We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get for what you pay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Voyager Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Voyager Beach Resort to your Saves list
Voyager Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Knysna, South Africa
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“You get for what you pay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

To book the voyager hotel was a advise from my business partner in Kenya and I spend two nights in the hotel. I was booked on full meal plan, all in! Absolute necessary as the prices for drinks and cocktails are heavy!
The room are more a three star accommodation and not for the spoilt tourist that normally travels to Mauritius. Therefor it is really cheap, $US 200 for two night....
The staff is really great and is trying to make everything happen...the beach is not very great, so you can relax in the three pools with a view to the sea.
food was bad the first night, but with a new shift, things changes drastically .....
I enjoyed my stay, as it is quick from and to the airport and can be a nice farewell from a business trip in Kenya...

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Ahoy,
We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Regards,
The Voyager Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,412
    653
    198
    75
    36
See reviews for
606
1,219
52
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

What a delightful place. A short drive from Mombasa Airport brings you to the cheesy Voyager- very nautically themed with fake cannon around the perimeter. Security staff welcome you aboard (if you ever leave they thank you for returning!) and upon entry to the large open reception you are advised by the flag, a sign and a short narrative on the counter of which port you are docked in (whilst we were there we docked inter alia in Hawai’i, Zululand. Mombasa and Lebanon. Often you were advised you are on the High Seas which means frankly the same as Mombasa. Only the food and staff costumes are affected by this gimmick. We stayed in a sea facing room with a dreamy view through the palms over the infinity pool to the sea, when we were there, it was floodlit by a full moon. Fabulous- in fact we reckoned our room possessed the best view in the hotel ,after checking out the others (we were in the fourth block, third floor room 13, ie 4313). The pools are lovely but whilst there are plenty of sunbeds, you may have to find and carry your own mattress, and towels are like gold dust.
The three pools are as follows- 1. The fun pool- this is where you’ll find the animation team and most predictable pool service; the beds are under awnings supported by masts (again the nautical theme) but simply pull your bed clear for the full blast of the African sun. There is a child’s water slide, a children’s area and a whirlpool. In two weeks the water slide worked twice, the whirlpool not at all and the children’s area seemed quiet and they preferred being with their parents in the fun pool save when ousted by water volley ball. 2. The sports pool has the most accessible towel supply (you swap the towel for your towel card given to you upon arrival) but sometimes the towel stand is closed. The bar at that pool has ice cream and the best trained cocktail staff. It is supposed to be where the animation team is based. There are always seemingly snacks available and afternoon tea is served there. Rather than walk on the paving slabs, a lot of the sunbeds are on the neighbouring lawn. 3. The adult’s pool- forget that, adolescents go there unchallenged. It has the worst pool service- watch waiters walk up to the water cooler at the entrance, look around, and then walk away without entering the pool area- be prepared to catch their eye and call them across. There are little flags (the use is not explained) which you are supposed to use to show you need attention- this is an infinity pool overlooking the beach and as such is very popular and has the fewest sunbeds- mattresses are kept in the nearby entrance to block 4. This pool alone suffers from the dreaded towel reservation and by 8am you’ll find people, staking their claims for the day- they might visit two or three times, but woe betides anyone who moves their towel before the pool closes at 6pm!
Pool staff appear and disappear with no predictability- sometimes there is a load of them arranging beds, taking drink orders and fetch coconuts, but by and large this was rare- you have to expect to be pretty self-sufficient – you will not be waited on as you might expect.
The food is simply excellent and the manager, sorry, Captain, knows this! It is worth going there just for the excellent cuisine and their Asian food selection is fresh and fabulous. There is one AI restaurant always available. You can pay extra to have a seafood meal in the rather dingy smuggler’s cove. The Italian restaurant is by the sports pool and can be reserved under the AI but a look at the menu may deter you from missing what new offerings are in the main restaurant that night.

