We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont expect warm welcome” 3 of 5 stars
Review of yuls

yuls
Mombasa, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 98 Restaurants in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“dont expect warm welcome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Excellent food, great setting, great and friendly floor waiters. Prices stretched to the limits (being in africa) unfortunatelly. Should you have a complaint or a problem, the lady manager will dismiss you with a scoop of an ice-cream as an apology. Pitiful.
On the next trip, i will not be dining here 6 times per week as I used to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    82
    25
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lillestrom, Norway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of the best on Bambouri Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had dinner there twice, is full with with people all the time. Has good food and great atmosphere at the beachfront.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yul's - a great place for ice-cream on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were walking along Bamburi beach when we saw their lovely sign for the ice cream. There was so much to choose from. Decided to stay for dinner as the ambiance was just too good. Very relaxing especially if you get the tables set facing the ocean, you literally see the time pass by. Good music in the background. Again - Loved their ice-cream.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely simple beach dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

First time in Mombasa. Staying at a hotel down the beach. Walked on the beach to Juls. Had seafood, avo, wine & Cappucino. Sat outside,really pleasant. Fish was great. Good background music. Nice evening :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entebbe, Uganda
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Suits many tastes, but not mine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Pros:
1. the location and ambience are wonderful. I love overlooking the beach and watching the boats and the people while waiting for our food to arrive.

2. My meat- and fish-eating friends said their food was very good.

3. A little pricey, but not bad.

Cons:
1. It took a very long time - perhaps an hour - for our order to arrive.

2. I'm a vegetarian, and the choices are limited. My last visit I had the greek salad, and it fell woefully short as Greek salads go.

3. Maybe I should have given it only 3 stars, but the view and my carnivorous friends tipped the balance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed yuls also viewed

Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mtwapa, Coast Province
 

Been to yuls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage yuls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.