We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely top service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Voyager Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Voyager Beach Resort to your Saves list
Voyager Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Mombasa
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely top service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was our last stop in Kenya after a 7 day safari and it was exactly what we were looking for and so much more. The theme of the hotel acting as a ship is run throughout by all and really does work. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the rooms are large, clean and comfortable.
The staff really can not do enough to make your stay comfortable. They all go above and beyond all of the time, from the reception desk to the hotel shop and the restaurant to the pool. Every meal a chef would take me round every dish to identify which dishes were good for me to eat as I have an allergy. We also ate at the seafood restaurant one night which was exceptional and once again they went above and beyond to accommodate my allergies.
I really can not emphasise enough the level of service experienced at Voyager from the remarkable staff, it really did make for a truly remarkable and memorable holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest.

Kindly accept our gratitude for the wonderful feedback you have shared in this forum in regard to your experience you had and most importantly having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday.

We are happy that you had an excellent experience and we look forward to your continued support and repeat visit.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,373
    635
    191
    73
    33
See reviews for
577
1,199
48
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Just returned from our eighth visit to the Voyager Beach Resort. Had a wonderful time. Excellent facilities in the hotel. Three great restaurants. The Italian restaurant is fabulous - and is included in the all inclusive package. Not always busy so tables usually available. Great ships company looking after the guests. Many thanks to Commander Yusef and his crew. Will be back again next February.

Room Tip: Superior sea view is best but all rooms well positioned and equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Friends

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking time to share your review in this forum and most importantly for choosing Voyager Beach Resort as your preferred resort.

We are grateful for your support and loyalty and it was an honor to dine with you on the Captain's table and I am looking for many more of those opportunities in future.


Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnersh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is very overdue, but after a fantastic holiday at Voyager, things 'back home' have not been so pleasant, hence the delay.
We were at Voyager from mid November-early December 2013, which was one of many visits there.
This last time was wonderful and we were certainly rewarded for being repeat guests. We loved the view from our room--garden, pool and sea, and were treated with extra perks.
Our holiday this time also included dinner at the Captain's Table in a group of about 10 guests. We started on the front lawn with cocktails and were ceremoniously lead with music to the allotted spot. We all had printed menus and guest list with our names printed. The meal was absolutely delicious; the whole atmosphere made us all feel very special.
A few days later, Voyager also had some repeat guests on the large lawn for High Tea, which again was fantastic. All the ladies were given 'Goody Bags' with several souvenir items carrying the Voyager name.
Margaret and Daisy worked so hard organising these special occasions and we wish them every success in the future. Many other staff recognised us and we have the feeling of being welcomed back home.
My cousin and her husband were also there and two of us had birthdays, so we ate at the Italian restaurant, under the stars beside one of the pools. On each of these days the chef had baked an appropriate birthday cake. Given as a treat, if ordered at least a day beforehand.
Please consider visiting Voyager and remember it is in Africa, where all conditions are not always as easy as in Europe. These people work very long hours for little reward by European standards, so they have to rely on tourists visiting this beautiful country. We lived in Mombasa and Nairobi a long while ago, so now as pensioners we love to return as often as possible. We have recommended Voyager to five other couples who have had holidays there. Most of these have returned on several occasions.
Keep sailing Voyager--We love what you do. JoRoC

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest.

I have gone through you review and the experience you enjoyed at Voyager Beach Resort gives me a lot of pride. Many thanks for your continued support and being a true ambassador of the good ship.

We want to appreciated you for sharing these fantastic features, services and experience in this forum. We cant thank you more for referring more guest to our resorts, we are most grateful.

I am confident and looking forward to your next visit and i want to assure you that we will continue to show case the voyager hospitality at its best.

Happy Sailing!

Yusuf Olela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaw, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Hotel has a lovely setting and was a welcome rest after a busy week. The choice of Pools was great as we decided on the quiet infinity pool, all the staff were really friendly and the room was amazing, A lovely end to an amazing memorable holiday

Room Tip: We had room 1221, which had a side sea view, 2 king size beds and not far from Look out Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest.

I would like to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach Resort during your recent holiday and creating time to share your wonderful experience in this forum.

I am glad that our most friendly and professional colleagues made your holiday a memorable experience.