The animation team shows are superb- well up to any cabaret club and frankly unmissable. The energy, choreography and precision of the dances are truly top flight professional quality whilst the themes are interesting and stories well told. The team really is very good indeed.
AI drinks- no premium labels- no surprise, but that means eg no tequila at all. Only local distils are available. There is a fantastic outlook bar on a slight promontory by the fun bar (the neighbouring hotel by the adult pool has ONLY outlook bars!) has a fabulous view and is the ONLY bar with a view of the beach. Only the bar by the sports pool has a view of a pool (not of the sea, as it’s behind block 4). There is a bar by reception divided into AI and not AI. There is a sports bar which always seemed quiet and was between reception and the sports pool and the best drinks were served by the sports pool bar. Staff in green will fetch you a tiny baby coconut, if you ask and if they then remember, which is a delight- I ordered them often – received only two. There is a wonderful, tranquil pool on the left of the drive with stunning Eastern Golden Weaver birds and Koi carp (and raided every evening by a Grey Heron) - the greensman there will give you stale bread for the fish- lovely, though you’ll be closely watched by the remarkably intelligent crows- give them a piece of pineapple rind and watch them puzzle over it).
Warning- get your safe deposit box and keep everything valuable and portable in it. The rooms are left open when being serviced. We were warned not to leave cash unattended. On one occasion we stupidly left US$70 in a zipped pocket of trousers in the room- gone by evening. Our fault.
There is a cocktail party once a week when the little bridge over the fun pool is the bridge of the ship- the drinks offered are uninteresting but the canapés are superb.
There is a glass bottomed boat trip which is very interesting- it goes to three sites and there is a reef walk- water shoes are recommended. One point -you will be told to get in the water over the colourful starfish garden, despite what you are told there IS a current and flippers will make your experience much more relaxed; otherwise cling onto the safety rope and don’t let go.
Excursions- the Shimba Hills is good but the drivers will stop by animals for about 3-4 minutes a time and then drive you to yet another viewpoint over south coast hotels for 20-30 minutes so they can have a smoke and a chat to their friends! If you see Sable (seen nowhere else in Kenya), keep your driver there- you’ll want to see a male with his head up to get the full majesty of these stunning antelopes. There are no predators to be seen and warthogs are in unnaturally large groups. You’ll have lunch at a hotel in the park where you’ll see African Fishing Eagles feeding from the staff, Olive Baboons, Black & Whilte Colobus Monkeys, Hammerkop, colourful monitors (occasionally but rarely seen by the adult pool at the hotel) and other great wildlife. Get a seat by the window- fight for it!
Wasini Island is a must but use waterproof high strength sun block for swimming. The coral is excellent and you will see green turtles. Walk into the village- it is pretty boring and they will ask you to buy things for the children OR to buy shells (which will be confiscated as you leave Kenya- it is illegal to export them) but the real joy is the fossilised coral reef in front of the mangrove forest. High and dry, like giant stone mushrooms- quite a sight. You can walk under the ancient coral heads.
There are no landlines. internet access is from paid for wi-fi hotspots or a two PC InterNet café –you buy tokens for both from the cashier purser) in advance. No printer- email to reception and they print off for you.
Reception= efficient. A late check out was no problem. Any problem and they got someone then and there to sort it (if you show no sign of leaving until they did!).

Beach boys are not troublesome and the beach was lovely- don't wak too far to the left ortherwise you will come acorss some less prepossessing sections!

You will enjoy your stay, but remember, this is Africa!

Room Tip: Room 4313- best view of pool and sea franmed with coconut palms and no gutter. Otherwise do what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Good Morning Guest,
Thanks you for this wonderful review. The team appreciates such WOW comments
The Voyager Crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jilin china
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

After an 8 day safari across Kenya, it was nice to settle down and rest for a few days at the Voyager. First of all I can't say enough about the staff....they really are incredibly friendly and helpful. The meals were very good, nicely presented, with lots of choice. One night my friend and I went to the Seafood restaurant which was not part of the all inclusive and the lobster was unbelievable...certainly worth the extra surcharge. There is also an Italian restaurant that is worth a visit as well and there is no surcharge at it, you just need to make reservations. The pools are great, but ...again the same issue arises where people "reserve" sun beds and then don't show up until noon....this happens everywhere but is still annoying. The beach is great, lots of "vendors" selling their wares, but they are respectful and one can walk without being harassed ...too much... The resort itself is good, great staff, great food, pools, groomed green areas, resident cats which are tame and monkeys, which are not, but the one drawback is the tired, dingy linens used in the rooms. The towels have been washed a million times as have the sheets on the beds. Time to throw them out and get newer models....that said, I would certainly return again!

Room Tip: I booked ahead and reserved a sea view room. It was brilliant!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Ahoy Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this feedback. The good feedback is appreciated. Your concern about Linen to be addressed too.
Kind regards,
The Voyager Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Voyager beach is a perfect place for families on a budget looking to get all their fun in one location. For me, travelling with a group of golf writers, it did not deliver what we were looking for- namely a comfortable, well appointed hotel within easy strike of the golf course we were in Mombasa to feature. Traffic in Mombasa is chaotic and we were often stuck in it.

