same food particles were still on the table. Staff was very friendly and the concierge's were very helpful, but their English was weak. If you want a coffee in the lobby while you surf the internet, be prepared. It's $9.00 for a coffee......that's Canadian, not RMB. When I checked out there was a mini bar charge for $25.00 Canadian. I asked what this was for and was told it was for a can of coke and a choclate bar. Big ripoff! The breakfast buffet was good, but again very over priced.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are very disappointed to learn your experience with us is not 100% uplifting. All your reviews have been brought to the attention of the management and we will be looking in to the matter. As for the restaurant service, we will be of course following up with the quality control measure. At the same time, appropriate English trainings have also being arranged for our local associates, as a part of our continuous efforts to meet our guests’ expectations.

We are sincerely expecting to welcome you back soon and at the same time, be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

This was such a welcome environment after almost 2 weeks in China. This was so chic and trendy, loved it! The lobby the restaurants the rooms all 5 star. Uber-Modern and blingy...The rooms were so comfortable! After sleeping on rock hard beds in China, the westin heavenly bed was ah-mazing. The room layout and decor was top notch. The bathroom was soooo good! They gave you bath salts for the bath, a separate rain shower and tons of lil amenities. The gym was 5 plus stars. I liked the location, it was in the super clean business and shopping district. The main cultural attractions were about a 20 minute subway ride, and there was a station right next to the hotel. Only thing I thought was tacky was that they charged for wifi...really at a luxury business hotel? Lame, logging on was also annoying. Other than that an awesome hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing us and taking your time to share your feedback after your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to learn that our internet access was not able to meet your expectation. We will work to improve for the future. We sincerely welcome you back in the short future, to rediscover your experience of renewal.

Be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We were there for three days. The first night was in a King room on a high floor. Then we were upgraded to a suite for next two nights (as SPG Gold members). The King room was modern, comfortable, well-organized, and included everything expected in a Westin. The western design rooms included no significant Chinese motifs, which would have made the stay a bit more fun. The over-the-top suite had a bedroom, living room, a huge bathroom plus another half bathroom, and a full-body message chair. Everything was excellent. A telescope was included too, but the city was experiencing it's worst pollution in seven years, so nothing beyond a few blocks was visible (I learned that the big-city hazy smog here is called a "sand storm"; even when there is no sand and no wind!). But the opaque haze did not matter. We had fun touring the suite. The staff at the front desk and the concierge treated us as if we were there main guests. Simply amazing. The hotel is next to a subway line, which you've got to expeience, even if you are on a business trip! There is an upscale mall attached to the complex with some nice restaurants as well as a "Whole Foods" type grocery store. Taxis are available quickly and a great restaurant for trying Peking duck is ten minutes walk away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for choosing us and taking your time to share your feedback with us. We look forward to your next visit and look forward in providing future renewing stays for you.

Be rejuvenated! Be Westin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
The Westin Beijing Financial Street
Yansha
Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center
Yansha
Hilton Beijing
Hilton Beijing
#63 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anzhen
Sheraton Beijing Dongcheng Hotel
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#7 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Kunlun
Hotel Kunlun
#75 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beijing Chaoyang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Address: No.7 East Third Ring North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100027, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#32 Business Hotel in Beijing
#50 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#62 Family Hotel in Beijing
#281 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Beijing Chaoyang 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang is ideally located in the heart of Beijing and only a 25-minute journey from Beijing Capital International Airport. Commercial and shopping centres are also nearby. Hotel features 550 guest rooms and suites, Westin Executive Club facilities, offers 8 entertainment and dining options, 11 meeting rooms for events of various sizes and the signature Heavenly Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your The Westin Beijing Chaoyang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang Hotel Beijing
Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Beijing Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.