Many thanks for your continued support and looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My two daughters and I have just returned from Kenya, I had stayed at the voyager 5 years ago but as this holiday was last minute we were booked into a hotel on the south side of Mombasa. on the last night of our stay we arrange a taxi to take us to the Voyager as I had remembered how good Philip and the sea food had been. the taxi took two hours which at peak time was very good as we thought it would take 3-4 hours but even that would have been worth it. staff welcomed us with open arms and I enjoyed showing my girls around - as for the sea food restaurant IT WAS AS GOOD AS I REMEMBERED, its all the little touches such as Italian bread sticks and bottled water on the table, a little pre dinner appetiser presented beautifully and hot fresh garlic rolls yum yum. the sea food starter off prawns, calamari and lobster was good but I didn't get any prawns (my daughter gave me one of hers ahh bless) but it was still tasty but the grilled lobster with garlic was to die for - so tender it virtually melted in your mouth - its served on a bed of red peppers on a hot skillet with rice in a side bowl, there is a lantern type stick on the skillet and hanging from it is a skewer with your bbq'd vegetables on - absolutely wonderful!! as for the pudding (we shared one) - cant explain it but there's a chocolate stick in the ice cream and a chocolate cup inside a home made biscuit cup with the ice cream in with fresh cream and fruit. To top it all off the ambiance of the live musicians playing quietly in the back ground with the sound of the water from the pond and water fall and soft lighting in the side of the rock with a beautiful stair case leading down to the restaurant was and is absolutely superb. even if we cant stay in the Voyager next time we will definitely be visiting the sea food restaurant. and I would like to say thank you to Philip (Said) who made us most welcome and even came in on his day off to say hi and have a drink with us before he took us down to the restaurant to make sure we were settled. (with staff like this you must be onto a winner). many thanks again Voyager. it was well worth the trip. x

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest.

It gives me a lot of pleasure to read your review and having taken time to come and say Jambo and enjoy the best of the best sea food cuisine at our Smuggler's Cover Sea food restaurant at Voyager Beach resort.

Once again we were privileged to host you and hoping you will stay with us and spend more time enjoying the voyager experience.

My colleagues mentioned are so energized and proud to have been part of this experience.

We want to thank you for your support, loyalty and looking forward to your next visit.


Kind regards,

Yusuf Olela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

The staff were so lovely and very helpful especially Bob and Daisy who really went out of their way to make sure we have a pleasant, fun and really enjoyable stay as well as memorable, guys really thanks we really appreciate. Thanks you so much. From the rooms to drinks to the food, all was perfect couldn't ask for more. Definitely i would recommend this hotel to all my friends and acquaintances.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest.

Allow me to take this opportunity to thank you for taking time to share your wonderful experience while staying at Voyager Beach Resort .

We are extremely happy to know that you had a fantastic time. My colleagues you have mentioned feels very honored to have been part of your fantastic holiday experience and are all looking forward to your next visit.

Many thanks for your support.

Kind regards,

Yusuf Olela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Have visited this hotel before and have never found fault but unfortunately if they are not careful this ship could sink without trace ! There were a lot of repeat guests there during our stay and we were all of the same opinion - that special something that the Voyager had was somehow missing. Loyalty works two ways and while the guests are loyal to the hotel it was not reciprocated. The little touches that made Voyager so special were missing.
The Animation Team used to be the life and soul of the hotel and the long standing members of the team (namely Kelvin and Bahati ) remain that way. Unfortunately the newer members are conspicuous by their absence and while their dancing in the evening entertainment is fantastic, during the day they are nowhere to be found. Guests were not advised of the daytime activities and it appeared that this was what was wanted as it meant they could "chill out " without having to entertain the guests.
There are some fantastic staff at the Voyager, covering all departments, who go out of their way to ensure that guests are happy and a huge Thank You to all of you.
The food, as usual, was excellent. The Restaurant staff are superb as are the Pool Attendants.
Hopefully our next visit will see the Voyager sailing on tranquil waters having survived this patch of choppy seas and does not become another Titanic.
Reviews by other guests are responded to with the statement "We have dropped the ball " . Unfortunately the ball does not appear to have been picked up yet and is still bouncing around !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest.

I would like to thank you for your loyalty and having chosen voyager as your holiday destination for many years in the past and i want to assure you that we do not take this for granted.

We are what we are because of your continued support and feeling connected with our friendly staff. We have taken note of your concern on the new colleagues in animation who does not interact much as the old ones and we recognize this as an areas that we need to improve on. My colleagues, Bahati and Kelvin are one of the most experienced animation team members that we have and their experience are unrivaled but we will strive to bring the other colleagues to their level.

We have began a process of looking at a more sustainable loyalty program and this will be shared to the market once we reach the implementation stage.

I want to assure you that the ship is in good shape and you will find a better and more enhanced products and services in your next visit.

We thank you for keeping it Voyager and looking forward to hosting you.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Voyager Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voyager Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.