We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“few days on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Voyager Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Voyager Beach Resort to your Saves list
Voyager Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Mombasa
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“few days on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

great place, even a bit shady, the hotel and staff were very friendly and helpful.
few advices - food is good and safe - just wash your hands after every handshake or souvenir look, touch... did not like the sea food - pricy and not as i was wanting it

ocean - learn when water is up and when is down - it has it is own circle

garden - nice and safe

pools - good and clean

beach - they tried to clean it everyday and did good job - still had few items but livable

i like that place!!!

Room Tip: i picked garden view - very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
we thank you for this feedback. We will work on the Seafood as suggested. The Crew looks forward to hosting you again soon.
The Voyager Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,334
    621
    185
    71
    33
See reviews for
560
1,182
46
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halibou
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I am wondering if any recent visitors to the Voyager has suspected money stolen directly from their in-room safe? This happened to me while I was just in Kenya and the Voyager was one of only 3 hotels (out of 9) that we visited that had in-room safes -- and we are sure the theft occurred in this manner due to the "surgical strike" of a few bills of each denomination taken and then neatly replaced in our bill fold. (The rest of the time our money was tightly on our person, and such cherry picking of bills would not have been possible.)
I am not directly accusing this hotel, it could have been any of the the three, and based on other reviewers' similar experiences and poor responses by management, I doubt there is much we could have done about it anyway. But if anybody has had a similar experience at the Voyager, I would be grateful to know.
And just a good overall warning to people that even your in-room safes are not "safe". Tally your bills each night; I usually do but it fell through the cracks on my unusually busy work trip.

Room Tip: loud music until 11pm each night from the central performance area. If you are not at this hotel to...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post your feedback. We do not want to question your comments on the safe but we will be very surprised if one can loose Money in a safe. This is because
1. You are the only person with a Password to your safe
2. We do have Memory records and can trace all the times the safe was opened.
3. Voyager uses Elsafes brand of safes which by and large could be some of the best in the world with the best security features.
If indeed anything is stolen from the safe it can only be by a person who knows your private pin. However what can help in such a case is if you cooperate with the Hotel in getting matter properly investigated including doing finger dusting and the related.
We appreciate your inviting all who may think their Money was stolen in the safe to post comments so we can see and analyze
As a management we are committed to ensuring all cases brought to us with be thoroughly investigated and appropriate corrections taken.
We are glad you stayed in Voyager.
Regards,
The Group Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Tropical paradise ,big enough to have plenty to explore but small enough to be friendly.
nicely manicured gardens with memory garden open to the public ,peaceful and full of wildlife and turned into a party/education venue for locals.
Food was amazing and never got bored with the different themes everyday as the hotels voyage theme stopped at a different country everyday.
The local entertainment is fantastic and those guys work so hard everyday!
Lovely to see weddings and social events added to the African feel of the hotel.
Scuba diving to be recommended and shady from scuba team was fab.
The lookout bar was the most romantic and beautiful place to chill out at the end of the night .
The staff were all polite and couldn't do enough to help .A few issues with the safety deposit box and air conditioning but promptly sorted by helpful staff.
Overall ......Amazing !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Ahoy,
We are grateful you posted your comments. These will be used to make Voyager the place of Choice.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards,
The Voyager Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Voyager is a great hotel we went in september 2012, the staff are great. the food was good with some food cooked as you request it. we went to both the italian and the seafood restaurant both were good. resort is well kept and clean. The room was great although could do with the bathroom updating which we were told will be happening soon that said it was cleaned daily with fresh supplies of water etc. We plan to return to Kenya and the Voyager in a few years time. We went on a safari with JT Safaris in Nayali who looked after us expertly, booked over the web with no problems, George our driver was a legend.

Room Tip: go for rooms with a sea view, they are quieter and better located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Ahoy Guest,
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Exhilarated that you will be coming again. We all look forward to sail with you again.
The Voyager Crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at the Voyager for our Honeymoon in November 2012.

The hotel was great and had everything we needed. The staff were very nice, especially Margaret at the Relax pool who was always smiling and remembered everyone's favourite drinks!

We went on Safari with JT Safaris and have written a separate review about the amazing trip we had and what a fantastic service they provide on their page.

The Smugglers Cove restaurant in the hotel is well worth a visit too as they serve some wonderful seafood dishes!

We had a lovely time and would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Ahoy,
A honeymoon is a special time in ones life. For us in the Voyager we try to make this special and I am glad we did.
We all look forward to hosting you in your anniversaries
The Voyager Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlestone-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed as a 2 couples at the Voyager from 15th - 31st December. It was a return visit for 2 of us (see December 2010 review) & we picked the Voyager as there was a "big birthday" to celebrate - we thought it would fit the bill & our friends would be suitably impressed...which they were

Our rooms were sea front (4101 & 4102) which are ground floor & very handy for the adult pool & dive / watersports centre - see separate review for Buccaneer Diving.

Since our last stay, they have appointed a new Executive Chef & we noticed a definite improvement in quality of the buffet food, plus less queueing due to better setting out of the food stations. We also ate at the Minestrone Italian Restaurant 4 times (available at no extra charge if you are all inclusive & book at reception in advance & great for an a la carte menu in a quiet location) & twice at the Smugglers Cove Seafood Restaurant (50% discount on food & 20% on wine if A/I - excellent lobster) twice.

The staff are excellent at this resort & made our stay & "big birthday" very memorable & special thanks go to Margret (pool bar), Daisy & Margaret (customer relations), John & James (Minestrone & Smugglers Cove restaurant) & Kennedy (adult pool). Many of the staff are long serving & some remembered us from 2 years ago.

We were surprised to see the amount of Kenyans using the hotel - since we were last there one of the large UK tour operators has pulled out (no idea why) so for the first week, it was about 75% Kenyan / 25% European, although this reversed for the second week over Christmas

Only a couple of minor points to knock the hotel about - firstly, they charge for room safes which are well past ther sell by date (we had to have ours repaired 2 or 3 times during our stay) & the bathrooms are in need of an overhaul......not enough minor bad points to knock it from it's lofty 5 star perch though.

We will (hopefully) return!

Room Tip: Sea view block 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Ahoy Guest,
Thank you for this review. I respect its objectivity and i will be following up on all the matters raised and have them corrected.
Just that you know we have procured new safes and these will be fixed shortly.
I am so glad you came and truly grateful that you have shared your experiences with us.
Kind Regards,
The Voyager Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Lovely hotel, great service,great food ( we even put on weight few kg during our stay). Pan cakes are the best!!!! We will miss this beautiful country, such a positive and happy people, great hotel. We will come back. Rooms are very simple,but very clean. Ocean view from our room was amazing. Good value for the money.Animation team was very good. Every night entertainment was different, Mombasa roots group was amazing.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Ahoy Guest,
As you will have noticed i do read, analyze and respond to all Guest Comments. This is one that i have nothing to add but just acknowledge our gratefulness that you came, you saw and you sailed with us.
Have a Sailing Day.
Good day.
The Voyager Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Voyager Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voyager Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.