We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pool at full moon
Pool at full moon
Pool at full moon
Usual crowded beach scene Kuruwitu!
View of house from pool
Front of house
Garden from roof
Mombasa
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilde V
Dendermonde, Belgium
1 review
“Amazing Location, Fabulous staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic stay in Neem Tree House.
The pool and pool house are superb and the views are fantastic. We even could see some whales. It was a pity that the jaccuzzi was defect.
Reuben, Pili and Emmanuel are dedicated staff and cannot do enough to please.
Reuben is an excellent cook, he made a special cake for our our wedding anniversary. Emmanuel brought us to his village to meet his family.
We went 2 times snorkling in the conservancy under the guidance of John.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The view and the staff
Liked least: Distance to shops
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Traveling...
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous relaxing long weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

This place is fantastic. It's easily reached from Mombasa airport, the house is spacious and nicely decorated, the pool and poolside lounge area are really well designed, the staff in the house are great.

If you're looking for a relaxed getaway on the Mombasa coast, I'd definitely recommend staying here for several wonderful days lounging by the pool.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Poolside area
Liked least: Distance to shops
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
potsnpots
The Old Farmhouse
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sublime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Neem Tree is a holiday let with a difference. I have stayed in many rentals and this is a unique home, home being the operative word as this character house is furnished to the highest standards and as soon as you walk in it has a feeling of being lived in and has many personal touches, reflecting the owners good taste.
I have just spent a month in the house on my own and could not have picked a more delightful place to stay. The garden is a haven, having many mature trees and shrubs attracting much wildlife. The newly constructed pool and pool house are superb and the views are impressive. The pool is maintained daily to a very high standard.The many rock pools on the beach and out on the reef offer many hours of exploring and extraordinary sea life.
Reuben, Pili and Emmanuel are dedicated staff and cannot do enough to please, they made me so welcome and looked after me thoughout my stay impeccably.
This is a fairly remote spot and if you are seeking peace and solitude, this is what you will get although saying that I can imagine it is a wonderful place for a family with children.
Only ate out once at The Vipingo Ridge with friends and I can recommend, lovely setting and very reasonable.
Having spoken to other guests who have stayed at Neem Tree and many other properties in the area over many years, they stated that Neem Tree was the best.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Peace and solitude.
Liked least: Coming home !
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Boomjet
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The place to go if you want to destress!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

This was our second stay in this gorgeous spot. The snorkelling was even more spectacular than before and we saw so many different species of fish. What an amazing holiday, the lovely swimming pool overlooking the ocean, the delicious fish dishes cooked by Reuben.....paradise!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Boomjet
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Stunning location, far away from the mad mad world, I wanted to stay forever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

A lovely house, it was so nice to stay in a rented house that was properly furnished with good taste and not full of old bits of furniture "incase they get spoilt by holiday makers", we felt completely at home during our one week stay.The swimming pool is gorgeous with a view over the ocean. We particularly enjoyed snorkelling as the whole of the beach infront of the house is protected marine land and we saw so many different types of fish, it was like swimming in a giant aquarium.
The staff in the house are kind and although they seem to move at a slow "coast" pace we never lacked for anything. Rueben, the cook, makes a delicious prawns in coconut curry (he gave me the recipe but I doubt if mine will be anywhere near as good). We had the local fishermen bringing fresh fish to our doorstep nearly every day.
We had a lovely holiday and will definately be back.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: the fact that we had to leave to fly back to UK!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Bram84
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Een schitterende plek om tot rust te komen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in October 2014
Google Translation

Wat een geweldige plek ver weg van het massa toerisme. Zeer vriendelijk en vaardig persooneel. Schitterend uitzich en snorkelen voor de deur. Een echte aanrader voor wie wil ontspannen met een groep of een gezin.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$313
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Lyndsey M
Speaks English
Listed since : Sep 2011
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 42 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing