We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Excellent, except the bathroom setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Beijing

Save Saved
You added Park Hyatt Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hyatt Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2 Jianguomenwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Adv. Purchase & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 5,123 hotels in Beijing
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
404 helpful votes 404 helpful votes
“Overall Excellent, except the bathroom setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Prime location. - the hotel main entrance is kind of hidden and having great trouble getting taxi.

Many posters had post the positive features that I also experienced making PH a top-notch option in Beijing.
I would like to add some ---Free Wifi throughout the hotel.
Good size closet with ample hangers.

The flaws -
- the elevator arrangements is annoying, one must take elevator from ground floor to 63rd Fl lobby to change elevator to guestrooms or another elevator to China Grill or Bar. very annoying.

- Buffet breakfast spread is limited, not as great as other posters mentioned. There are a few items that seem out of place.. braised meat, seafood casserole.... to me, they seem to be left over dishes from the dinner buffet last night. The egg-preparation corner is slow but the Egg Benedict was delicious.

- The IFW on the Basement level is a must-try reasonable restaurant, but the restaurant rejected us at 2:15pm on a Monday Disappointing for a hotel F&B outlet has a 3-hour siesta. Yet the pulled flat noodles was so impressively tasty.

- The open-concept of the bathroom is so unpractical. The room seems to design for a single occupancy. when one taking shower, if your spouse enter the room, whoever walking by the corridor could see you in the shower!!!

- There are a Chinese clay teapot and cups in the room, I could not find Chinese tealeaf or bag, so I called housekeeping for Chinese tea... Aghhh no Chinese tea in a hotel in China!!
The odd placement of the Coffee amenities away from the teakettle is not practical as well.

My corporate rate is very good, while I check online for rate from online booking sites, the rate is not as astronomical like other Park Hyatt in Asia.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the eyecatching CCTV Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    123
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
19
46
27
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The room was comfortable, there's no doubt about that. But the bathroom is kind of weird. The sink was next to the bed and the toilet was by the door.... The design was just a bit awkward for me. There are good restaurants and bars right in the building but what I always hate about going to park hyatt is getting a cab when I want to leave. It takes forever!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Park Hyatt Beijing is a modern, well-equipped hotel in the business district of Beijing. The hotel itself is located within an upscale shopping mall and is directly across the street from the World Trade Center, just steps from the modern Beijing subway with access to lines 1 and 10 (a quick 5-stop trip to the Forbidden Palace and Tiananmen Square). The hotel is also across the street from the World Trace Center mall which features plenty of stores and restaurants in a comfortable, air conditioned environment.

Check-in on the 63rd floor lobby was fast and efficient, with views of the city in all directions. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the concierge was extremely efficient and diligent in recommending restaurants and making reservations for us.

For my three night stay, I stayed in a basic Park King room. The room was extremely large, with a modern bathroom featuring a large bathtub, rain shower, enclosed Japanese toilet, and ample sink area. Off to the side was a separate closet with room to store your luggage and the hotel safe. Walking through the bathroom to the main portion of the room yielded a large open area with a comfortable work table, large TV, chaise, and a comfortable king size bed. All of the expected amenities of a 5-star hotel were present, including a Nespresso and iPhone dock. Internet was fast and free, and as with upscale business hotels in China, had full access to the Internet. Turn down service was provided daily and there was always ample bottled water available.

During my stay, I visited the fitness center and pool several times. The pool itself was beautiful, with a 25 meter lap pool, as well as a whirlpool and hot bath. Changing rooms featured both a steam and traditional sauna, as well as all of the expected amenities to get ready for the day. The fitness center while relatively small was modern and never packed. The standard aerobic machines were there, as well as free weights.

Breakfast is served on the 66th floor and features a large buffet spread of both Asian and Western cuisine. Servers were efficient and friendly and the large spread offered enough variety to make the three breakfasts I had varied and interesting. During my visit, I also had a drink at the outdoor deck on the 6th floor. I was surprised to find a very happening bar, complete with DJ and locals enjoying themselves.

Overall, the Park Hyatt Beijing was a very comfortable place to spend my three nights in Beijing. We did find that taxi drivers did have some difficulty in locating the hotel, but otherwise my stay there was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very tasteful...as one would expect from a recent Park Hyatt. Cool minimalism, high quality fittings, everything works.
The strange part is the design of the standard rooms. To get to the sleeping area one must walk through the open bathroom area. Once in the sleeping area, one can slide doors across the whole width of the room to close off the bathroom, but to leave the room, one has to open those doors and pass through the bathroom again. The toilet is in a separate small room with a sliding door that can be closed for privacy, but the sink, bathtub, and shower are right out in the open area. Walking into the room there's no way to avoid passing by someone in the shower....no curtain or blinds to obstruct the view! Perhaps some like this arrangement, and of course it's fine when traveling alone, but I actually prefer bathrooms that are rooms rather than bathrooms that are just areas one has to pass through on one's way in and out of the room.
Another downside of the large bath area is that the sleeping area is quite small. There's a bench against the window and two desk chairs with arms, but there's no place to sit back and relax or read in the room.
Try to get breakfast included in the room price. The food is absolutely tops and the view...assuming no pollution...is spectacular. But breakfast will set you back US$ 40 if you have to pay separately.
Lastly the elevators are too few and rather slow considering that you have to go up to the 63rd floor and then down on other elevators to reach the guest rooms. A fair, although not unbearable, amount of waiting.
Oh, yes. Room service was prompt and yummy...price as expected at a Park Hyatt.
It's really a shame when hotels pay more attention to designers than to people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I travelled to Beijing for business recently and stayed at the Park Hyatt - it was a great experience.

