We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Glowing Report” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Voyager Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Voyager Beach Resort to your Saves list
Voyager Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Mombasa
Littlestone-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Another Glowing Report”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed at the Voyager Beach Resort from 14th - 28th December, 2010 in a deluxe seaview room & thoroughly enjoyed the hotel.

We booked through Hayes & Jarvis who offered scheduled flights with Kenya Airways to Mombasa with a short stopover in Nairobi - the flights suited the flexibility we needed for work commitments. Reviews of Kenya Airways on Skytrax had us worried before we left, but flights in both directions were comfortable & on-time, & we would have no hesitation using them again.

Arriving at the hotel at 10 am, we were pleased to find that our room was ready. Having viewed one of the standard garden wing rooms, we were glad that we had upgraded to a seaview room - we requested & were given the top (3rd) floor in our block, which meant that we were not disturbed by early morning checkouts for UK charter flights. We were told that the rooms have been refurbished within the last 3 years & they are of a reasonable size & quality

We had pre-booked a 3 day safari with the highly recommended JT Safaris (www.julius-safaris.com) & also booked a 10 dive pack with the in-house dive school Buccaneer Diving (www.buccaneerdiving.com) - see separate reviews for both.

What makes this hotel stand out, as has been mentioned in numerous other reviews, is the friendliness, helpfulness & cheery disposition of almost all the staff. Food is above average - especially Peter's delicious naan breads - the all-inclusive wines perfectly drinkable, & local spirits fine with mixers.

On 4 occasions, we dined in Minestrone (the Italian restaurant), which offers a la carte dining at no extra cost to all inclusive guests - even though the hotel was full, we had no difficulty booking & found the food to be very good. Many thanks to Joyce for looking after us so well. We also dined twice in the Smuggler's Cove a la carte restaurant which offers predominantly quality seafood such as lobster, oysters & mixed seafood, & with a 50% discount to all-inclusive guests, makes it a quality evening out for a sensible price. At neither resatuarant were we pressured into ordering non all-inclusive drinks, although at the Smugglers we opted for a tasty & sensibly priced South African Chenin Blanc. It was also good to see Livingston the Executive Chef mingle with diners at both Minestrone & Smugglers Cove, taking the time out to chat & enquire about whether we'd enjoyed the meal.

We had no difficulty finding sun beds close to the infinity (adult-only) pool, even when we returned from diving at lunchtime & on one occasion were treated to a couple of coconuts from the ever-friendly Wycliffe the gardener. Bar service around the pool was regular

The staff really pulled the stops out on Christmas Eve with a pre-dinner cocktail party, & gala dinner

Any moans? Well, just a little one.............the extra payment for the in-room safe is a bit of a money-spinner, but overall, a good quality hotel, sensibly priced, & with excellent staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,388
    642
    193
    73
    35
See reviews for
589
1,204
49
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

My mother and I stayed here for a few nights and would recommend it to anyone and everyone. The food was great, the staff were incredible and this place seems to attract very nice and friendly guests. All three pools were awesome. We had also stayed for two nights at another 5 star beach resort in Mombasa, that we had pre-booked, but quickly headed back to the Voyager as soon as we could as it was much better in every way. Special thanks to Anthony in reception for letting us have a late check -out at 4:00 pm as we had a train to catch at 6:00, we appreciated it. Voyager...keep on doing what you do so well...provide a great holiday for your guests !

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, Northumberland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

3rd visit in 2 years and it just gets better and better. Staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. Food quality and choice excellent, make sure you try the Italians and the Smugglers Cove for a great night with superb food. Look out for Joyce, Philip and John who will make your night special.
If you are divers I would fully recommend Buccaneer Diving for safety, quality and friendliness. (sharks and turtles to be seen).
For a good night out with an excellent meal, I can recommend La Marina. Restaurant send a taxi to pick you up from your hotel and drops you off afterwards-see seperate report. I would not recommend Tamarind-absolute rip off with 28% suppliments!
Always said I wouldn't go back to the same hotel twice but this hotel spoils you!! We are looking at a 3 week stay this year.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed at The Voyager for three weeks. The facilities at this hotel are first class and the staff friendly and helpful. We had a lovely room overlooking the sea which was cleaned to a very high standard every day. The food in the restaurant was excellent, the entertainment very good and everyone at the hotel was so friendly.
This hotel is highly recommended and if you want to go on a safari book it with Kings Tours and Safaris before you go - excellent.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rushden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

We have just returned from our 2nd 2 week stay at the Voyager Beach Hotel and had as good a holiday this time as we did this time last year. The Voyager Beach Hotel is everything you need for a completely relaxing holiday. All of the staff are fantastic at their jobs and such fun too! The food is fantastic, all around the hotel it is spotless and nothing is too much trouble.
My husband became ill with tonsilitus beginning of our 2nd week, the assistant manageress insisted that our air con was serviced and offered us a different room as the air con seemed to make him feel worse. The hotel nurse visited him and called a dr
who was very prompt arriving. He confirmed tonsilitus and advised air con to stay off as it was irritating the infection. The hotel bought a new electric fan as they didn't have one.
The hotel rep Mercy played a big part in this too, as I said, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

If your looking at going to Kenya look no further, this is the hotel you want! We had an amazing time in this country and this hotel was the perfect place to relax and unwind, I'll try to break things down for you so as not to babble on!...

