We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nyali International Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nyali International Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Nyali International Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Moyne Drive, Mombasa 80100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Mombasa
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This was the second time I was staying at this hotel. My first time was 10 years ago when there was apparently a different owner. I loved the place last time so I decided to stay here again, only to find that although the location and core building location structure is the same, it has a different ownership now and underwent a major renovation. The sad part is that the renovation seems to be for the worse..the previously average sized rooms have actually been made smaller, and they are not in great condition. I had to get my room changed twice because the plaster was peeling off the shower walls in one of my rooms and the other one was given to me in a very dirty state. The service is also very slow, the staff seems to be inexperienced and the food quality was very poor. I was very disappointed

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aftab R, Chief Operating Officer at Nyali International Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We have indeed noted with great concern your comments and have addressed the issues raised. We apologize for any inconveniences caused and assure you of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    72
    34
    19
    22
See reviews for
38
48
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The rooms are spread in mist of greenery. Next to beautiful white sand beach used exclusively by hotel guest. Food was average. WIFI was good, but signal was loosing at few locations. Must try the Indian restaurant.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aftab R, Chief Operating Officer at Nyali International Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We are extremely please that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again. We assure you of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here a couple of times now and I would say the place is an interesting mix. It is a trsaditional hotel that has been going some time. The rooms are comfortable and the communal areas are fine. The pool area has great views of the ocean and the beach is fantastic (just look out for hawkers who will not leave you alone) The 'entertainment' is interesting, local people with a local flavour. Some bits of the hotel have been refurbished and I would say some still need doing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aftab R, Chief Operating Officer at Nyali International Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you generally enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. The Hotel is constantly going through refurbishment to attain the best product. We do look forward to welcoming you back, and assure you of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calangute, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

we stayed here for 03 nights in the first week of August, the Hotel in general is nice, with pleasant and courteous staff. The problem is that their rooms are in urgent need of maintenance, we had to shift our room about three times during our stay, until they gave us a refurbished room .
i am aware that all rooms cannot be refurbished or renovated at the same time, but at least do the minimum basics in the old rooms that are in urgent need of work !!
The first room we were given, the bathroom was deplorable and looked unhygienic.
The second room we were shifted to, the Tv and Ac wouldn't work, and we ultimately had to move a third time till we were somewhat satisfied.
i all we still enjoyed our stay here, but i do hope the management does stand up and take notice to the guests comments.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly refurbished rooms, or you are asking for trouble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aftab R, Chief Operating Officer at Nyali International Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We have noted with concern your comments and have addressed the issues raised. We do apologize for any inconveniences caused, and assure you of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed five days here . The resort is superb on the beach . You can have good time in the morning on the beach. Swimming pool is good . Wifi is free .recommended to everbody. The restaurant is good and serve excellent vegetarian dishes.

Room Tip: Near to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aftab R, Chief Operating Officer at Nyali International Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again. Assuring you of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nyali Beach resort is an old hotel where the management is making efforts with a well done renovation of the common parts (lobby, coffee bar, restaurant, swimming pool, etc) but the standard rooms look like 1980's with very noisy aircon, clean but outdated bathrooms, etc. Nice beach but not much to do there. Very good Wi-Fi in the rooms.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are a bit outdated. May be other type of rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aftab R, Chief Operating Officer at Nyali International Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you have appreciated the renovations that we have undertaken, and this renovation is an ongoing activity, ultimately resulting in renovations and refurbishment to all areas that require this. We do however have our Deluxe Rooms, Villas and Suites fully renovated, and you may want to book your next stay with us and experience any of these room types.

Assuring you of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I had an excellent five night stay at nyali international. the rooms were pretty decent and the service I must say was quite good, definately have some very good memories... most certainly will come back again soon and this time for much longer than five nights.. thank you nyali international...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aftab R, Chief Operating Officer at Nyali International Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, We look forward to welcoming you again.

Assuring you of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nyali International Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyali International Beach Hotel

Address: Moyne Drive, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nyali International Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is an architectural marvel and brings colonial past and glory of Kenya. Offering panoramic view of Indian Ocean, the hotel is a gracious landmark of the Mombasa, showcasing graceful arches, tiled roof lush green vast lawns and wood work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nyali International Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nyali International Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.