We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding on valentines day.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dolphin Road Off Shanzu | Shanzu, Mombasa 20254, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Mombasa
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wedding on valentines day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My personal service/quality ratings are very strict.

I knew exactly what i wanted out of a hotel and when i reached this hotel on the eve of our wedding, i knew it was the one. The receptionist named Gayle was so friendly and she quickly had someone show us the wedding venue and rooms. We were taken a back by the magnificent views and the pretty rooms. Kevin and Langat helped us quickly settle on a menu package that was- believe me you- too good to be true. We were even offered a complimentary night's stay. A miraculous wedding briefing at the eleventh hour!

Miracles continued to unfold. Everything we requested for was supplied eagerly under the steady watch of Isaac Baya the food and beverage manager who called us countless times to check on us. We were offered two separate rooms for the bridal party to use as changing rooms while they hid our honeymoon suite away for our evening surprise! The wedding dinner was awesome... our guests enjoyed it to the limit. The set up was a fairy tale! Though it was not our first choice and we had a struggle with that as we had wanted a separate dining set up in the cave... it proved logistically straining. Can you believe the General Manager had time to stop by to explain the logistics to us and offer us an alternative! Wow! The poolside dinner was superb and romantic. Though our dj was not able to play his music at the dinner as we had pre-planned (the only down side) all else was fine.

Our room was magical to say the least. We were upgraded to a seaview room.
The Place is great for family and children especially. It is a very quiet hotel you may even be deceived that no one lived there! They have a kids center where our 3 year old son would play for hours on end giving us the much needed break.
The grounds are good and the beach so white, they made the best wedding photos!

The staff are very helpful though delivery sometimes is slow i would like to believe its due to policies and protocol.
Thank you all. We will be back again, soon. God bless you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
16
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This Hotel is now at its best, fantastic friendly staff. (Hi Sue) The rooms are clean and fresh, good air conditioning. The food is excellent with a good variety. The pool is amazing, the grounds are well kept It is a pleasure to sit/lay and relax. The hotel is situated in the best place, the beach is nice and quiet. The entertainment is average but good for first time visitors to Kenya. I would recommend this hotel for everyone including families.
A big thank you to our tour consultant Geoffrey Murkari of Spot Kenya Safaris for recommended the Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa and our safari's.
Looking forward to our next stay here especially when the spa and gym is open.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have just returned from Mombasa and spent a week in this hotel. Is a very good experience, overall.
The accomodation was good. I have a personal rating system, differentiated on items, so I would give a 4 stars for the room, 4 stars for the food, 5 star for the service and 5 stars for the location, beach and pool.
The entire location is spotlesly clean. I have never seen such a clean premise in an African country. No matter the hour of the day, there was someone polishing the floors, or cleaning the area.
The service was also very good. The staff was polite and frendly. They were trying to meet any expectations one might have. They were working so hard, yet they found time to speak few words with the guests and tried to make everybody comfortable. The waiters were prompt and fast.
Most of the guests are retired people, on their 60's. Which means that the entire location was very quiet.
The rooms have been re-furbished and look very good. The TV channel selection was great, with a lot of english movie channels,italian and german news ones.
The beach is something that someone sees mostly on postcards. White sandy beach, with a lot of trees and a reef with a lot of fishes.
The beach boys were not a problem. In the beginning they are trying to sell you different excursions (safaris or boats) but after few days they will not bother you. Anyhow, they leave you alone if you say that you just want to relax and be alone.
The food was very good. Plenty of choices, lot of tropical fruits. At breakfast, a nice touch was the fact that the waiters were coming and serve you with coffee or tea. All the time there was a lady welcoming the guests and showed them the best tables.
Let's not forget to mention the 5 o'clock tea (which was served at 16:00 hours !!),which was consisting of tea/coffee and some biskuits, pancakes, donuts, etc..
The dinner was excellent. We did not serve the lunch on the restaurant, but seen a lot of people having lunch on the beach, under the palm trees.
The entertainment was so and so. Nothing much to see, an MC might have helped, but again, it was OK.
The pool was fantastic and also the playing area . There were not many kids to use the playground, but it looked amazing.
So we are recommeding it and would go again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very nice location with a great pool, the rooms were recently renovated, very good air condition, but the real size of the room does not correspond to the specified size on the homepage of the hotel. I don’t know, how they had measured the rooms.
The food was, especially in the evening, was very simple and much cooked with garlic (only rice was without), so you if you do not like or can eat garlic, found nothing to eat, only on the dessert buffet, but this was also very small. The only way to have a dinner was going outside to eat.
Also the service, especially in the restaurant at the breakfast and room service was very poor. In the restaurant at the breakfast nobody bring you coffee or tea, so you have to do it self, the juice was early empty and to make a omelett or pancake needs long time, 1 cook used the fingers to flip the eggs. Exactly at 9:30am all was removed at the bufett. The roomboy removed the bed sheets and towels in the early morning, but didn’t bring new back, and in the hotel were not many guest. Despite requesting the roomboy we got not room cleaning. So we complained at the reception, this was the only way to got a cleaning in the late afternoon. Also the pool towels were not always available and they make no service on the pool, you have to do all self.
The most of the staff was quite unfriendly for Kenyan conditions, the knowledge of foreign languages, including English, were quite limited.
The staff need more training to make a better service, especially the waiter and the room steward.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevinoselu, Manager at Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Kaembb