FLIGHT
We flew with Thomson/First Choice and chose to upgrade to premium class which was definately worth it! We were given pillows, blankets, noise reduction headsets, papers, magazines, flight socks, mints, eye masks, more films, a lot more leg room and unlimited free drinks which were always available. We were delayed 5 hours outbound and 14 hours on the return due to the snow but were given airport vouchers on the way out and were told we could enjoy an extra day at the hotel all inclusive on return and they always kept us updated!

ROOMS
OK the rooms arent the best rooms in the world but you have to remember you are in a third world country, we had a superior room which was a decent size, cleaned daily, had a fridge, safe, tea and coffee, water, TV, hairdryer, mosquito nets and a comfy bed so what more can you ask?

SERVICE
The staff at this hotel are amazing, always smiling and you cannot pass anyone without getting a pleasant "jambo" which means hello. They work really hard morning until night but are so happy and proud of their country you couldn't ask for more! Always checking if they can do anything for you and they even waved us off as we were leaving!

POOLS
There are 3 pools at this hotel, the relax pool (infinity pool) this is adults only and is very quiet and overlooks the beach, the fun pool - this is where they play games such as water polo, water aerobics, water volley etc and play music etc, also overlooks the beach, and the sports pool - this is a fairly quiet pool next to a bar and the italian and seafood restaurants. We spent time around all of the pools and enjoyed them all, with regards to drinks the staff give you a flag, if you want a drink you put your flag up and they are with you within minutes with your order, no need to move - fantastic idea!

FOOD
The food at the voyager is brilliant, they have a different theme every night such as italian, australian, chinese etc but have a good variety every night - soups, salads, pastas, meat, cakes, and it is buffet so you can have as much as you like, no rush and always tables. Breakfast is in the main restaurant, lunch at the main or the sports bar, and evening meal at the main restaurant, the italian, or the seafood restaurant.

BEACH
As you have probly read on other reviews this may not be the place for you if you are beach people - don't get me wrong it is lovely but there is quite a bit of seaweed (which gets cleaned up by lunch time) and many beachboys trying to sell you things but bare in mind they are just trying to make a living and feed there familys, so please be nice and you can get a good bargain!!

ENTERTAINMENT
Very low key entertainment - in the day they have the kids clubs etc and games in the pool which is good, at night they have music playing, and them 9 until 10 they have a show which varies from african dancers, to kareoke, to acrobats, which is good but come 11pm there is nothing to do but sit and drink, they also have a sports bar and a lookout bar to spend your time.

SAFARI
Well our safari was amazing - we pre booked in the UK with JTSAFARIS (www.julius-safaris.com or jtsafaris@yahoo.com) and can confidently recommend them to you they were fantastic! Excellent Price, Excellent Guides, Excellent Lodges, Amazing Experience! Please give them a try you will not be disappointed! read my other review for more info!

WEATHER
Well before we went we were a little nervous at it was forecast thunderstorms, but were they got that from i don't know it was gorgeous weather, very hot but with a very welcome occasional breeze! The best time fo year to travel is between December and March - our summer is there rainy season!

TIPS
** Currency - we took us dollars as you need to pay to get in and out of the country, these were fine for us, we used $1 bills as tips although many things are priced up in kenyan shilling which we did have to change a few times at the hotel, so either currency is fine!
** Plugs - the plugs are uk plugs - no need to buy any more!
** Malaria Tablets - the one let down of the holiday but one which couldnt be avoided - we paid almost £100 each for our malaria tablets (malarone) which are meant to be the best ones although i have to say they do tend to make you ill, this is very common although i did notice if you take them with food you will suffer a lot more than if you take them on their own - just a little tip for you - although the hotel shop does sell tablets etc

Hope this review has helped you make a decision - try the voyager - you won't be disappointed! any questions feel free to email me jenniferhigson@yahoo.co.uk

Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

Hotel full of happy happy people! we loved our time here and will return! Went on amazing safari with GLORIOUS SAFARIS they was fantastic and gave us best price too!
Had amazing holiday, any quistions please msg me.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Voyager Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voyager Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.