We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spacious rooms, good location, relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Village Apartments

Save Saved
You added Tamarind Village Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamarind Village Apartments
Mombasa, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely spacious rooms, good location, relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Tamarind is a great place for longer term stays, and for someone who wants a change from the big beach hotels and the swarms of tourists that flock to them. The apartments are enormous and often have private balconies where one can lounge or even sleep outside and take in the lovely views. This makes it a great place to spend some time working or relaxing. The food is good, as at all Tamarind restaurants, but it is expensive. However, there are great places to eat within walking distance - especially the fabulous Nyali Dishes which serves authentic Swahili food in a very authentic atmosphere. You can get away with a great meal for only a few hundred shillings ($3-5 USD).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a review about The Tamarind Village. We appreciate the feedback and take this opportunity to thank you for your support .

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Tamarind Village and were pleased with the quality and level of our service. Your positive remarks will be shared with our staff, who will be encouraged to not only maintain, but to continuously improve on both product and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
11
2
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stay at the Tamarind Village frequently on 'business', we run a charity in Mombasa. The Tamarind is BRILLIANT, good location to get anywhere. Quiet and tranquil after a busy day, a real 'home from home'. Some apartments are slightly dated but that's half of the charm.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Tamarind Village.We are absolutely delighted you enjoy your stays with us and appreciate your complimentary feedback.

We shall share your remarks with The Tamarind Village team, who will be extremely motivated to continue providing the best of service to our customers.

Once again, thank you for your excellent comments and we look forward to you visiting again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Wow! Loved my stay here-looking forward to the next trip!

A Mombasa institution in itself and a helluva good reputation. All rooms are in fact apartments which themselves have private ownership so each one has a different identity. All have great views of the busy creek and are well appointed if a little quirky. Slightly old fashioned though but I found mine very comfortable with a large lounge with full library, kitchen, enormous bedroom (four poster with mossie net), bathroom and a "to die for" balcony with tables and chairs. I spent a few peaceful hours relaxing on the balcony with a drink.

The hotel restaurant is always busy and is a pleasure to visit and popular with hotel guests and locals alike. The menu is extensive with a focus on seafood. Service is great and I had several wonderful meals. Breakfast is served at sea level on the creek side and again is a pleasure to have.

I didn't get the chance to try the hotel's own dhow excursion which includes a cruise and an evening meal. By all accounts though its a fantastic evening. I hope to come again soon and will definitely be booking here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post such a review about The Tamarind Village. We appreciate your compliments and take this opportunity to thank you for your support .

Your review has been shared with our team, who are encouraged and motivated to attend to the details and improve where necessary.

Once again,many thanks for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again on you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I had the privilege of one night at the Tamarind Apartments.
On arrival we were greeted with ice cold toilets and some orange juice.
We had room 141 which was an amazing 3 bedrooms apartment. Each bedroom had an ensuite bathroom and toilet. All a good size with the main being huge. There was a huge living area, dining room and outside space with lounge furniture.
Air con and free wifi.
The surroundings were beautiful with a lot of gardens and palm tree and looking over the water. There were 2 pools with plenty of chairs.
Food was nice in the restaurant although we did have to wait quite a long time.

Couldn't fault it and didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Tamarind Village.We are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your experience and appreciate your complimentary feedback.

We shall share your review with The Tamarind Village team, who will be encouraged and motivated to continue working hard and paying attention to every detail.

Once again, thank you for your excellent comments and we look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

from the friendly prompt service, to the clean cool rooms, beautiful views and stunning food.... we felt blessed to be able to experience this. It was the perfect sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of Mombasa.
Dinner on the Dhow was breathtaking.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
May we take this opportunity to sincerely thank you for your kind feed-back. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Tamarind Village and were pleased with the quality and level of our service. Your positive remarks will be shared with our staff, who will be highly motivated and encouraged to not only maintain, but to continuously improve on both product and service.

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We loved everything about our stay in Tamarind Village:

The great pools with view onto Mombasa and the great food at the poolside Restaurant
Our wonderful room (all of which share the great view onto Mombasa)
Frindly and professional service (starting at the gate and check-in)
Great location for a next day drive to the airport

..and then there is the great Tamarind Restaurant. You MUST love this place!

Room Tip: All rooms have their very own pro's. Rooms on upper floors have even more of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback which we really appreciate. So glad you had an enjoyable stay at Tamarind Village and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Working in Mombasa for three weeks and the hotel is my home from home. It's only a few minutes from the mad hustle and bustle if Mombasa.

Lovely hotel with great restaurant choice quality if the food and service is first class with very friendly staff

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tamarind Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Village Apartments

Address: Mombasa, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 Specialty lodging in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Tamarind Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Village Apartments Hotel Mombasa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Village Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.