Thank you for your feedback.Please give us just 48 hours to investigate then we will get back to you.

Thanks for your understanding
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

all the people are verry kindly, helpfull and looking tehy can help in ervery situation. on the pool and in the restaurant. its like familar. The pavillion d'amour should (must) be more used.
in the evening on the pool its boring because tho less good music. for good sound there have to be a new soundsystem and variaty of music. The food was verry good, not always warm enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We spent a week there and we had planned a lot of things to do but instead we ended up doing a lot of nothing. We spend an awful lot of time around the pool and it was great. The hotel is really good, for a resort, there wasn't too much crowd, everything was working from the room to the bar and the staff. Honestly I have no complains, i had a great relaxing time with a few excursions and outings and this hotel stood up to my needs.
It may not be the cheapest or the most beautiful of resort along the coast but for me it did it.
I don't ask for anything else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A wonderful place with wonderful staff, after some days we had the feeling to be at home...travelling with my 9 years old daughter I appreciated apart from the kids program how nice the staff is treating children, playing, joking and talking nicely to them. My daughter appreciated the atmosphere and really felt free in the hotel. The rooms with Veranda are very clean, we liked to have the chance to watch ZDF on TV, the pool was amazing, laying under the palmtrees with a cool breeze with view on the ocean fantastic! The buffet had a big variety also for vegetariens, wonderful salat, fruits and cakes. Requests or complains were treated well, my daughter ws sick and the hotel nurse came immediately to assist and many staff members asked if she is fine, another day I had an Internet problem and the IT specialist Kevin in the hotel assisted immediately. Disturbing was the music band, for my taste too boring and too loud, but I complained and got a wonderful new room from Susan far away from the music near the reception. Lovely our Christmas gifts from the hotel and Santa Claus on the camel! All in all we had a fantastic holiday and would like to book again this hotel, which we highly can recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms near reception are quieter, at the north side the music band can disturb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Dolphin Road Off Shanzu | Shanzu, Mombasa 20254, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Mombasa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa is a cosy boutique hotel featuring 137 spacious rooms, Olympic capacity free form swimming pool, unique beach cave bar, tennis courts and entertainment facilities.All rooms are fully air-conditioned and are housed in six separate four storey buildings surrounding large lagoon shaped swimming pool and gardens. All rooms have private shower and cubicles, spacious balconies with a table and chairs. There are 85 rooms and 36 superior rooms and six suites. There are 86 standard rooms 36 superior rooms and 16 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emrald Flamingo Beach Club Hotel Mombasa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.