We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good Ship Voyager!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Voyager Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Voyager Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Voyager Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 47 hotels in Mombasa
A TripAdvisor Member
“The Good Ship Voyager!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2006

We visited the Voyager in January of this year with our 4 children aged between 5 and 14. I was concerned that there would be enough activities to appeal to all 4 children given the differences in their ages - no problems!! The Animation Team and those that ran the Adventurer's Club for kids were fantastic. They were always organising activities for the kids and were contantly on hand for my 14 year old when he wanted to challenge someone to a game of table tennis or pool. The swimming pools were brilliant, food plentiful (although a bit "samey" after two weeks and the staff were always friendly. Yes, the rooms were basic but were fine and clean and for my husband and children the fact that they could watch a few live premiership footie matches was a bonus! My husband and eldest went on a two day safari to Tsavo, booked through the lads on the beach at an excellent price and they visited all the same spots and stayed at the same places that the "tour companies" did. The vendors on the beach can be a bit daunting but by the end of the first week we knew them all really well and they did actually leave us alone. The beach is miles long and beautiful, literally a postcard scene.

My only realy concern was the hotel doctor. Unfortunately my youngest became quite ill towards the end of our first week. High temperatures, wanting to sleep constantly, headaches and no appetite or energy. A very costly visit to the doctor and we were told he had a bacterial infection from the pool and prescribed antibiotics. No, he did not have any pool infection - he had a severe (and rare) reaction to his yellow fever vaccination. As the local doctor he should have been aware of the fact that a large percentage of the guests at the hotel would have had to be vaccinated against yellow fever and therefore the possible side effects and treatment. At one stage my son was delerious and lost all movement in the right hand side of his body. Fortunately I had pain and fever relief tablets with me and with two days left of our holiday the littlun finally recovered and on our last day was back to his usual self. I feel, however, that the doctor just wanted to gain 5,000 shillings for a basic and incorrect diagnosis. Not good.

Other than that, a visit into Mombasa to a shoe shop was excellent, sandals hand made for a third of the price of the ones in the hotel shop, the Nakumatt supermarket a 20 minute walk away is amazing and incredibly well stocked with anything and everything you can think of, including getting your photos developed at fraction of the price back in Europe.

We would all return to the Voyager at the drop of a hat, it was a wonderful way to spend two weeks. I would highly recommend it, particularly if you have children as the staff really are excellent.

Word of warning, on departure from Mombasa airport the luggage allowances are STRICTLY adhered to and any extra kilos are charged at astronomical rates. There are also a lot of security checks and queues but once through into departures there are some very good shops selling ornaments, carvings etc which you could buy there and carry on board rather than buy at your hotel, put in your case and have to fork out a fortune!

Happy Holidays!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,310
    608
    180
    72
    33
See reviews for
544
1171
45
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, Surrey,
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2006

We have just returned from our fourth visit to Voyager Beach Resort, Nyali Beach Mombasa and are already planning our fifth.
We have always found the hotel to be clean and well maintained. The food is wonderful with plenty for everyone and the staff are helpful friendly and always have a Jambo and smile even after a full days work. If you want a holiday in paradise then I would recommend the Voyager to you. You can do as much or as little as you want. The beach is white and the sea is turquoise and warm. The only downside to staying at this hotel is you will never want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds uk
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2006

Everything about this hotel is good, the only complaint is thyat we had to leave even though we had a extra day due to a flight delay. The food is great, the hotel is spotless, the staff are very friendly all have a smile on their faces and allways gret you with Jambo and a smile. The beach boys are ok if you are going on one day trips book it with them a lot cheaper then booking it through the holiday reps and the tours are just the same.

I would recommend Kenya and this hotel to any one.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2006

very helpful and obliging staff, food very good and plentiful breakfast , lunch and dinner no problems even for vegitarian daughter rooms more than satisfactory,drinks inclusive very good - just try threee or four vodka martinis, going back this christmas!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross on wye
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2006

We have just arrived back off a two week holiday to the Voyager and its was fantastic. The staff were very friendly would do any thing for you. The food was lovely and very tasty it was varied every night so we never got bored with it, there is even a special vegetarian corner which i was delighted with. The rooms are quite basic but very clean they had every thing we required.
During our stay we did a 2 day safari to tsavo east and west and we were very lucky to see the BIG 5 it was breath taking!!! we booked our safari off the beach boys, the reps and hotel will tell you not to book off them but we found them to be very good. And you will make a huge saving we paid £120 per person for a two day safari staying at nugulia lodge if you book with the tour operator you will pay double that for the same trip. If you do book off the beach boys make sure it is through either Bruno, David or Mustaffa.
The local supermarket is well worth a look it has everything from sofa's to socks......another trip we did was a visit to the woodcarving factory well worth it we bought a huge elephant for £35.00, cheaper than any where else. If you like fish the snorkling trip is fasinating--hundreds of differant colourfull types.

Theres not alot more i can say apart from i would reccomend it to anyone it is a truly stunning place i cant wait till i return.......

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2006

This was my fourth visit to the Kenyan coast and my first stay at the Voyager. On arrival I was pleased to see that the hotel had some lovely grounds with some outstanding facilities. This pleasure was brought to an abrupt end when we arrived at our room. The room was supposed to be superior. It was filthy. The floor had not been swept or mopped. The air conditioning pumped out cigarette smoke from previous "passengers". The bed clothes had cigarette burns on it and the pillow was specked with blood. The decor in general was old and tired. The dolphin curtains are an eyesore.

We quickly went to explore the rest of the hotel in hope of improvement. We did not find it. The bars are manned by surly and rude individuals serving some of the cheapest and nastiest spirits and wines (all inclusive drinks) I have ever had the misery of tasting. The gin was quite vile. The general lack of cleanliness sadly applied to the bar area which made the consumption of these drinks even more tricky. I was sorely tempted to ask for a bottle of the gin or vodka to present to the cleaner to sterilise our room with.

This hotel could be excellent if some effort was applied to the management of it. The staff need significant investment in their customer service skills and knowledge of hygiene.

After complaining to the manager we received no apology despite these problems applying to all 6 members of our party and all 3 rooms. We were offered alternative rooms. We declined this less than tempting offer and "disembarked" the good ship Voyager with the intention of never returning to this rather horrible hotel. I was personally elated to escape the rather tacky ship metaphor that is present throughout. If the standards of this hotel do not improve I could see a Fletcher Christian emerging from the ranks of this "Voyage".

We left within 18 hours of arrival and moved to the Mombasa Serena which is the antithesis of the Voyager.

John Rooke

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Voyager Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Jovago.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voyager Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.