We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-Notch Property in the Heart of Beijing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Beijing to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2 Jianguomenwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #13 of 5,443 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Top-Notch Property in the Heart of Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Park Hyatt Beijing impresses on all levels. The design of the hotel is modern, yet comfortable.
PROS:
*Great Location- near enough to Tiananmen, Temple of Heaven, Forbidden City and yet easy reach of the airport. It took me about 20 minutes from the hotel to the airport in the very early morning. Subway stop at the base of the building (GuoMao Zhan).
*Friendly Staff- I read other reviews about this hotel so I was apprehensive, but I found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Most of them could communicate very well in English. I was particularly impressed with Peter (王宇鹏), Susan, Ruby and Terence.
*Facilities- the pool, sauna/steam room and fitness center were all in great shape and well maintained.
*Breakfast- While not as extensive as some buffets, the quality was top-level. Anything you could want for Asian or Western tastes.
*Diamond Members- My parents and I were staying together and were given a complimentary upgrade to a one bedroom suite (two bathrooms, three TVs) and complimentary breakfast for all of us because they are Diamond members.
*Amenities- The cookies, fruit, tea and coffee in the room were all great.

CONS:
*Lighting- I used to work in IT for a living and I could not figure out the lighting system- way too complicated. I just want a switch, but inevitably pushing the button would turn off the lights in the other room or turn all of them on.
*Heating- The room was hot (28 Celsius); we set the thermostat lower, but it remained 27-28 degrees the whole time; we had to just open the windows to stay cool. I notified the front desk and they said they fixed it, but the problem remained and I didn't want to waste my time dealing with it.
*Blinds- After finally finding the switch for the blinds & blackout curtains, I found out the one for the living room was broken. Again, I didn't want to waste my time dealing with it so I just let it go.
*Open Floor Plan- This is a matter of taste, but since I was traveling with my 60+ year old parents, I preferred a more traditional style. Still, with the suite we all had plenty of privacy. If you're traveling with small children, note that none of the sliding room dividers (and bathroom doors) lock. They can just be closed, but not locked.

Room Tip: The one bedroom king suite was very large and very comfortable for three people. I don't think t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    131
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
24
53
29
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

First advice is that you really need to cary the map and the name of hotel in Chinese with you as its not so easy to find and the backdoor entrance makes it a challenge for almost all local taxi drivers I used. Hotel is really nice and modern. Reception at 63th floor which may be a bit confusion upon arrival, then you need to take another elevator down to get to your room. Rooms are enormous and have all you can expect from 5 start hotel. Nothing to complain about. I missed the lounge for the Hyatt members - it simply does not exist. The most disturbing in this almost perfect stay is the attitude of staff. No expressions, no feelings, no smile and worse they are sometimes so buys to chat with themselves that it takes 10 mins before you get attention. I observed it several times during breakfast, dinner and even trying to call guest services.
Windows at grill bar needs some cleaning as well , as you can hardly see anything , but probably it does not matter as you hardly see a blue sky in Beijing anyway.
In summary great place, definitely come back, but hoping for better service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Loved the Hotel. The staff where very friendly. The rooms are modern and well equipt with a good view of the cctv building. Loved the Japanese style toilets in the room. Great hotel restaurants on the top floor. The internet actually worked and had access to all sites, it seems the "great firewall" doesn't apply in this hotel which is great! The only down side is the reception is not on the ground floor but that is only a very minor problem. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Park Hyatt in Beijing is fashionable, well located near the third ring road and, taking the top few floors of a multistorey building, generally very well thought through. That said, it gets a little tedious constantly changing lifts to get to the main reception floor, up to the restaurant/casual dining, but to the reception floor and then one lift bank for back to the room and a different lift bank for leaving the hotel.

The casual eating areas are trendy and open, with excellent views over the city. (I was lucky enough to be there when the skies were very clear, with views to the hills surrounding Beijing.) The cooking left a little to be desired. I ordered eggs benedict and sent them back twice when they were so undercooked that the eggs were still refrigerator cold inside.

The rooms are smart and modern, though the lighting system was way too complicated and frustrating. I don't know why hotels bother to do so-called smart things with lighting, when an on/off switch for each light would work way better and not challenge the tired traveler. Ditto for the shower system and the degree of difficulty in figuring out how to change from the (hated) waterfall shower to a proper shower.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Recently took advantage of china 72hr visa and stayed overnight at park Hyatt. I wish I stayed longer. Hotel was beautiful, rooms, restaurants and facilities were excellent. Staff and service was perfect. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. This was truly one of the best experiences I've had.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

i used suite upgrade certificate and i have stay only at park suite room. so this review might not help that much for normal room

this is my top3 favorites hotels!
location: very good location near shopping center ,food ,restaurant, subway and everything
lobby : very nice design and better than park hyatt shanghai!
room:park suite, huge living area and bathroom as diamond i got sparkling wine one bottle and fruits plate and also boxes of chocolates
restaurant: kinda expensive for china and quality is not that good but u can eat outside hotel by walk in a few mins
breakfast: free for diamond but i dont know its worth for money when you pay or not but superb view!! very good breakfast for me!!

i have more photos review at http://www.flickr.com/photos/yoshida_101/collections

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Returned to the Park Hyatt Beijing after not having visited for 2 years. No regrets. Absolutely wonderful. Not disappointed. Perfect business hotel. Shall I continue? The rooms are sleek and civilised and after a long flight, I longed for something simple, yet elegant. The spare use of colour is contrasted by the subtle interplay of materials: large, rough granite baths, dark ebony, sleek ivory, plush bathrobes - yum. Large windows in my room overlook snarls of busy highways spanning the broad, bustling city. The Park Hyatt keeps its calm distance by placing the rooms and restaurants high above it all; the breakfast and dining areas have lovely views into the ever-clouded Beijing horizon.

I went for business but made a few quick visits to galleries and museums, with the assistance of the trusty concierge women. For those on the go, hotel staff are very attentive to even the most discriminating of guests (this writer included). Shopping at the Soho mall across the street is fun for those who can try to tell real Prada from fake Prada (I cant, and I have a closet full of the real stuff). If you dont speak Chinese however, you may never learn the final prices. For authentic luxury shopping, stay in the hotel. There are floors of the best international designer names for anyone who forgot a birthday or special occasion while traveling - or a gift to say "I missed you."

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Beijing

Address: No.2 Jianguomenwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#9 Business Hotel in Beijing
#10 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#14 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#25 Family Hotel in Beijing
#352 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Hyatt Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Beijing Hotel Beijing
Hyatt Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.