The Hyatt was a little difficult to find and it took the taxi driver some time to work out where to drop me off. Once we sorted that out, there was a little confusion trying to work out where to check in late on a Sunday night, as the reception area is actually on the 62nd or 63rd floor. Once that was sorted I got shown to my room, which was absolutely lovely. I gather the hotel is quite new and a premier one in Beijing and it really showed. Everything was laid out beautifully and thoughtfully, with excellent finishing touches.

I only ate breakfast twice and one dinner meal at the hotel and had room service for these - the food was not incredibly memorable, but was absolutely fine. I used the gym in the morning while I was there and although quite small, it was well laid out and equipped. I also found a card in the room that suggested you could ask the hotel to provide certain things, including gym equipment, so called them up after dinner and asked to use a yoga mat and free / hand weights. The receptionist had some trouble understanding what I wanted, so asked a colleague with better English to call me back. I had to explain what 'free weights' were (that is how they were listed on the card), but once he got that, I had the equipment supplied very quickly, which was great. I would suggest to the hotel that if they offer guests a service like lending these items, they ensure staff are made aware of the fact, to save on confusion - it wasn't their fault they didn't know about this. The staff generally were extremely polite and helpful and the service was wonderful from beginning to end.

Getting around Beijing is a bit of a mission if you don't do it regularly. Unlike others, I had no trouble getting a taxi in the mornings, but in none of the taxi's I took did the taxi driver know where they were taking me, despite the assurance when they were shown the address (in English and Mandarin) when I got in the cab. The first day I got stranded on the other side of town from where I wanted to be (which turned out to be quite near the hotel, ironically) after the driver just left me somewhere randomly. The next day when I got in the cab and the driver nodded his head, I made the bellboy actually ask the guy if he knew where he was going and when he admitted he didn't, they had to go away for 3-4 minutes to get him directions - I'd rather a delay then get stranded again! I also nearly fell for a con at the airport coming in when waiting for a cab when a 'shuttle' driver offered to take me for a 'fixed fee' on a printed card - he told me the RMB$790 he quoted was 'almost the same' as a cab would charge. I didn't believe him, which was just as well, as the cab ended up costing only RMB$90!!

Overall, the Park Hyatt Beijing was a great experience and one that I'd be more than happy to repeat. They made what was otherwise a slightly stressful trip much more bearable and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

After a lot of research, I chose the Park Hyatt for my special occasion 3-night "staycation." IMO, it's the swankiest contemporary hotel in Beijing, while the Aman Summer Palace is the luxest traditional hotel.

The rooms are enormous. Look at the pictures of the bathroom: the tub is by far the largest in standard-size rooms in the city, and there's also a rain shower. There are a variety of choices of lighting and automated shades. The duvet is light and airy: I prefer heavy blankets, so this was slightly annoying, but it's a personal preference.

Service is exceptional, and the staff's English is very good (this is hard to find in Beijing). Location is stellar; it's right above the Guomao subway station, or you can wait outside and someone will help hail a cab. If cabs aren't available, there are black town cars that are very reasonably priced.

Pool and spa are both beautiful and empty when we went. I think it's the highest pool in the city and the view is unforgettable at night. China Grill has amazing views and terrible food, Xiu is full of nouveau riche, businessmen, and prostitutes, and IFW in the basement has delicious food and baked goods. A branch of Lei Garden is a 2-minute walk and serves the city's best dim sum. It's a great place for brunch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel is an oasis of calm and relaxation in the bustling noisy capital. In terms of the hotel design and rooms it is among the best in the Park Hyatt fleet. Granted the price tag isn't cheap, but the Hyatt service is bar-none.

Location: Is not the best for tourists, as you have to cab it or take the subway. And this is probably the least likeable part of Beijing (cabs and crowded subways....and maybe the pollution!). Not far from XiuShui (aka Silk Market) and diplomatic area/Guo Mao. If you want an outside restaurant there are no good choices in the neighborhood.

Room: Amazing. Try to get a corner room as they are much bigger. The rainforest showers and japanese style bathtub (more like a jacuzi) is amazing. Ambient lighting with different scenes and a nice minimalist feel to it. Nespresso maker gives you quality coffee (a good sign for a hotel in my book). Amenities in the rooms are also high quality. Hallways are typically dark in the Park Hyatt style. Beds are very comfortable and the automatic blackout blinds help your sleep.

Facilities: It's another one of these go up 60 floors to the lobby and down 20 floors to your room. A bit weird. Gym and infinity pool have great views and just the right size. The pool is not amazing but good for laps.

F&B: The breakfast here is bar far among the best in Beijing. They even throw in some Beijing traditional yogurts. Views are awesome. Xiu is probably another good reason to stay here as it is one of the most popular bar/clubs in the city. Thursday nights are crowded with the popular ladies night. Summer time is great for outdoor seating on the deck.

Service: Very good. Concierge is helpful and overall the staff are very friendly which is sometimes hard to find in other hotels in China.

Summary: Overall great hotel for business or couples who just want to have a nice weekend or oasis escape in the city.

Room Tip: The west side may afford you a view of the Forbidden City and sunset on a clear day. Try to get a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Hyatt Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Beijing

Address: No.2 Jianguomenwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#12 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#13 Business Hotel in Beijing
#16 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#26 Family Hotel in Beijing
#389 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Beijing 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Ctrip DaoDao so you can book your Park Hyatt Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Beijing Hotel Beijing
Hyatt Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.