But first let's look at the plus points of the Voyager resort. It is big, set on a fabulous white beach front on the Indian Ocean and almost everything is paid for before checking in, so you can enjoy numerous bars and eateries without adding to your expense. For sports fans there are numerous TVs and soccer fans from the UK can easily follow their favourites.

Accommodation is in terraces built like a small village complex around the various swimming pools and public areas which can be tricky to get the geography of if, like us, you are only staying for two nights- most people stay for between one to two weeks. My room was small and dark with little space to hang clothes and put things away, largely because the standard kit for people here is a swimming costume, flip flops and tee shirts. But, like I said, this is not the place for a golfer to stay. The shower room in particular was dreadfully lighted, making my morning shave a hazardous affair.

My other criticism is that the evening buffet meal is poor, and the staff serving it less than friendly- unlike the rest of the staff who are polite, helpful and love joining you in a laugh. But those serving what at best is a mediocre dinner do little to enhance one's experience. The same goes for those preparing food at the excellent breakfast buffet which is as good as the evening fare is disappointing. But the guy making my delicious breakfast omelette was taciturn to the point of being downright rude even if he did put together a great omelette.

This is a mass market experience and not for those looking for individuality or something of quality, unless it is the location. It has its appeal and its place, but sadly I would not want to stay here again and cannot recommend anyone, other than those with young children and on a fixed budget, do so either.

Room Tip: Make sure the air-conditioning works the moment you arrive otherwise you will be in for a very hot n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for this review. We do respect your opinion. We continue to work towards making Voyager a place of choice for all. Your comments will certainly help us reach this objective.
So glad you came.
Kind Regards,
Wasike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Voyager Beach Resort in February, we had a great time, I cannott say enough about the staff, every single member of staff at the Voyager was friendly, helpful , infact I have never been to a place where everyone was so happy and nice, when I came home I really did miss the atmosphere.
Our 'cabin' was lovely, cleaned everyday, Feb 14th My sister and I returned in the afternoon to find a rose each, chocolates and red petals everywhere, what a lovely surprise, thankyou to George our cabin, cleaner.
Thankyou to Kennady the lovely young man who, as everyone was ready to help, he looked after the towls by the pool but was aways ready to give us directions or help, the staff at the games pool who walks goodness knows how many mile's getting everyone their drinks.
Thankyou to David, in the resurant, who always made time passing the time of day with everyone, thankyou to Harrison the sercurity guard and his friends who told us about their lovely county and done such a good job scaring the monkey's !!! I would love to mention everybody but cannott, so Captin Syvester you run a good ship, your staff are really wonderful, I am saviong hard to 'sail' next year and I miss you all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Ahoy Guest,
Thank you so much for this review. In Voyager we try to be MAD( Make a difference) and I am glad we did for you.
Kind Regards,
The Voyager Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Thank you for a very enjoyable holiday ! Excellent facilities and access to local sites! Safari access was fab to we booked through our rep and the hotel were very accommodating of our requirements ! Service was always with a smile and staff were extremely helpful! Even though but the rooms need updating, this did not stop us enjoying the amazing pools and water sports available! Food was lovely and each night there was something a bit different and always catered for vegetarians and gluten diets! There was 11 of us in total and we were Sat on a large table every night and the waiters always knew we're we wanted to sit! Bernard and Cyrus were extremely attentive to our needs which we really appreciated ! The hotel has an excellent nurse there that assisted with the usual holiday illnesses ! She was brilliant and ordered the medication prompt and efficiently all though due to local prices it's quite expensive so try were possible to take things like cough mixture, ear drops, eye drops, rash creams, tummy medicine. The A team were great and put on some great shows, the hotel offered lots of other entertainment and had music most evenings which did not go on too late which we found nice as we were very tired because lounging around the pool is very tiring !! Ha ha !!! Poolside assistants were lovely too! Can't praise you enough thank you for a lovely holiday !!! See you again,

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Ahoy Guest,
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We all look forward to seeing you again soon.
regards,
The Voyager Crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar de la Horadada, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights all inclusive with the holiday having been booked with Escape Worldwide, who were really helpful with everything regarding the holiday. The resort itself was lovely, the staff really friendly, with nothing too much trouble, they really do make this location a great experience. The lookout bar gives you wonderful views of the Indian ocean whilst enjoying a relaxing drink. The choice of food was fantastic, couldn't fault it at all. The safari we made was unbelievable, so all in all a lovely holiday with fantastic memories.

Room Tip: We had a Superior Garden View room which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Ahoy Guest,
Thank you for this special Bouquet. So glad you came.
The Voyager Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Voyager Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, T4B, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voyager Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.