We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for doing nothing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dolphin Road Off Shanzu | Shanzu, Mombasa 20254, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 45 hotels in Mombasa
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for doing nothing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We spent a week there and we had planned a lot of things to do but instead we ended up doing a lot of nothing. We spend an awful lot of time around the pool and it was great. The hotel is really good, for a resort, there wasn't too much crowd, everything was working from the room to the bar and the staff. Honestly I have no complains, i had a great relaxing time with a few excursions and outings and this hotel stood up to my needs.
It may not be the cheapest or the most beautiful of resort along the coast but for me it did it.
I don't ask for anything else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
14
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka, Zambia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A wonderful place with wonderful staff, after some days we had the feeling to be at home...travelling with my 9 years old daughter I appreciated apart from the kids program how nice the staff is treating children, playing, joking and talking nicely to them. My daughter appreciated the atmosphere and really felt free in the hotel. The rooms with Veranda are very clean, we liked to have the chance to watch ZDF on TV, the pool was amazing, laying under the palmtrees with a cool breeze with view on the ocean fantastic! The buffet had a big variety also for vegetariens, wonderful salat, fruits and cakes. Requests or complains were treated well, my daughter ws sick and the hotel nurse came immediately to assist and many staff members asked if she is fine, another day I had an Internet problem and the IT specialist Kevin in the hotel assisted immediately. Disturbing was the music band, for my taste too boring and too loud, but I complained and got a wonderful new room from Susan far away from the music near the reception. Lovely our Christmas gifts from the hotel and Santa Claus on the camel! All in all we had a fantastic holiday and would like to book again this hotel, which we highly can recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms near reception are quieter, at the north side the music band can disturb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

From the ambience, staff, cleanliness, peacefulness this is the place to be. The hotel is new so everything is brand new. I enjoyed their fine cuisine and continental breakfast.

The lagon shaped swimming pool was a show stopper. Definately going bk to this hotel on my next visit to Kenya.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Wonderful and very friendly staff. Effortless service and constant interest on your well beeing. Great job done here! For us the spacious, clean and peaceful premices was a big plus. Fine pool, cooling breeze under the palm trees, beautiful beach - 3xS holiday at its' best.

We also enjoyed the food and the careful room maintance. The only thing we missed was the gym, but they were finishing it in the very end of December.

Would we recommend the resort - definitely yes!

Mrs&Mr Virta, Finland

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The staff- Very great people! Talk of their wonderful smiles, friendliness, availability in time of assistance, then service - you can never get this anywhere else apart from Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa.

Food - Mouth watering to your expectation.

Space - The premises is specious to the extent that the rooms, the dinning hall, meeting halls, swimming pools, the creeks, the cave restaurant, the beach yard, and everything that you can be able to mention is unfathomable! Honey mooners - this is a place to be. Privacy - this is a place to be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed at Emerald Flamingo from 25th to 27th November 2012 while on a working trip. I intend to go back for holiday and I pray that all will be well. I loved the yet to be completed tea place on the creek - it is really picturesque. The lagoon-shaped swimming pool is just lovely and I believe the concept of the bar in the cave will work out well.


The food was very good and of varied choice. The only undoing was the club sandwich I ordered and it turned out to be an egg sandwich! The Executive Chef was very involved in ascertaining that guests were happy with the food. I did not stay long enough to sample their barbeques so I hope to find good surprises.

I loved the LCD TV, the large bed and its linen and the general ambience of the room. The main shortcoming of the hotel is the very salty water - not any different from the actual ocean water. The shower heads are also very low, a tall person wouldn't use them. The pressure of the salty water is also very weak so the shower is not "rainy" enough. This needs improvement.

Most of the staff are friendly and welcoming, except one gloomy waitress in the restaurant whose harsh looks can easily put off a guest. Otherwise the staff attended to guest concerns and complaints promptly, although some of them will still need to undergo professional training in the hospitality industry.

Room Tip: Corner suites and top floor rooms are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed there for 10 days in October 2012 and we really enjoyed it. The staff friendly welcomes you with a refreshment even if you arrive in the middle of the night like we did.
The next day we had the pleasure to discover a wonderful swimming pool. It has an irregular shape and a waterfall. It is really huge. Took me 10 minutes just to swim around it once!

The resort has 2 restaurants (buffet style and à la carte). The food was simply delicious. There were not so many guest when we were there, because the re-opening was just 15 days ago. It gave us a chance to try the à la carte cuisine. Every meal was a real pleasure. The plates came nicely decorated, with fine ingredients deliciously prepared by a team of amazing cooks. It was far superior to what we were expecting.

The room were very comfy, with a large flat screen TV and cable. Some face the see, we had one facing the swimming pool. I would definitely come back to this resort because they were planning to open a gym and a lounge bar in an outside cave by the beach which looked promising. Also it must be very nice to chill by the pool with more people around.

Our shoutout goes to the staff who is really lovely and helpful. We were always greeted with smiles and good vibes. One of the girls from reception really helped us a lot get bus tickets to leave to Nairobi, she even managed to get us a good price for a hotel in Nairobi the day we were leaving. Very professional.

As you will understand, we had a very good time there and we recommend it without a doubt.

Ronny Hermosa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Emrald Flamingo Beach Club Hotel
Emrald Flamingo Beach Club Hotel Mombasa
Address: Dolphin Road Off Shanzu | Shanzu, Mombasa 20254, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
#8 Family Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa is a cosy boutique hotel featuring 137 spacious rooms, Olympic capacity free form swimming pool, unique beach cave bar, tennis courts and entertainment facilities.All rooms are fully air-conditioned and are housed in six separate four storey buildings surrounding large lagoon shaped swimming pool and gardens. All rooms have private shower and cubicles, spacious balconies with a table and chairs. There are 85 rooms and 36 superior rooms and six suites. There are 86 standard rooms 36 superior rooms and 16 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emrald Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.