We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for families with kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Voyager Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Voyager Beach Resort to your Saves list
Voyager Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Mombasa
Nairobi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent for families with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great service. Lots for kids to do. Great food.

Kids club has gone down. Poor attitude of staff (they are the night entertainment crew) at kids club - open at their own leisure and are not particularly interested in kids. Fortunately kids can entertain themselves easily at Voyager and don't need the kids club.

Service staff are fantastic although sometimes strenuously ignore you when they are overwhelmed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hello Guest,
Your comments noted and respected. We shall work towards correcting where we have dropped. Voyager is the Mother of Kids Clubs in Kenya and we would like to guard that attribute with all our might.
So glad you raised it. It is now on my priority list
Kind Regards,
The Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,373
    635
    191
    73
    33
See reviews for
577
1,199
48
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here for two nights and wished I could stay two weeks instead. This charming hotel offers great service and value for money. The all-inclusive deal is amazing. Food is great, breakfast buffet super and the bars are more than happy to top you up as much as you want. Although the rooms are a bit dated, this resort with its beautiful beach and its friendly, helpful staff still offer nearly perfect surroundings for any holiday maker. I can't wait to bring my partner next time. Definitely coming back.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with sea view and balcony. Sitting there watching the sea is pure therapy fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Ahoy,
We all look forward to hosting you with your partner soon.
From the Bridge it a Happy and Prosperous New Year for now.
The Captain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofn, Iceland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Voyager Resort is definitely a cut above the other hotels to the north of Mombasa.
A variety of rooms - different sizes and shapes - in a variety of buildings spread around lovely, landscaped gardens above a narrow beach. As is normal, the rooms are tiled rather than carpeted, and come with fans and a/c. Even most of the garden rooms have a sea view.
There are three pools, three restaurants and several bars scattered around the complex yet it never feels too large or too impersonal.
Staff are kind, welcoming and helpful and there was always a relaxed feel to the place. It's not in the same leageu as the 5 star resport hotels in, say, Phuket, Cancun or Mauritius but this is also a lot cheaper.
The watersports facilities are good, although it should be ntoed that many activities depend on the state of the tide as there are rocks close to the surface. Sailing is only practical a couple of hours either side of high water.
The beach sllers are a perennial pain - when oh when oh when will the hotels, the authorities and the beach sellers themselves realise that pestering visitors is utterly counter-productive. On returning to the UK, we spoke to no less than five families who had been put off a beach holiday in Kenya because of the problems with the beach sellers, and had gone on holiday elsewhere. This is an "avoidance rate" that Kenya could well do without!
Mombasa is nearby and there are a variety of tour companies who can make arrangeents for tours (we spent a day and a half at Tsavo East - very highly recommended!!)

Room Tip: Try to avoid too close to reception or the bars because of the music and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for this wow review. The Voyager Team appreciates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have just come back after 10 glorious days spent at the Voyager Beach Resort. After 4 days on Safari (Highly Recommend JT Safari) we were ready for total relaxation. We arrived on 27th November my 50th birthday and had a bottle of wine in our room on arrival. We had a superior garden view room which although basic was lovely and clean and had a fantastic view of the beautiful gardens. (Thank you Vincent for keeping our room lovely & clean). At dinner that evening i had a lovely surprise by the staff when they sang Happy Birthday in Swahili and gave me a cake. The food overall was good with lots of choices. We were also privileged at being invited to the captains table. We so enjoyed your company Margaret & Lillian. (Remember "Yes Dear") The one thing that really stood out for us was the friendly staff and their service. A special thank you to William the waiter who always had a smile and joke who looked after us well. The gardens were lovely, pools clean, entertainment good, views spectacular. The water sports facilities were also very good.
We really enjoyed our stay and hope to go again in the future.

Room Tip: Its worth paying that little extra for a superior garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello,
We are so grateful you had a nice stay at the Voyager. Thank you for sharing these Good Comments with the World.
The Voyager Team will be so excited to host you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
The Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I visited the Voyager Beach almost 18 months ago but it still remains in the forefront of my mind. This resort was the end to a holiday of a lifetime!

I was very impressed with the resort, food and facilities-lying by the beachfront pool everyday really made me feel like I was in paradise! The food was also excellent-the Buffett restaurant had numerous dishes to accommodate all tastes. I was glad we also paid, a very reasonable price, to eat in the seafood restaurant-the cove like experience was unforgettable-not to mention the food!

However, what truly stood out for me were the staff-every staff member that we came across went out of their way to accommodate us. We were unhappy with the room we were originally allocated due to the renovations taking place. We were quickly moved to what I can only describe as the room with the best view I've ever seen and something I'd never forget!

Thank you voyager beach-we hope to return one day!!

Laura and Craig-visited April 2011 after safari

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hello Guest,
Thank you for this review. All the Bouquets noted and appreciated.
Regards,
The Voyager Captain and the Crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Normally you get what you pay for! This hotel excels.. the food is exquisite, I didn't bother about the Seafood or Italian restaurant alternatives, for me it was not necessary. I was there alone was this the reason I was treated so well, somehow I think not. The staff are genuine and polite an accommodating in every respect, the grounds immaculate, ok the rooms are small and not luxurious but they are certainly comfortable and adequate. I loved it not many I would give such a glowing recommendation to.....however there are a number of steps to the beach if that's what you seek and therefore there is inevitably the climb up to the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Ahoy Guest,
Thanks for this WOW review. It is always our pleasure to know the Guests had a nice and memorable experience.
The team looks forward to hosting you again.
The Voyager Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have just come back from 3 weeks spent at the Voyager Beach. This was our second visit and won't be our last. We were devastated when First Choice told us we could't go to this hotel, but after much protest they rebooked us through Hayes and Jarvis, keeping the Mombassa flight. The staff were all so friendly and welcoming, thanks Winnie, Florence, Tatu, Rebecca and John and Dominic at the sports pool. As many people state the rooms are dated but they are undergoing renovations (see attached photos). Food quality and variety was excellent. The Italian and Sea Food restaurants are well worth a visit (don't forget long trousers for men). We had superior garden view rooms(which actually had a sea view), these were bigger than the superior sea view rooms. We were fortunate enough to be asked to dine at the Captain's Table with Margaret and Daisy who really made Kenya come alive for us, sharing their family lives with us. We are already planning our next visit, see you soon Margaret.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Ahoy Guest,
Honored to have been of service. We cant wait for you to come again.
Regards,
The Voyager Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Voyager Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voyager Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.