We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic, friendly, tasty and healthy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pure Lotus

Pure Lotus
10 Nongzhanguan Nanlu, Chaoyang District., Beijing, China (Yansha)
010-65923627
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 9,390 restaurants in Beijing
Cuisines: Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Yansha
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Chic, friendly, tasty and healthy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Gigantic (literally and figuratively) menu. No pictures of the food, just esoteric references, but everything was fantastic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    87
    36
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome bliss for veggies !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

One of the best vegetarian restaurants to visit! This restaurant is run by Buddhist monks. A must visit for at least a one-time meal here! A pure delight for the taste buds and health freaks!
The ambience is really exquisite with a whole lot of creativity been used while serving the dishes.

This restaurant is located in the heart of the city and is well connected by the subway.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
“If one thinks that vegetarians can't pamper their taste buds in Beijing then this place proves them wrong.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Located in the heart of the city, it is indeed a delight to be fed by the monks in the lap of luxury. The hospitality and warmth is no less to best of restaurants one can find in India. A visit to Beijing is incomplete without a one time meal here. I have decided to have a one time meal here on my every visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Classy Vegetarian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is one of the classiest restaurants I've been in Beijing. The environment is elegant and they serve great foods with a lot of creativity in how the dishes are presented (all vegetarian so, no meat or fish).

You can get better fondues elsewhere in Beijing but it's still decent if you miss a familiar taste. Otherwise this place will reward curiosity. As far as I remember dishes are less spicy and less oily than in your typical BJ restaurant so, all good.

Not on the cheaper side.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pure Lotus - an other-worldy experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A colleague led me to the Holiday Inn Lido branch of Pure Lotus at the end of my first week visiting Beijing for work. He said it was a bit special and should be saved for the end of the trip. I wasn't sure what to expect as vegetarian wouldn't usually be my first choice of restaurant. Well - what followed was one of the most fantastic and memorable restaurant experiences of my life. I have travelled extensively and enjoyed many wonderful restaurants but at Pure Lotus I felt like I had stepped into a different world! An eclectic mix of chintzy and comfortable furnishings (bizarrely reminded me of my grandmother's Victorian style parlour room and only lacked the aspidistra)! Everything about this place is different, starting with the menu. Shame the German chap who reviewed here earlier couldn't get past this first challenge! For me it presented a wow factor that continued to build through the evening. The waiter was charming and helpful and ready to give recommendations on the menu. I was concerned that a couple of dishes I liked the look of were described as 'not very popular' and in the end went partially with his recommendation and partially with what took my fancy. Everything was exquisite in presentation and taste. I have never experienced so much flavour in vegetarian, let alone vegan cuisine. For this I could definitely give up eating meat. The best Tom Yam soup I have ever tasted and even the desert cake was exquisite, and no eggs were harmed in its baking!! Do be careful what you order price wise, as the teas on offer are priced like vintage French wines. We paid attention to this and ended up with a fantastic meal at a price that represented excellent value. If you want a restaurant that plays with every one of your senses - perfectly balancing flavour and spice on your taste buds, catching your eye with the Lilliputian uniforms and bleached hair of the delightful wait staff, the most imaginative presentation of dishes and a background ambience of beautiful incense and eclectic music, then fly to Beijing and book a table at Pure Lotus!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pure Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pure Lotus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.